We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place to stay for everyone”
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sugar Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We just returned back from Maui our first time in Hawaii... we stayed in room 119 and its oceanfront.. ocean is barely 5 meters away .. room was clean fully stocked with cutlery,spices , washer, dryers, internet access ... utensils .. pools, common BBQ area - everything you need to cook.. facilty is very clean.

Its so close to everything .. lahina, kanapali, wailuku - 20 to 30 mins in any directions ..
Kat from maui condo rental - who manages these propeties was very helpful.. and all the staff at property is very nice and helpful

Beach is not crowded and you can enjoy long walk or go in the ocean.

**few things- if your flight is reaching late after 9 pm.. and you don't have your own car rental then arrange for food from your airport :) -

I noticed too many timeshare companies in Lahaina. personally I don't like to waste my 3 to 4 with them .. too pushy ...

Sugarbeach wiorth every penny .. will be back again.. :) Aloha ..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyguy-k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 654 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just returned from Sugar Beach Condo and Home in Kihei (Maui), RM #334. Visited July 27-Aug 3, 2013. We survived Flossie! The beach is great for walking, it seems like it goes on forever! The water was a little murky up close to shore due to the storm, so we were not able to snorkel, but the boogie boarding was good.

There is a pool, sauna, and hot tub with plenty of seating for soaking up some sun! (A word of warning though..if you plan to use the "Maui Babe" tanning lotion..."Please" read the directions...or you will burn quickly).

There is Restaurant/Bar on the premise: Dina's Sandwitch, great little place with very friendly staff! There is also a place to book activities (bring your "big" credit card...most of the excursions were pretty pricey), rent movies and purchase some of the things you forgot! There is also a clothing store on premise.

Now for the room! Room #334 has a spectacular ocean view (is "ocean front"), with a patio, chairs, and table for enjoying it. Most of the unit has been updated, with new carpet, tile, and appliances. The shower/bathroom area appear to be the last on the list, as the shower was in sad shape, but perfectly useable. 1 bedroom unit with pull out sofa bed. TV's in the small living room and bedroom, with DVD player in the living room. Coolers, towels, boogie board all provided! The kitchen is fully stocked with everything you need to cook a good meal. And...there is a stackable washer and dryer!

Great location, and we really enjoyed ourselves...even during the storm!

Room Tip: Book an "Ocean Front" Room for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank monkeyjsrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

As Marriott owners, we were hesitant about renting a condo on Maui. We found #327 via Craigslist (which we felt a bit chancy). However, some things just work out. First off, P&P properties and Jo (our contact person) were fantastic in helping us make the arrangements to stay at their place. It was not some digital phone process where you have to press #1, #2, and #3. We dealt directly with the owners via e-mail and phone. It all went very smoothly.

Those who know Marriott know what #327 was up against! We were not sure what to expect so we kept an open mind.

We arrived about 9pm after stopping by a store for a few perishables. The after hours process of getting into our condo unit went very smoothly as our contacts and the resort itself are very organized.

We walked in and the place was clean and neat, nicely appointed with rattan furnishings typical of island homes. But the ocean view stretched out beyond the full wall of glass doors on the lanai was to die for! We were 25 yards from the actual surf with a 180* view of the rolling combers and the distant island of Kahoolawe. We immediately loved this place.

All was ready for us: bed made, towels, beach towels, kitchen fully stocked with dishes, sugar, salt and pepper, flatware, pans etc, cleaning supplies, chairs & table on the lanai, boogie boards, beach chairs and towels, and TV, movies, and games, etc. It was as if we had just borrowed someone’s home!

There is great walking for miles right down on the beach. We walked to the end of Kihei in one direction and to Maalaea Harbor in the other direction. When we weren’t hiking on Haleakala or snorkeling, one of us worked out in a nearby gym and the other ran the streets of Kihei. We also went to Iao Valley and on the recommendation of a local woman, we followed a “secret” trail for about 4 miles in and out (~8 miles) and were virtually alone on the pali. At trail’s end, we had the view of a lifetime! It was like stepping into Jurassic Park without the threat of velociraptors, though the pterodactylic helicopters did hover around from time to time!! We also did the obligatory drive on the road to Hana, hiked the Oheo Stream and ate the best barbequed mahi-mahi on the planet served in styrofoam containers on a picnic table in Brudda Hutt’s front yard on a farm road a bit past Hana.

Just to see what luxuries we may have missed, we drove to the high-end resort area of Wailea/Makena in the south and that of Kaanapali/Lahaina in the north. There we walked along the paved paths where the pools and beaches were packed with literally thousands of people, jostling for space to park their chaise-lounges and umbrellas, lying back to back and belly to belly like the zombie jamboree in the old Kingston Trio ballad. And at Sugar Beach, the most we ever saw was about 30 people but mostly it was 6-10.

We were actually glad to forgo the Marriott luxury for the more private peace and quiet we enjoyed at Sugar Beach #327. The whole complex is a virtually sound-proof construction of thick cement walls floors and ceilings and very well maintained grounds.

Sugar Beach Resort is ideal. And it is beautifully and conveniently situated about 7 miles from the airport, Costco, K-mart, Walmart, Sports Authority and all the other conveniences of Kahalui . And, it is midway between Lahaina/Kaanapali/Kapalua in the north and Wailea and Makena etc in the south. Also, the covered parking is free.

Our only criticism is that, unfortunately, a few previous guests had probably ignored the owner’s request that they not sit on the cushioned chair and couch in their damp swimsuits and sun screened skin so the couch and chair looked a little worn. We covered them with a sheet and were good to go. Fortunately, the property owners are doing a lot of updates to the unit: granite counter-tops, tiled living area, new carpets in the bedroom etc.

Our stay ended just as tropical storm Flossie hit Maui with high winds and surf, lightning and thunder. Though it was an exciting addition to our vacation, it was milder than the "cyclone" the forecasters had warned. But we could have been left high and dry because our return flight to the mainland was cancelled. Jo, the owner, however, came to our rescue, proving herself as not only honest and fair in her pricing, but even charitable as she generously invited us to spend an extra night until we could catch a re-arranged flight out the next day.

In the meantime, here’s the bottom line: this is a clean, comfortable, family friendly and quiet vacation place with million dollar views for a more than fair price, in a convenient location. It is, as advertised, a home away from home. And, the owners were fantastic! We were there 2 weeks and we will definitely be back and would recommend it for any of our friends and relatives.

Room Tip: This is an ocean front room about 25 yards from the surf!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JnK M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed in 323 which was beach front. We stayed for 16 days, & it was wonderful. next time I'm staying for a month!! I brought my 2 granddaughters 16 &12 , they loved it There were 10 of us all together, we had 3 units 518 & ph22 we ll enjoyed every thing about it we have stayed there for several years, & nice to see all the up grades, they definitely take good care of them, & they are so quiet, you never hear the neighbors.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1Sharon323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

awesome experience in unit 117 & 220. We had our two kids and some family friends and had a blast. It is a great location, the beach out front is very family friendly with mellow waves. It is next to one of the longest and undeveloped beaches on the island. You can walk forever! great whale watching. excellent facilities, each unit was nicely appointed and very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Condos are very well equipped, clean and well cared for. The AC was wonderful! I appreciated it even more once we moved to another hotel and did not have it anymore. It was quite a gift. The hotel is right on the beach. This is not a surfing beach, more of a swimming beach, but watch out for the coral. The beach is also lovely for morning or evening strolls. It does get windy midday and I would suggest the pool or an outing in the lovely city of Kihei at that time of day. Close to everything. Really nice staff there willing to help you with anything. We asked for a rollaway for one of our kids and it was there within an hour. Really enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: We were in 331, a very nice unit. Make sure and ask for a beach view. All rooms have wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MamaFiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Sugar Beach Resort and condo 331, which our vacation rentals company manages. I am glad you found the condo clean and well cared for. We hope to see you at the Sugar Beach Resort again in the future!

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Enjoyed Sugar Beach Condo, great walking beach, view of the ocean, pool, covered parking, etc. Only complaint was the extreme wind in Febuary. I especially like the location, away from the crowds. Easy drive to other locations in Maui.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RiverFred1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Sugar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Sugar Beach Resort. I am not sure if you stayed in one of the condos our company manages but I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. As for the wind, the trade winds in Kihei can pick up in the afternoons from time to time, but the mornings are usually always calm and placid. It is a great tip to try and get to your snorkeling or watersports activities (surfing, paddle boarding) in the mornings when conditions are amazing.
We hope to see you again at the Sugar Beach Resort!

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
4.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,190 reviews
7.3 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
575 reviews
7.8 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 60 in Kihei
551 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Kohea Kai Resort Maui,
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort

Address: 145 N Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8827
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: $193 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach Resort is an all inclusive, quiet and well located ocean front condo hotel. Each unit is individually owned. The resort is managed by the homeowner's association/Hawiiana Management.The 214 units are ocean front, ocean view, garden view on 5 acres of lush tropical beach front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Resort Condos Hotel Kihei
Sugar Beach Resort Maui/Kihei
Sugar Beach Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing