We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ocean front dump” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“ocean front dump”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2006

I was sooo disappointed, the unit was sooo old, the kitchen was disgusting, it stank, could not open the drawers with out covering my nose. The bedroom was almost like a closet. The sofa bed was smelly old, I did not let our kids sleep on it, they had to share our bed. No one uses the beach because it's rocky and un safe. We had to pack up and drive to a different beach every day! We spent $6000 canadian for hotel and flight and I would not go back if it were offered to me for free!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank maryamToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    225
    46
    31
    32
See reviews for
132
283
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Wa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2006

We just came back from 8 days at the Sugar Beach Resort and had a wonderful visit. We rented unit #418 through Ali'i which I'd totally recommend. This was our third trip to Kihei, Maui and our first staying at Sugar Beach. When we got to our unit, a representative from Ali'i was there to greet us, show us around and answer any questions about our stay in Maui. They were also available to call when we had questions (where is the nearest doctors clinic, where is a good luau, etc). Great service and so plesant to talk to!!!! Our unit was so tastefully decorated, comfortable, and equipped with every kitchen utensil possible. This unit is oceanfront, so we were able to watch the whales, dolphins, and sea turtles throughout the day. Such a treat!!!! The building was so quiet, we never heard our neighbors. You can tell there are many people who live there during the winter and so it gives the place a very welcoming feeling since it's their home. The pool was warm and not very crowded, and our kids loved the kiddie pool. The beach is a bit narrow but the sand is super soft and the waves are quiet. Some beaches in Kihei full of seaweed, so this was a beautiful one. A great beach for small kids to play, especially in the morning. Sugar Beach Resort is on the very northern side of Kihei, and near the highways that take you all over the island. If you stay further down in Kihei it takes you awhile to drive through the city before you can get to the highways. This resort is in a great location if you want to get around the island. We plan to come back to Sugar Beach Resort unit 418 again!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank F88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, Kentucky
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2006

We just returned to the mainland from a 10 night stay on the Hawaiian islands. The second part of our trip we stayed on a one bedroom condo at Sugar Beach Resort. The resort is not in the most populated area (which we liked). It was very relaxing. THe condo was rented through Maui Condominium. No problems there. The beach was never crowded and this beach has the softest sand I have ever felt. We could sit on the beach all afternoon and watch the whales play and breach out of the water. It was beautiful! The snorkeling is not good at this beach but there are tons of other places on the isalnd that you can snorkel. The pool is warm so jump right in! The hot tub was too hot, you couldn't even sit in it. There are a few residents there and it seems that they try hard to keep the place nice and quiet. If you are looking for relaxation, this is the place. You are centrally located to all other major areas. Highly recommend Sugar Beach Resort and I will definately stay there again.

Helpful?
10 Thank kvonhoene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2006

We arrived at the sugar beach resort at around 11:30 at night. We found the phone and lock box with our key after several minutes of searching the grounds in the dark. We had requested a beach front ground floor room. We did receive the type of room we had requested. My husband opened the door to the condo and the smell of mold hit us both immediatley. The air conditioning unit was full of mold. We proceeded back to the complimentary phone to have someone switch rooms for us. This was a huge ordeal that they were not set up properly to do this late at night. The room was so bad we would rather have slept in the parking lot in our jeep. Besides the mold the couch was dingy and old, the carpets were stained and looked like they had never been steam cleaned and there were smudges and dirt on the mirrors and kitchen table. And to top it off there were dead spiders along the windowsill. Needless to say we were very upset. The property manager showed up at around 1:30am and brought 2 other room keyes with her. by the time we looked at the other rooms it was now 2:00 in the morning. The other rooms were slightly better. At arond 5:oo the next morning the traffic from the highway woke both of us up. We switched condos the next day to Maui Kamaole which was a huge improvement. The real problem was that the rental agency CRH was not customer service oriented. They took the position that their mold filled rooms were adeqaute and as advertised. Even though they did move us to another complex, they still refused to credit us for the inital night of horrors. Whatever you do you should never stay in a condo unit that hasn'tr been referred to tyou by someone you know very well. Moreover, never use CRH to book your hawaiian stay. Their standards for cleanliness and custoimer service wre horrendous.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
41 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2006
As a manager/company Director of Condominium Rentals Hawaii I would like to respond to the complaints made from the unhappy guest who stayed in one of the units we manage at the Sugar Beach Resort.
Our company has been managing the rentals at that property since 1982 and we take pride in our standards of customer service and cleanliness. Our customer service liason personally investigated the alleged compaints in the unit and found none of the problems that the guest refered to. However, as we always try to satisfiy our guests, we did move them to a higher end property and did not charge for the upgrade ($45/night more).
We are sorry this remedy did not satisfy the guest, although the move was considered a "huge improvement" by them so I am not sure what further customer service could have been provided.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2006

tip - look on the internet and try to rent from an individual that has pictures of their unit. Ocean front units are defin. worth it and are more likely to have been updated. We have stayed several times and never had a bad experience. The best part of vacationing here is the weather. Anywhere else on Maui has a higher chance of rain, but sugar beach for some reason is always sunny, even if it's raining on the rest of the island. It is windy in the afternoons on the beach, so plan on doing the beach thing in the morning. We have stayed at the Sheraton and a few other places on the island but to be honest sugar beach is the best. It is quiet and relatively private. The balconys are very private and are ocean front. I would not recommend ground floor as the view is much better for whale watching and privacy higher up. Others can also walk in front of your unit on the ground floor but if you have small kids that need to run around, ground floor is a better option. The BBQ's are awsome and kept very clean. The hot tub is also so relaxing at night. Our kids are teens now and so they prefer larger resorts. This place is great for little kids who are entertained by the beach and pool or for couples not traveling with kids. The surf is gentle but perfact for snorkeling with the turtles, who by the way come right up to you and are very curious. The beach is also one of the longest which is perfact for walking in the early morning and night. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing, warm spot to get away to, these condos are actually a better choice than any other property on the island. We stop by Costco by the airport if we arrive during daylight. It's a good bargain and easy if you are staying a while. I would recommend safeway in kehei if your plane arrives after Costco is closed as it's too congested to try to drive back the following day and Safeway is really not much more expensive. We try to do one shopping trip and then no worries the rest of the vacation. The units usually have the basics such as olive oil, salt, pepper.. and coffee filters. BBQ is the way to go to avoid the hassel of kitchen clean up. It's also a great way to socialize with others. Rowdy behavior is not tolerated by the unit owners. I would also strongly recommend staying at least 10 days if at all possible as it's so hard to leave after only 5 to seven. As far as activities go we like the snorkel trip on Maui Magic. It's a little higher priced however the staff are great and when we went there was probably twenty people and about 6 staff who waited on us hand and foot. The music and food was great and we went to molikini after the masses had left. They took us to a remote spot on the back side of the island to start the trip. I also recommend booking a snorkel trip prior to the end of your stay as it is not much fun if the sea is rough and you'll have no choice to reschedule if it's at the end of your vacation. The only other must do is the road to Hana. It's breath taking. The town of Hana is really not much and even if you don't make it all the way to Hana you'll still have fun driving through the rainforest and stopping along the way. Make sure you bring along a cd or tape telling you where to stop and what to see. Most of the units have a copy so check prior to purchasing one. We went to black beach just before Hana and there are some amazing fresh water caves to swim in. Just follow the path past the wooden sign that tells a story about a hawaiian princess. It's a must swim. The seven pools are pretty but crowded and quite a drive. You are also charged admission which is also good for the other state parks. If you do decide to drive to the seven pools I would recommend continuing on around the Island back to sugar beach vs. turning around and driving back down. It becomes quite dry and arid but is still beautiful and remote. The roads are really not that bad. Past Hana they can be a little rough in spots but we drove a sedan and were just fine. The thing about Sugar beach is that it's so relaxing that it's hard to leave, even to do activities. If you don't feel up to activities then staying at the unit the entire vacation is just as satisifing. I think some people make the mistake of trying to do too much and not relaxing enough. The view right from your deck is world class. We prefer to eat outside on our deck any day over a crowded resturant without the view.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
33 Thank kimspokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Co.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2006

A description of the shoddy treatment we received from the management of the Sugar Beach Resort follows:

1. We arrived about 11:00 AM and were told the room would not be available until 3:00PM. We stated this would be no problem as we would be dining out and wouldn’t be back until 9:00PM. The gentleman at the desk said this would be no problem and to pick up the key from the operator of the general store next door.

2. Upon our return after dinner we picked up our key and went to our unit. We were in for a surprise as upon our entering we noticed the room was already occupied. We went back to the store and noted that after hours there was a list of four phone numbers to call for assistance. We proceeded to call all four numbers and received no answer from any of them.

We went back into the general store and explained our problem to the clerk who very kindly called various people before getting the number of the resident manager. We reached the resident manager who came down and secured us a unit.

3. Upon entering the room we wanted to put some items into the lock box and were having some problems. We were told there was no one available to help and to call the Management Co. in the morning. We called the Management Co. in the morning and were told there was no one available to help us out and we would have to call back. Finally we reached a person and they indicated it would be 2-3 hours before they could get anyone out. We resolved the problem on our own.

4. Two days before we were scheduled to leave we wanted to have a late checkout, and were told we had to contact the off-site Management Co.. We contacted Condominium Rentals Hawaii and were told it would be OK. The morning of checkout the maid showed up to clean the room and we told her that we had a late checkout. Shortly after the maid left we received a call from the Management company stating there was no authorization for the late checkout and we had to leave. They were told in no uncertain terms that this was their problem and that we had followed the procedure for late checkout and we were not leaving early. After our discussion with the Management Co. we talked to the on-site office explaining to them what took place and they agreed that our late checkout was O.K..

5. Upon departing, the elevator stopped midway and several minutes passed; luckily it started again and reached the bottom safely. However, when we came back to get the remainder of our luggage both elevators were inoperable and we had to walk the six stories up.

We have stayed in many resorts on the island and on the mainland and we have never experienced such treatment. It appears that Condominium Rentals Hawaii has no regard for the customer and has not made any arrangements to service the customer. We question what your function is in supplying service to the customer. Why is it necessary to have four people on call and no one answers? What is the function of your resident manager? At no point were we able to get assistance of any type from the Sugar Beach office – no matter what the question was, we were always directed to call the management company - Condominium Rentals Hawaii. I would assume the on-site manager was on staff to take care of problems such as ours.

Rest assured we will never stay at Sugar Beach Resort again and further we would never recommend it to any of our family or friends.

As a closing note, we reported these problems to Condominium Rentals Hawaii and received a response containing an offer of a 10% discount on a future stay and a $50 check for our inconvenience. Considering the money spent to stay there, the $50 is more of an insult than compensation. Such a response makes it obvious that they have little regard for the customer.

Helpful?
36 Thank trelabz57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2006
As a manager/company director of Condominium Rentals Hawaii, I would like to respond to the complaints made by a guest staying in a unit we manage at the Sugar Beach Resort.
Our compancy has been in business for over 23 years and pride ourselves in running an efficient, customer oriented operation. This guest seems to believe that the on-site resident manager and our rental agency are the same thing - they are not. Any problems with elevators, resident managers, etc are the responsibility of the Apartment Owner's Association which is completely independent of our business.
The guest was also upset with the late check out procedure. Our policy is (and always has been) for a guest to check 24 hours prior (no earlier) to departure to see if a courtesy late check out is possible. If there is another guest arriving the same day of the departure a guest must check out at regular check out time.
We strive to keep our guests satisfied and even though many of this guest's complaints were not the fault of our company, we still offered them a modest refund and future discount to recognize the inconveniences they encountered. We are sorry if this was not acceptable but under the circumstances we felt it was appropriate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2006

We just returned from a 4 day vacation in Maui.

Stayed at Sugar Beach Resort (Unit 417). This unit had an excellent view. The Kitchen was very well stocked with utensils and spices.

We had wonderful road trips to Hana and Haleakala crater. Check out some of the beautiful waterfalls and clouds in the photos.

Make sure you read "Maui Revealed"

Helpful?
9 Thank dmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
4.5 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
17.8 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
17.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#8 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort

Property: Sugar Beach Resort
Address: 145 N Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8827
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach Resort is an all inclusive, quiet and well located ocean front condo hotel. Each unit is individually owned. The resort is managed by the homeowner's association/Hawiiana Management.The 214 units are ocean front, ocean view, garden view on 5 acres of lush tropical beach front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Resort Condos Hotel Kihei
Sugar Beach Resort Maui/Kihei
Sugar Beach Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing