We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location - #208”
Review of Royal Mauian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Mauian
Ranked #41 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Location Location - #208”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I know the area well and particularly wanted to stay on this block. Location can't be beat for beach, shops and eateries to walk to and excellent whale watching. #208 was rented through Alii Resorts, inc. and they are my agency of choice - several times now. Nice folks.

Our unit was very clean and comfortable, the view was fantastic. This unit has been updated and upgraded, everything you need and then some. The AC is the quietest unit I have ever seen - both inside and while sitting on the lanai. I didn't use the kitchen much, but it's well supplied.

The property overall is well maintained. The pool small, but clean.
Cons: some personal impact regarding property maintenance using aerosols daily, an easy fix is not use aerosols - wafting fumes on the lanai not good.

***I strongly suggest due diligence regarding unit if you are mobility impaired - there are steps along corridors to access units 12-19 and 1-6. Elevator is very small and tight with even a small wheelchair. Roof deck is accessed by stairs, not the elevator and this was a bummer. Rear entrance has steps, though shallow, not accessible.

It's a nice property and this unit is as nice as the photos were, and then some.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LesRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    29
    17
    9
    11
See reviews for
58
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sidney, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Unit # 503 in the Royal Mauian is in an excellent location, however it is a shabby, overpriced unit with a 1970 decor. Upon arrival we found soiled carpets and upholstery, collapsing chairs on the lanai, hard uncomfortable beds, inadequately equipped kitchen, and a general air of neglect. While the Maui Condo & Home agency were quick to remedy some of the deficiencies, it remains a tired, dingy unit. In the same building very attractive, recently remodeled units are available from other rental agencies for considerably less rent, You can do much better than Unit 503

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Always on the move
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We just stayed at the Royal Mauian unit #306. We didn't plan to stay here but had to make last minute plan changes due to one of our group staying in the hospital and scrambled to find an available unit in high season. This unit was one of only a few available and figured out why. The location can't be beat, it's sole positive feature is an oceanfront lanai that overlooks the ocean and beach and is large enough to have 6 people sit comfortably. Unfortunately, we had just stayed in an incredible condo on the west side for a week and had gotten used to a quality renovated unit.

The owners of this unit clearly haven't put anything into this unit for a long time. While the living room furniture is adequate, the pull out bed is terrible (very old) and the 2nd bedroom beds make noise when you turn over. The master bedroom bed is fine but the bedside furniture in both rooms is very old and generally feels not clean. The bathrooms are both very small and you didn't want to look very closely as the wallpaper is peeling and it generally didn't feel very clean anywhere either. The sink in the main bathroom drains poorly so we could barely use it. None of us felt like we could unpack our clothes into the closet or drawers, we just lived out of our suitcases.

The kitchen wasn't much better, quite small and everything was old and cheap. We washed everything before using it and then couldn't even use the washing machine as the rubber liner was covered in mold. (we didn't want to risk having it come off on our clothes). Thankfully we only had to stay there 4 nights, it was the least pleasant part of our vacation.

To top it off, there was no key in the unit which is required for use of the pool area and rooftop BBQ area. When we notified the contact person on the first day she didn't get back to us until the next day. This is someone who made a big deal on her emails that texting was the best way to get a hold of her so I did as she asked (I also left her a phone message and email with no response either). The next day I asked her again about the key and got a one word reply 'ok'. That was it!! We inquired at the desk that day and again on the final day if a key was every made available for us and was told no. After we got back home and I emailed my issues she said she had made one available the first day and responded " I find it unlikely that the front desk would lie about a new key not being available". That's basically saying she doesn't believe us. Pretty incredible. As it was we only got to use the rooftop one night (it was beautiful) through asking someone to let us in and were unable to use it the rest of the stay. We couldn't access the pool area either (no big loss as there is no hot tub).

We wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Royal Mauian again as the location is excellent but would definitely chose a different unit. This one was a big disappointment. My poor ratings reflect the unit, not the complex as we rented through VRBO and never had much interaction with the front dest.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 2Luvbrds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We just stayed at the Royal Mauian unit #104. It was a 3 bedroom unit that fit our group of 7 comfortably. the unit ws fully equipped and even had beach chairs for everyone to use. Nice location that was walking distance to Hawaiian ice and shopping nearby.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnn2656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

This is a wonderful spot, on a rocky outcropping between Kamaole Beaches I and II. It is easy to go from here to most of the things one wants to see in Maui. The 2 bedroom unit we had was extremely well equipped for dishes, towels and all other amenities, and had a great lanai. Very good value for the money, and the beaches within 2 minutes walk (no street to cross) are good for families, walkers and snorkelers alike. The rooftop BarBQ area is a wonderful place to unwind and enjoy that ahi tuna steak while watching the gorgeous Maui sunset.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The Royal Mauian located in south Kihei between two beaches, Kama'ole I and Kama'ole II both excellent beaches for walking, swimming, and sunshine. (Kam I a two minute walk away, Kam II about five minutes.) South Kihei is on the drier, sunnier side of Maui so the chances of rain are slim. The area does get both the Trade and Kona winds...sometimes a little, sometimes a lot. It is about a half hour drive from the airport.

The units in the Royal Mauian are under private ownership. Some are in rental pools. A unit ending in a 1 (ex. x01) is near the road with a mountain view. A unit ending in 19 (ex. x19) has a very limited ocean view. A unit ending in 8 or 9 (x08, x09) are one bedroom units near the middle of the complex. Units ending in 2 or 18 are all three bedroom suites. The majority are two bedroom, two bath. The master bedroom faces toward the ocean with those in the higher number series having a more direct ocean view. The second bedrooms are all on the parking lot/road side of the complex and do get some of the traffic noise occasionally. If you are interested in renting, our recommendation is to rent one of the newly remodeled units. Check out VRBO on the web. And plan ahead. We understand folks are having trouble finding rentals here for Christmas, 2012.

Many young families rent on the first floor so their children can access the grass area in front of their condo. It is a six story building with elevator.

On the ocean side of the condos is a grassy area with lounge chairs and a rocky shore where sea turtles are frequently seen and an easy access for OK snorkeling. There is a swimming pool on the grounds. The roof top offers BBQ and eating space for those who want to eat outside and watch the lovely sunsets. In January and February whales can often been seen enjoying the warm Maui waters.

If vacationers are looking for someone on site to plan their entertainment this is not the place. Rent a car, pick up a book on Maui or some of the many brochures available and go explore.

There are several nearby restaurants. Across the street in the Dolphin Plaza is a Mexican place offering a discount on tacos (not mentioned on their menu board). In the same plaza is an Indian and very popular Japanese restaurant. Directly across the street is Cafe O'Lei -- lunch is a good value for Maui.

We like Mataos pizza about 15 minutes south of us. Good prices, friendly staff, and a nice food selection.

If you want night life you will need to either go south about 15 minutes to Wailai or about 15 minutes north to some small, local bars and eating places.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank TwoRetiredFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We had the best Maui vacation ever at Royal Mauian Unit #611, staying in this gorgeous ocean front condo! Mornings are simply magical here, with a beautifully equipped kitchen for preparing a lovely breakfast to enjoy on the lanai. The lanai overlooks a rocky shore where sea turtles frequent most mornings... directly below! Thanks to the lanai telescope, we were able to view sea turtles and birds as if they were just a few feet away. I loved hearing the gentle sound of waves softly breaking down below, and the textured pebble floors in the master bath and second bath showers. I was grateful for the illuminated cosmetic mirror in the master bath, wireless internet, and in-house washer and dryer machines... so many nice touches! A beautiful wall mural provides the illusion of a continuous view of the ocean for the sought-after "five island view," and gives the condo a very special look and feel. This condo is easy walking distance to many shops and restaurants, as well as huge stretches of soft, sandy beaches on either side. Beaches for swimming and rocky shores for snorkling are easily accessible, after a short walk from the stairs or elevator across a beautifully manicured lawn. The rooftop garden is an exquisitely beautiful place to get a full 360 degree view at sunrise, sunset, or any time of day one wishes to barbecue or simply enjoy beautiful Maui skies. The view over the ocean from the lanai is breathtaking at all hours of the day... and especially gorgeous at sunrise and sunset. The owners genuinely care about making your stay here the best it can be... and chances are, when you stay here you'll love it so much you won't want to leave!

http://www.VRBO.com/349929#photos

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hale Pau Hana
The Hale Pau Hana
#1 of 62 in Kihei
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kamaole Nalu Resort
Kamaole Nalu Resort
#45 of 62 in Kihei
108 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kihei Surfside
Kihei Surfside
#14 of 62 in Kihei
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#5 of 62 in Kihei
528 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maui Parkshore
Maui Parkshore
#58 of 62 in Kihei
44 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hale Kamaole
Hale Kamaole
#22 of 62 in Kihei
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mauian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mauian

Property: Royal Mauian
Address: 2430 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8699
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Mauian 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Mauian is a unique six story oceanfront property located in South Kihei offering unobstructed views of the clear blue Pacific. The property and adjacent Kamaole Beach together provide excellent locations for stunning sunsets, snorkeling, swimming, romantic beach strolling, and seasonal whale watching. Royal Mauian features an oceanfront pool area giving you the comfort of a pool setting with the beauty of a day at the beach. A roof top garden area with gas barbeques & panoramic views of the island as well as free parking are available to guests. A variety of shops and restaurants are within walking distance. The unit interiors include fully equipped kitchens, washer & dryer units, cable television, free local phone service, private lanais and luxury linen supplied directly by Ali'i Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Mauian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mauian Hotel Kihei
Royal Mauian Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing