We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay In Kihei”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea
Ranked #47 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were there for 16 days, and are so glad we found Court's Condo to stay in. Way more bang for your buck than a hotel room. Like described there is everything you need in there. Decorated so nice, loved all the beautiful mirrors, Comfy bed, loved the shower, great kitchen, great view, BBQ area was always spotless, which my husband really enjoyed.
Loved Cafe O'lei in Kihei which he recommended, best french onion soup!! Coconut's Fish Cafe had the best fish and chips. Lots of great little bars to go to for happy hour just down the road,1/2 price drinks and appy's. Three's Bar and Grill was probably our favorite. We visited The Surfing Goat Dairy Farm and sampled their cheeses they make right there.Kids would love it. Drove the Road To Hana, if not raining take the back way back, saves about 1 1/2 hrs. If you like Markets make sure and go to the Kahlui Swap Meet on Saturdays. They have everything there you could want. Also the Geste's Shrimp Truck is not far from there and was the best shrimp we have ever had. Messy but so good! The Alhoa Open Market is awesome too, Wed. and Sat. are the days for it. Best Macadamia Nut Bread and fresh vegetables. Already had a friend asking me to send her a link of the condo after seeing my pictures. We really enjoyed our stay in Village By The Sea.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank laurie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiCondoMarina, Rental Manager, Maui Condo and Home, LLC. at Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for your review of Kauhale Makai. Though you did not book directly with our company, we do manage many of the condos at Kauhale Makai. You certainly made the most of your trip and I hope many people read your review because you gave a lot of great recommendations!! You named many of my favorite places to eat like Café O’lei and Coconuts and the road to Hana is one of my all-time favorites!! We hope you visit Maui again and make many more lasting memories!
Mahalo,
Marina Sands
Maui Condo and Home, LLC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 261 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

The view wasn't that good. Out our unit the view of the ocean is obstructed by an ugly hill of hideous "grass". The rules for the pool are ridiculous. No toys no fins no splashing. The "putting green" is a small and a waste of space. The grassy areas have a lot of "potholes" I have personally have sprained my ankle. Management is very rude. Management yelled at members of our group for skateboarding in the parking lot. There are no rules saying that such activities were against the rules. They were just going around the building. Not doing tricks and always stopped when they saw a car. They also seemed to be under construction. The sound of construction was very annoying. Mostly this place is more so for the retired. Not much to do and a little too strict for people who want to enjoy their stay. It seems most of the other occupants are rude/unfriendly during the day and raging alcoholics at night. Not much to do within walking distance. We spent more time away from this condo and yet still had a lousy time.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traveling_Drag0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiCondoMarina, Rental Management, Maui Condo and Home, LLC. at Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for your review of Kauhale Makai.
It is unfortunate to hear that your stay was unsatisfactory. You did not specify your unit number and therefore it can’t be determined who you booked through. We manage condos at 18 different properties on Maui and all of the properties have similar rules and regulations. Though the rules and regulations may seem ridiculous, they are most likely to prevent injury or liability. This is the same for most properties. We hope you return to Maui and are able to find a condo complex that better fits your needs. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact our office.
Mahalo,
Marina Sands, Maui Condo and Home, LLC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was our first time to Maui and did enjoy our time there. I'm sorry to say our condo did not meet my expectations. Please understand that I'm very fussy about a clean room. This condo was not clean.

The plastic plants should be thrown out, there's coating of dust on them. There was a smell that came from the kitchen on arrival. We purchased room fresheners to bring back to the condo.

The bathroom was tiny with mis-matched hardware. The shelving was dusty. The nozzles in the spa tub had black in them. The whole bathroom needed a good scrub brush. Oh, and the washcloth I used to shower was stained. The two beautiful sliding glass doors were dirty- I mean this is a condo with ocean views- the windows should be clean!

The owners need to look into a different cleaning company before I'd ever stay there again.

Also, the wi-fi was not reliable. It constantly kicked us off. My husband said (normally a very patient man) "It's enough to drive you nuts."

The room has potnetial, but I can't give it a favorable rating as it was. I've seen better, way better.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank SmilesCanDo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This condo was comfortable and was a good price. It is a older building but was very clean. I had no issues with the condo and the property was great. The pool was cold so I never used it much besides to cool off a bit and the hot tub was good for the evenings. It was a quiet relaxing vacation and I was satified with the building

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiCondoMarina, Property Management Company, Maui Condo and Home, LLC. at Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Aloha and thank you for your review.
Having a comfortable and clean place to rest and relax is on the top of the priority list when it comes to choosing vacation accommodations. It is great to hear that you had a relaxing vacation at the Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea and condo 331 was clean and inviting. When planning your next trip to Maui, book on our website and you can choose a specific condo whether it is 331 again or you can try another condo. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact our office.
Mahalo,
Marina Sands, Maui Condo and Home, LLC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Our condo was great with amazing views but if your children love swimming this is NOT the place for you. Residents patrol the pool for violations of their extreme rules. No fins, snorkels, balls, inflatables and no jumping into the pool. The pool is not heated which makes it very cold. Our children we're being respectful and not splashing anyone but it didn't matter - those were the rules! The hot tub does not get turned on until 4 pm. You need a key to get into the pool and are actually unable to exit the pool area without the key - this didn't seems safe to us. We didn't feel welcome and went to our friends condo to swim where the kids could play and have fun. Beware because sometimes the ocean is too rough and you want options - you will be disappointed here!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Allison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiCondoMarina, Maui Condo, Vacation Rental Management company at Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Aloha and thank you for your review.
Although you did not state which rental company you booked with, on behalf of Maui Condo we would like to apologize for your family not feeling welcome at this property. Many families stay at this property and I do not want any of them to feel unwelcome and that the kids can’t have fun at the pool. It is great to hear that your condo was great and the view was amazing! We will address the issues you have mentioned with the property manager. When planning your next Maui vacation take a look at our website because we manage units at 20 different properties on Maui. You can book a specific unit on our website or our reservations agents can assist you.
Mahalo,
Marina
Maui Condo and Home, LLC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Please note that every unit in this building may be different so this review is for #307 in the north building.

This is one of the best deals in Maui. The unit was renovated, had a great balcony with a wonderful view of the ocean and great sunsets. The building is centrally located to the island so it's an easy trip to Lahaina or Paia etc. The building amenities are awesome, great pool, hot tub, bbq area. We LOVED staying here! It's great for people who plan on exploring a lot of areas and need a central base.

Please note that these are not condos for vacationers who like to get somewhere and stay there. You will not find a great beach or great restaurants within walking distance but everything is a short drive away. It's so much better than paying the astronomical rates at the resorts.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KCPlaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have been timeshare owners for about 15 years and have spent 6 different great 2 week vacations here, mostly in February. We have stayed in 3 different rooms and have found them all clean and quiet. This isn't the Marriott, the Four Seasons, or the Grand Wailea, but you can visit these wonderful locations and do just about everything there except sleep and swim in their pools. The wifi is almost non existent, but Starbucks at the Marriott has great coffee and easy access wifi. The BBQ grills are always clean and a perfect place to cook in a great atmosphere. We will be staying 2 weeks this coming February and will give an update. My only hope for an upgrade is to new TV's. In 2012 they were very outdated. A car is an absolute necessity. There are too many wonderful places to visit to even begin to mention. Ask questions at the pool and taylor your vacation to your wants and desires.

Room Tip: The location is average by Maui's standards. Almost anywhere else it would be a 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.2 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#10 of 60 in Kihei
430 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kihei Akahi
Kihei Akahi
#27 of 60 in Kihei
323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kihei Bay Vista
Kihei Bay Vista
#33 of 60 in Kihei
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#4 of 60 in Kihei
654 reviews
3.2 mi away
Maui Banyan Vacation Club
0.2 mi away
Koa Lagoon
Koa Lagoon
#14 of 60 in Kihei
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea

Address: 938 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-6102
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: $172 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauhale Makai (Village By The Sea) Hotel Kihei
Maui Village By The Sea
Kauhale Makai Condo
Maui Kauhale Makai
Kauhale Makai, Village By The Sea Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing