We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Atmosphere in a Central Location”
Review of Sugar Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Relaxing Atmosphere in a Central Location”
Reviewed May 5, 2008

Very relaxing atmosphere in a central location…right on the beach!

We stayed at Sugar Beach Resort from March 31/08 to April 10/08 and enjoyed it very much. We rented through VRBO and had no problems as the Condo was pretty much as expected. Clean and comfortable with the furniture perhaps a little “dated” but very acceptable. We had a ground floor unit and from our Lanai we were 25 steps to the beach. We like going the condo route, more room etc. Usually the only meals we prepare would be breakfast and that would only be cereal or toast, but it’s nice to have it on your Lanai in your jammies if you want.

The Sugar Beach Resort was always very clean and although they were doing a little construction on the other building, it really didn’t impact us. The pool and hot tub looked nice but we never got around to trying them. One of the nicest features there was the barbeque area, we bbq’d a couple of nights and it was great not having to go out plus you get to meet more people. The beach isn’t very wide but certainly swimable and you could walk quite a distance in either direction (and we did). We enjoyed being able to see whales, turtles and seals right from our Lanai. There is a general store there which was very convenient and a couple places to book trips to Scuba and other activities or you could rent scuba gear by the day. Also, there is a great little pub called Dina’s SandWitch that shouldn’t be missed.

The Wind: Yes, it was windy, very windy, pretty much the whole time we were there. Did it ruin our trip, he** no. The building we were in protected us from the wind when we were outside, just off our Lanai catching some sun. In fact, it usually got too hot and we would pull our lounge chars out in to the wind so we wouldn’t be so hot.

The Location: Great central location for going pretty much anywhere. The Road To Hana, Haleakala Crater, Kahului to shop, Wailia to shop and see the sights or continue on to Big Beach. You can also drive up to Lahaina to shop or eat and stroll Front Street or go to Lahaina Luau.

If I were to go back to Maui and wanted a Condo…I would book at Sugar Beach Resort again.

nsalphadog

  • Liked — Central location and right on the beach.
  • Disliked — There was construction.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank nsalphadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    231
    49
    31
    36
See reviews for
146
295
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2008

My 2 children (7 and 12) and I had the BEST time during our week's stay in Mike's wonderful condo. It was all beyond our expectations could be -- a fully equipped kitchen , great TV (although we hardly watched it), a foot massager, even beach umbrellas in the closet! And, what we could not have imagined was the closeness of the lanai to the water. On the 3rd floor, we could see for miles -- the water being a stone's throw away.

For my kids, it was perfect becuase the pool was just directly down the stairs, and very warm. They played in it for hours. We took turns being in the pool and walking along the long beach, which is Sugar Beach.

After long days away as well -- going to the top of the volcano, over to Hana Coast, whale watching, and beach hunting -- it was wonderful to come in to our happy condo and make some dinner and enjoy the evening.

And, speaking of whale watching -- we might have seen 100 jumps and tails in the water by whales passing by, just from our lanai! We were glad we had binoculars -- but to the bare eye, they were there all the time.

We thank Mike for such a truly positive and healing experience. Hope to enjoy it again soon.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat11California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2008

This is our fourth or fifth stay here (we've lost count), always in the same unit (PH27) rented from the owners, who are great folks. The unit is in pretty good shape, although it's showing its age.
The problem we encountered is that the peace and quiet we once experienced here are gone. It didn't help that they're sandblasting and repainting the building and installing new bedroom windows, although the disruption to us was minimal.
Our major disappointment was that the beach has eroded significantly. Don't come here expecting to see the wide vistas shown on the web site. No flat, uninterrupted vistas. Now the beach slants acutely into the ocean, with rocky reefs at the edge. And there were more homeless camping at the road's edge by the beach than we've seen before.
There's a lot of traffic on the road that runs by the condos, more than we've ever seen. In general, the western part of the island seemed a lot more crowded, including shopping centers and restaurants.
In summation, it's still Maui, it's still nice, but if you've been here before you'll probably be disappointed. We were.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford, ct
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2008

We loved our 2 weeks in unit 117. We rented direct from the owner and got a great rate. It's a ground floor unit, walk out onto the beach. The unit was in excellent condition. The owner, William Meyer, is an exceptionally nice person to deal with.

But we were concerned. Why? Because of TripAdvisor. Essentially, a prior renter of this exact condo (Mexican Hat) wrote a review which absolutely trashed it. I cannot imagine why. The unit was great, and Mr. Meyer, who owns several other condos here, was extremely accommodating and helpful.

My caution to anyone reading any review of condos, especially: Call the owner. Ask for current photos. Do not accept a couple of negative or positive reviews as "evidence" and make your decision based on them. Remember the cartoon: "On the Internet, nobody knows you're a dog." - One conversation with the owner is worth 20 anonymous reviews written by people with unknown motivations.

  • Liked — Ground floor, sliding door to beach
  • Disliked — Previous review on TripAdvisor which was highly misleading
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank eddierukidding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, B.C.
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

We've just returned last week from a great holiday in Hawaii. Our fourth time but first in Maui. We spent 6 days at the resort and then flew to Oahu for 4 days ~ a great way to vacation. We wanted to relax and unwind first and then have a few days to enjoy Waikiki and area. Our condo #104 was booked through VRBO and we were very pleased with what we got ~ there were no surprises. Although it would have been nice to be overlooking the beach, we were just steps from the pool, beach and BBQ area where we spent most our our time anyway. The suite itself was very comfortable and well-equipped ~ especially appreciated the king sized bed! The location, was, we felt very central to the rest of the island and the road construction nearby didn't affect us at all. Would recommend this resort and area for anyone looking for a relaxing get away at a reasonable price.

Helpful?
1 Thank Castaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2008

We rented a condo at Sugar Beach Resort from 2/27 - 3/5/2008 through Condominium Rentals Hawaii. I wanted to rent through an individual owner, but we were a little late in our search, and had a hard time finding anything. So, I went through a cond rental agency.

First let me say that we really liked the Sugar Beach Resort. When arrived, we found that the resort was an older condo building, but that it was in a great location, right on the beach, and had all kinds of amenities. There is a very nice ocean-side swimming pool, Jennaire gas barbeques, on site activity coordinators, a small store, restaurant, etc. The grounds are very nice and well maintained. The resort employees were extremely helpful and polite.

The individual units are another story; they are up to the owner to maintain to any level they want.

When renting the unit, I said that I wanted something with no road noise (Sugar Beach Resort is located on the main road), a clean modern room, and with at least a queen bed. I asked what actual room we would receive and was told that they did not know, as they dole them out when people arrive. However, I was assured that the room would be very nice, and that it would be away from the road and quiet.

We got the keys and moved into our unit (#402), and found that it was a real dump. The carpet was ancient, stained, ugly, and had white spots where someone had spilled bleach on it. The furniture was the tropical style with bamboo type frames and cushions, but looked like it was from the 1980's. It was worn and stained. My wife sat on the sofa, then went and got a sheet to cover it because it smelled bad. We found that the nice big bed was actually two twin beds shoved together - they didn’t even put a large mattress on it, just the two twin mattresses, so my wife and I couldn’t even lay next to each other! The old cottage cheese ceilings were stained and cracked. The a/c was blasting non-stop, and the controls didn’t work. Later that night, we tossed and turned as we listened to the non-stop din of traffic outside the unit.

The first thing the next morning, I called Condominium Rentals Hawaii and told them that the unit was not as described and totally unacceptable. They said that they have no control over the unit amenities, as they don’t know what unit we will be given when we make the reservations. They said that my “special requests” were not noted on the rental agreement.

They arranged for us to look at another unit (#505). We found it had the exact same old 1980's furniture and was also an old dump of a unit, although it had an actual bed and didn’t have the road noise. I asked them if they have any quality requirements for the rooms, and their only response was that they would see if they had something else.

We finally ended up with an ocean front room that was exactly what we were looking for: Newer furnishings, recently remodeled, and very nice. They were kind enough to gouge us for an extra $10/day for the “upgrade” to oceanfront vs. ocean view.

We also had to argue with several of their rep’s to finally waive a ridiculous additional $70 cleaning fee because we were “requesting to move to a different room!”

Apparently Condominium Rentals Hawaii has absolutely no standards for the unit quality, as we had to look at three units and finally pay more money to get something fit for human habitation. They just stick people in the trashy stuff and hope they don’t say anything. We ended up wasting a day and a half of our anniversary vacation dealing with this mess.

I recommend that if renting a condo, make sure you know exactly which unit you are getting, and make sure you get pictures of the unit, the view, and all the amenities; email the owner if required to get it. Then Google it to see if you find any reviews for that unit. Make sure it has been completely updated in the last 5 - 10 years, or forget it. Don’t get a unit facing the street, and make sure there is no road noise.

If the rental agency won’t tell you the actual unit you are renting, then don’t walk, RUN! This seems to be just a bait-and-switch method to unload the junk that nobody would pay for if they knew what the were getting!

Also, if staying at Sugar Beach Resort, I would not stay in anything other than an oceanfront unit, as all the others are poorly located with respect to the street and parking lots.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
12 Thank NWTravelinFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2008

Had a nice trip to Sugar Beach Resort, Stayed 2 weeks 5th floor ocean front. The view was fantastic, spend hours whale watching just from the lanai. The grounds are well maintained, the noise from the renos was not to bad from our location, but if you were closer you would know it.Once the highway consruction is done it will be very easy to get around from this location.The only complaint that we have is that the room needed a good cleaning, curtains where very dirty from a/c blowing on them all the time, cobwebs above the cupboards,musty smelling couch. Iquess each room has it's own cleaner, so that would explain the difference in how clean the rooms are. We would stay there again however because of ocean front location, less people and you can walk the beach for miles either direction. It is a lot deader the south Kihie but each to their own.

Helpful?
1 Thank d0nmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
4.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,126 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#5 of 62 in Kihei
523 reviews
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#16 of 62 in Kihei
934 reviews
2.1 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#6 of 62 in Kihei
413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Resort

Property: Sugar Beach Resort
Address: 145 N Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8827
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach Resort is an all inclusive, quiet and well located ocean front condo hotel. Each unit is individually owned. The resort is managed by the homeowner's association/Hawiiana Management.The 214 units are ocean front, ocean view, garden view on 5 acres of lush tropical beach front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sugar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Resort Condos Hotel Kihei
Sugar Beach Resort Maui/Kihei
Sugar Beach Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing