We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Royal Mauian #505” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Mauian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Mauian
Ranked #39 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Milton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Royal Mauian #505”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Mauian #505 the end of June. Having never been to this condo, or the Kihei area, we weren't sure what to expect. We have stayed in the Lahaina and Kaanapali area in the past, but hadn't traveled over to Kihei. My husband and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary and our daughter and her best friend were celebrating their graduation, so we wanted everything to be perfect. We knew we didn't sign up for a 5-star resort, that was on purpose, we wanted our own private condo where we could just relax and unwind and enjoy the island. After doing a lot of research this looked like the place for us. Upon arrival we were happy to find shops and restaurants across the street, entering the condo we had a gorgeous water view from both the kitchen/living room as well as the master bedroom, and plenty of room for the four of us in this 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom condo, and the multiple shower options in the master bathroom were a nice touch! Also available for our use were beach chairs, a cooler, snorkel gear (and other beach toys if you have younger kids). The kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed. There were plenty of bath towels as well as beach towels, and having a washer/dryer in the unit was great! We enjoyed meals on the lanai, and were up early every morning having our coffee and reading and enjoying the ocean waves, we even snorkeled right out in front of the condo a few times. You can see a side view of the road from the lanai, but the traffic noise didn't really bother us as it was covered up by the sound of the waves. It also was a bit windy during the afternoons, but that didn't bother us at all, enjoyed opening the windows and letting the tropical breeze come through. We thought we'd enjoy the pool, but we didn't go to the pool once, we had two great beaches on either side of us. As for our island activities, we drove out past Kapalua to snorkel Honolua Bay, up to the top of Haleakala, out to Makena Beach, we were up and down the entire side the island, we also enjoyed a luau, ziplining and the Maui Magic snorkel cruise. Fabulous vacation had by all of us, we can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j0hns0nfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    27
    17
    8
    10
See reviews for
53
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is our second year in unit 209 at the Royal Mauian thru VBRO. The one bedroom suite is exactly as shown in the pictures. Master bedroom with window to the ocean is a fabulous site to wake up to in the morning. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need - fridge (ice maker), stove, microwave, dishwasher - you can cook every meal in if you so wish. You can also BBQ up on the rooftop for some fantastic sunset views at supper. The lanai is a great place to unwind for the day or breakfast in the morning. You have in suite laundry so you can travel light on clothes. The common area is meticulously cared for and the management staff very helpful.

The location is between Kamaole Beach 2 and 3 - you are steps away from the beach and the lava outcrop in front of the hotel is an excellent place to snorkel in the mornings - many sea turtles!

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed here with my family for 11 days in February. Its right on the ocean, 1 minute walk to the beach. We had a ground floor unit so it was easy walk in, walk out. Like every where else in Maui you probably want a car if you're going to go out and do/see things. It definitely could have had more towels and we weren't given enough toilet paper or garbage bags to make it through the 10 days, other than that it was a good experience and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimmered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coos Bay, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We have stayed at the Royal Mauian at least ten different times and unit 106 was terrible. The place was dirty, poorly equipped. stinky towels, dirty furniture, terrible floors, totally over priced,dirty bathrooms, at least 30 different notes telling you what to do. PLEASE do not rent this unit.

Room Tip: Make sure to really check out the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ScottLewis1700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We really felt this was a first class place. The condo is so conveniently loafed and the grounds are meticulous. Great views and our specific condo was first rate. The roof can be used to cook with four weber grills. A lot of people eat there but our condo is on the six floor and the lanai is a great place to eat dinner.

Room Tip: Make sure you check out the specific condos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PewaukeePete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is our second experience of the Royal Mauian, and a HUGE reminder that condo units vary wildly as to ROI. It was pretty obvious that unit 503 is owned by someone who feels the location justifies the premium price and has let the condo's condition slide. Unit 503 would be reasonable choice for $200 a day....but as the rental fee is $3200 per week, ($400+ per day) it is pretty much overpriced. We found the carpet dirty...and actually in the bathroom it was filthy. Some of the linen was pretty dirty, though it had gone through a washing machine. There are broken window latches, peeled interior paint and a general run-down appearance. One would hope some way to sharpen the kitchen knives was available...as they were dull to the point of being useless. (Thank heaven TSA now allows your boy scout knife!) Oh...if you use more than the three garbage bags laid out for your stay....you will play hell getting a fourth one. It may be that I will stay at the Royal Mauian again as the location and rooftop cooking area is suburb....but I will be much more careful about choosing a unit. Best to reserve a year ahead so you have a choice.

Room Tip: I have no idea how how to avoid a poorly appointed condo....but I am sure going to find out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnFreeman45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Grounds are kept up beautifully, as well as the pool and rooftop garden. The view from up there is breathtaking and it is a great place to cook out and eat!

Kam 1 is a wonderful beach and great for kids to swim and run around.

We WILL be staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeyfeetx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hale Pau Hana
The Hale Pau Hana
#2 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kamaole Nalu Resort
Kamaole Nalu Resort
#52 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kihei Surfside
Kihei Surfside
#18 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#8 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maui Parkshore
Maui Parkshore
#57 of 62 in Kihei
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maui Banyan Condos
Maui Banyan Condos
#21 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mauian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mauian

Property: Royal Mauian
Address: 2430 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8699
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Mauian 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Mauian is a unique six story oceanfront property located in South Kihei offering unobstructed views of the clear blue Pacific. The property and adjacent Kamaole Beach together provide excellent locations for stunning sunsets, snorkeling, swimming, romantic beach strolling, and seasonal whale watching. Royal Mauian features an oceanfront pool area giving you the comfort of a pool setting with the beauty of a day at the beach. A roof top garden area with gas barbeques & panoramic views of the island as well as free parking are available to guests. A variety of shops and restaurants are within walking distance. The unit interiors include fully equipped kitchens, washer & dryer units, cable television, free local phone service, private lanais and luxury linen supplied directly by Ali'i Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Royal Mauian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mauian Hotel Kihei
Royal Mauian Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing