We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable with perfect location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Affordable with perfect location.”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed here as we wanted to be on the beach. The hotel is a fair way from the main strip of Kihei but with a car it takes a few minutes to be back into the main area. There is ample parking but I would recommend using the over flow car park as the one near the restaurant is very tight to get in and out of! It gets busy around sunset. The accommodation is basic and small, and we found the air con unit was a bit noisy. But to be fair for what we paid, this was adequate. Service was great and we used wifi in the reception. It you want something simple and to be 1 minute from the beach this is perfect. There's no bath just a shower and not much room inside. The corridors are a tad dark and you can forget which block you are in as they look the same but we found they kept the room clean and gardens pretty. In Maui you are hardly ever in the room so this is ideal.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reddevils73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    491
    307
    141
    103
See reviews for
174
757
171
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

This location is not for couples or families that are looking to spend a lot of time in their room but works for those that are just looking for a place to shower and sleep.

PROS:
Great Beach & Sunset Access
Cable & Vanity
Ceiling Fan
Free Parking

This spot neighbors the Mana Kai which has a great little restaurant called the Five Palms (good service & food) an AMAZINGLY honest and friendly activities coordinator and a general store.

It's also within walking distance of many nice little restaurants and the launch dock for many of the water adventure tours.

CONS:
Very small showers that don't appear to have been maintained
WIFI is only available in the lobby NOT in the rooms!
Low count bedding
Parking is scarce and once the oceanfront restaurant on the property opens, well you might have to defend your parking space!
Ceiling fans are little wobbly and make noise

Overall, if we were planning another trip to Maui and planned to spend all of our money on food and snorkeling again, we would stay at this location once more!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branscomb, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

My wife & I have stayed here for 5 years straight for our annual Hawaii vacation. This visit will be our last. The place is still clean & the staff is friendly and nice, but it is going downhill fast. The owners of the hotel declared bankruptcy last August of 2011. Proper upkeep & maintenance is not being completed. Our air conditioner was noisy & barely functioned. The ceiling fan speed switch was broken & stuck on low. The microwave was dead.The in-room wifi internet is no longer available. Wifi internet is in the front desk lobby only! Other guests we knew were experiencing similar issues with their rooms. Sad considering you can't beat the beach & the location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bombero-redbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kihei hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Maui is not cheap. If you need a value vacation, choose either another island or another state completely. We stayed here for one night to save money, and I was disappointed - would have preferred to take a shorter vacation to save $$. Even at $140/night, this Days Inn is cheap compared to its neighbors...but it offers little value. The rooms are so small, it's literally challenging setting 2 rolling bags down AND being able to walk around the bed to the bathroom. It is not as nice as your typical Motel 6, but the A/C worked (if not, there is zero circulation), so it served it's purpose for us to sleep one night.

Soranto's, the high-end Italian restaurant next door that gets rave reviews, is ok but WAY OVERPRICED for the food quality/portions.

Room Tip: Do not take the ground floor room at the oceanfront. It is shared by the restaurant diners nextdoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank italygoodness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poipu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Spent a week here in Jan. 2012. Our expectations were not high given the relatively modest prices here. However, things were worse than anticipated. Extremely small rooms, in very poor repair. Water dripping from air conditioner, broken window slats, hole burned through lamp shade, loose ceiling fan, etc. The place was clean, just falling apart. We were moved to a new room while the air conditioner was repaired, and the new room was even worse. We later moved back to the original room. During the moving process I was acosted by a cockroach as big as my foot. Given all this, the staff was friendly and helpful. They tried hard to make things right, they just didn't have much to work with. The problems appear to stem from management. All that aside, the location of the hotel is quite good - on the quiet south side of Kihei, very near upscale Wailea. Best of all, is the absolutely wonderful beach at the hotels' doorstep. Despite this, we would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Try for an upstairs room as close to the beach as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Davarua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoiseID
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Great location, right on one of the best beaches in Maui. But that's were the charm ends. The rooms are extremely small and noisy, but clean. OK if you are not spending any time in your room. After a 2 week stay in Lahaina, we had a late flight out. We checked out of our condo, and spent the rest of the day here before leaving Maui. It served it's purpose for a nice day on the beach, and to shower and change before our flight, but we wouldn't stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerBoiseID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We found the hotel to be very clean, and quite basic, and probably fine for a day or two, but I certainly wouldn't have wanted to stay for a week or more. The value was good for the price, and there were a few unexpected amenities (like a microwave and safe). The problems we had were with the noise - the AC was really noisy so we couldn't use it, the bathroom fan was almost unbearably noisy, when we opened the window there was quite a bit of noise from the restaurant next door. I've stayed at noisier places in big cities in Europe, etc., but I found it a bit irritating in Hawaii when I was looking for a nice peaceful beach experience. The beach behind the hotel was lovely. There was free parking but the spots were really tiny, and there was free wifi at the front desk. There were also beach towels at the front desk but they admitted that they often run out so that you need to get your towel for the day by 9 am.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ugogurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,126 reviews
22.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,031 reviews
24.6 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
229 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
13.0 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Maui Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Property: Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Address: 2980 S. Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Maui Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a splendid stretch of sand 2 miles from Kihei, this low-rise hotel is 3 miles from the championship golf courses of Wailea Resort; Maui Ocean Center is 8 miles away.With louvered shutters, tiled floors, ceiling fans, and island accents, all 87 guestrooms offer compact refrigerators, complimentary local calls, premium channels, coffeemakers, and in-room safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Days Inn Maui Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront Hotel Kihei
Best Western Kihei
Kihei Best Western
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing