We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An honest review of Sugar Beach Resort, Maui”
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sugar Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2005

My husband and I just returned from our long awaited vacation to Maui. We stayed at Sugar Beach Resort, unit #330 and booked it with Ali'i Resorts. They both were outstanding. Someone was there to meet us when we walked in, explained everything to us and left a gift basket (which contained coffee that made us REALLY happy). The unit was exactly as it was shown online, pictures and all. We were right on the ocean and everything was clean and up to date. We couldn't have been happier. It was sort of in the middle of everything which made it nice. You have to drive no matter where you go anyways. The pool and jacuzzi were cleaned every night (we watched them). They had all the appliances we needed, beach towels and great linens. We are planning on going back again and we will definitely stay here. They have a person in the morning explaining where everything is and gives a great presentation, along with your morning coffee, fruit and donuts. The beachfront is the best. There is a somewhat rocky section, but a few feet down is a nice sandy beach. You can walk the beach for about 3 miles. It really is more than worth the money. Also, we had a late flight out and they let us stay there until we left for our flight at no additional cost. While we were waiting to leave, a man came to shampoo the carpets which really impressed us. Knowing that they clean that thoroughly was an important factor. You don't have to do anything when you leave, just put your dishes in the dishwasher and leave. They even get rid of the leftover food (other than half-eaten food, of course). If you would like more info, we would be happy to accomodate you. We really have nothing but good things to say. Thank you Brian for making us feel so welcomed.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
31  Thank Grammia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 635 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2005

I am a Travel Consultant and have been booking the Sugar Beach for over 15 years. We stayed in an ocean Front 22 Mar - 29 March. I viewed almost every condo / hotel in Maui and the Sugar beach has the best location/proximity to the beach. The staff at the resort were very helpful and friendly. Our two children ages 4 and 7 loved it! The units have everything from toasters / microwaves/dishwasher however each unit is different and will vary. Our unit had white carpeting which was very stained and did not feel very clean. I still loved the resort and did not let the carpet ruin our vacation. Any carpet close to the sandy beach is bound to get stained. I loved it so much that we are planning on returning at Christmas. Dollar for dollar you will find a better resort.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank rennat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bromley, Kent, UK
236
Reviewed March 26, 2005

I arrived back in the UK a couple of weeks ago from a trip to Maui with my two teenage nieces. We stayed at the Sugar Beach Resort, which surprised me was only 2.5 stars. The apartment we stayed in (308) was clean, extremely well equipped looked out over the pool (which again was very clean) and also gave views over the Maalea Bay and therefore we could sit on our balcony watching the whales breaching. From the bedroom window (admittedly this is a long high window) you could see the mountains inland and the summit could be seen above the clouds. The accommodation is ideally located for getting around the Island (not sure what the public transport facilities are as we had a hire car). On site there is a small grocery store, bar serving food, agents available to help you book trips (I however had organised most of these before leaving the UK). Buzz's Wharf restaurant is also worth a visit at Maalea and those wanting a quick game of crazy golf this is also available here (this is approx 5-10 mins driving time from the apartments. I had booked trips with the Pacific Whale Foundation (based in Maalea), however the weather wasn't on our side for the Molokini snorkel trip - this is my excuse for having to return and I will certainly book into the Sugar Beach resort again! One last thing do not miss the road to Hana (Hookipa Beach is awesome [not a word I use easily] and it was so refreshing to swim in the waterfall pools!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2005

We stayed at the Sugar Beach Resort from March 4- 14 2005 and we LOVED it! The room amenities were amazing and the ocean view room satisfied our needs - also our budget! Our condo was equipped with everything we need - a blender and smoothie maker were pluses! The barbecue area was a nightly visit for the boys to get the scoop on what activites were good and we found costco and foodland to be good shopping markets. The pool was cleaned EVERYDAY and the lounge chairs were organized everyday as well. On site was Dina's SandWitch (recieved a deserved ONO in Maui revealed - a VERY handy guide book!) and a convenience store if you forgot anything. The expedia store and activity centre were great for renting snorkeling and boogie board equipment. Overall we were very impressed with sugar beach and would stay here again next time!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank FlatlineHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2005

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at Sugar Beach #120 January 8-12,2005. We prefer to stay in condos when we travel, because we like the stay-at-home-and-cook option when we vacation. We have traveled quite a bit, so we can be picky. I have to say that our stay at Sugar Beach was wonderful! The owners were very helpful with information before we even arrived, and the condo was spotless. The kitchen has recently been refurbished, and the condo is stocked with everything you need for a great vacation! The neighbors are friendly, and the grounds are well kept and the information center has great staff who do not try to "high pressure" you into tourist excursions. The condo was right on the beach, just walk out off of the lanai and you are there. Beautiful sunsets. Can't say enough. If you want pampering, go to the Grand Wailea, if you want privacy and a "do your own thing" vacation, check out Sugar Beach. We are already discussing when we can plan another trip.

21  Thank Arizona_RVers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Gardner, Illinois
116
Reviewed January 8, 2005

16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
British Columbia, Canada
119
Reviewed January 5, 2005

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
4.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 60 in Kihei
540 reviews
2.1 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#5 of 60 in Kihei
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
5.2 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#14 of 60 in Kihei
967 reviews
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort

Address: 145 N Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8827
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: $219 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach Resort is an all inclusive, quiet and well located ocean front condo hotel. Each unit is individually owned. The resort is managed by the homeowner's association/Hawiiana Management.The 214 units are ocean front, ocean view, garden view on 5 acres of lush tropical beach front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Resort Condos Hotel Kihei
Sugar Beach Resort Maui/Kihei
Sugar Beach Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing