We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unit 523 Mill Bldg Has Everything For A Great Holiday”
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sugar Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unit 523 Mill Bldg Has Everything For A Great Holiday”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We are on day 6 of a 3 week holiday at Sugar Beach Resort and loving it. The lanai overlooks the ocean and we enjoy whale watching in the morning and fantastic sunsets. We can hear the music of the waves even with the doors closed. The condo is very clean with new carpets, tiles in kitchen, bath etc so easy to keep clean. Very comfortable king size bed. Could do with new linens. Shower head needs replacing.

Resort is older but well maintained and super clean. Nice pool and BBQ area. Very friendly and helpful staff from front desk to groundskeepers. Only downside was lady smoking from early morning to night on lanai directly below ours making it unpleasant for us as we enjoy eating on our lanais.

Room Tip: Higher floors best for whale watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Sugar Beach Resort and condo 523, which our vacation rental company manages. We are glad you enjoy the sounds of the ocean, whale watching from your lanai, and comfortable bed.
I am sorry the guest below you is smoking on their lanai, which is not allowed at the condos we manage at the Sugar Beach Resort. We have called the guest below you to advise them of our smoking policy and remind them of the designated smoking area on the property.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    232
    49
    31
    36
See reviews for
147
297
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is a great location if you're planning on driving anyway and want to explore Maui, plus it is directly on a nice quiet beach. We went to a variety of restaurants in all directions so the central location was perfect for getting around, but the beach was so nice we were able to relax at home most days with all the comforts of our condo two minutes away and without the inconvenience of driving.

The unit itself , one of only a few two bedrooms available, is spacious, comfortable and has spectacular views. It has been fairly recently remodelled and was clean and well maintained throughout. Well they may have gone just a touch too far with the dolphin decor, but it is Hawaii so we made allowances.

Highly recommend as a relatively inexpensive beach front option for those who will be driving to dinner most nights anyway.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AssetBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agecny at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Sugar Beach Resort and condo 514, which our condo management company manages. I am glad you found the beachfront location perfect for laying out on the beach and also exploring other areas of the island. Many guests like to walk along the five-mile beach at morning or sunset, so we hope you got to experience that as well. We hope to see you again at the Sugar Beach Resort in the future!

Mahalo,
Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Resort location great - central to island & easy to get anywhere. Nicely landscaped, heated salt water pool & hot tub, lots of BBQ's, right on Sugar Beach - a great walking beach. Lots of free parking, wifi & long distance calls included. All individually owned units & managed by owners or different management companies.
Unit 209 extremely dated AND in desperate need of very thorough cleaning. Drapes & rugs really bad. Handles on fridge & stove need deep cleaning, top of fridge & microwave very dirty, vent on a/c unit very dirty, lots of fluff etc on floor behind TV. Really needs painting - door frames, walls etc banged up. Dirty blanket in closet, sheets & towels a motley collection of sheets that had small holes or rips in them, hard to find pillowcases that fit king sized pillows that matched, towels very old & face cloths mostly stained. The basic cleaning in between renters was adequate ie floor, bathroom, kitchen etc. We were incredibly disappointed & feel the unit reflects poorly on owner, condo association in charge of renting unit & Sugar Beach Resort. It certainly tainted our impression of Maui. We know a lot of units were CLEAN & updated.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank maggiemayCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy unit 209 at the Sugar Beach Resort. Our vacation rental company manages a majority of the condos at the Sugar Beach Resort, but we do not manage condo 209. On future trips to Hawaii, if you stay with a condo managed by a management company, I encourage you to let that management company know about any concerns you have with the condo when you arrive and they will work with you to address your concerns or even move you into another condo that you find more comfortable. We hope you give the Sugar Beach Resort another try as it really is a special property on an ideal location.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Surgar Beach Resort is a perfect place for a vacation! This ocean front condo, 25 steps from the beach was perfect with a fantastic view. The beach was a wonderful place for long walks. The condo itself had an extremely well equipped kitchen for any kind of cooking. We loved the many beach and bath towels plus ocean beach toys and chairs. Above all, the other guests were friendly and we felt very welcomed! Sugar Beach Resort is close to a variety of restaurants and shopping, both grocery and pleasure. It's a must return for us!

Room Tip: We absolutely loved the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We were very happy with our decision to stay at the Sugar Beach complex!
North Kihei is a great location, central to almost everything we wanted to do on this Island. It was always sunny and warm, and we really loved it.
The condo was gorgeous, and a quiet, affordable place to stay. It was very cozy and well equipped with everything you need, and it came with friendly neighbours too!
The beach is great for morning and evening walks with gentle waves and wonderful, warm water!
BBQs are located right on the beach and we enjoyed eating at the ocean’s edge. The pool and hot tub were both very near to the beach.
We stayed in unit 532 on the 5th floor. The condo itself looked like it had recently been renovated, nicely decorated and provided all the comforts of home.

From the lanai, we had an amazing view, right on the beach! You can't beat that! The sunsets from our lanai were breathtaking! The combination of the palm trees, with beach sand, gentle waves and sunsets from our 5th floor lanai was amazing. Together these created fantastic views and such feelings of calm and relaxation. We spent many evenings watching the gorgeous, unobstructed sunsets. We would definitely stay here again and I would recommend Sugar Beach!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ArbenDurmishaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Sugar Beach Resort. Our vacation rental company does not manage condo 532, but we appreciate your kind words about the resort and the fabulous beachfront location. Having the opportunity to watch the sunset over the ocean and whale watch from your condo is pretty unforgettable!

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great location central to Maui, excellent beach, pool, hot tub, sunsets, unit was very clean, well equipped. Booking was easy and simple. Unit was as described. Free parking, nice groomed grounds. Putting greens made up of coarse grass, so hard to really practise putting. Very happy with this vacation rental. Best unit we've rented in Maui in past 4 trips. Would stay again. Cons: No big restaurants or bars nearby. A few shops (Sugar Beach General Store, ABC Store) walking distance. We were concerned about the wind having stayed at nearby Maalaea in the past, but wind was never an issue during our stay. Summary: Great place if you are not interested in a busy nightlife. More like a romantic getaway. Suitable for couple only, 1 BR, no sofa-bed. Enjoyed sunsets on the lanai every night.

Room Tip: Look for upgraded units, usually labeled premium or something similar. Usually nice furniture and in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank c b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Sugar Beach Resort and oceanfront condo 433, which our vacation rental company manages. Glad to hear this was the best condo you have stayed in Maui in the past 4 trips. We will be sure to pass this info along to the owner.
Hope to see you back at the Sugar Beach Resort,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Sugar Beach resort is a lovely 6 story concrete condominium located in mid Maui on a long easy walking beach, wonderful for young families. The 2 buildings have recently been updated, new elevators, A/C and salt treated heated swimming pool. Individual units are of varying quality / decor, most are facing the beach or have a view of the beach / pool and gorgeous sunsets. Some 2 bedroom units are available. For guests arriving after 5:00 or who encounter flight delays, the office is located in the middle low rise building near the highway behind Maui Sights and Treasures office. Be sure you have instructions from your owner or rental agent on how to access your condo if you arrive after 5:00, lock boxes etc.. Also, the right hand building has odd number units and the left building has even numbered units. PH is the sixth floor, eg. PH 8 is 608. The elevators in both buildings are close to the swimming pool. Grocery carts are available across the hall from the elevators. This is not a hotel so double check / confirm your arrival / departure dates in writing. There is a shallow reef in front of the odd numbered building where a family of turtles hang out. You can see it on Youtube exposed.during the Japanese Tsunami.

Room Tip: Most units are nicely appointed, some need a touch up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Rochne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
4.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,136 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#5 of 62 in Kihei
528 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#16 of 62 in Kihei
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
5.0 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
2.1 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#8 of 62 in Kihei
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort

Property: Sugar Beach Resort
Address: 145 N Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8827
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach Resort is an all inclusive, quiet and well located ocean front condo hotel. Each unit is individually owned. The resort is managed by the homeowner's association/Hawiiana Management.The 214 units are ocean front, ocean view, garden view on 5 acres of lush tropical beach front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Resort Condos Hotel Kihei
Sugar Beach Resort Maui/Kihei
Sugar Beach Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing