We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate & personal retreat with wonderful hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Breeze Hideaway
Ranked #4 of 16 Kihei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2009

We loved our stay at Ocean Breeze Bed & Breakfast. It was just what we needed. If you are looking for a place that is quiet and away from the regular tourist scene, then this is it. We thoroughly enjoyed our morning breakfast on the lanai, where you could view the ocean and mountains of Maui. The personal site seeing information provided over coffee was awesome for us first time travelers to Hawaii. The place was clean and equipped with everything we needed to make our trip comfortable (beach towels, umbrella, cooler, etc.). The garden and fountain outside the ocean suite added to the ambiance. The only complaint we have is that we didn't get to spend more time with Bob and Sandy. We definitely plan to return to the Ocean Breeze B & B; you can't beat the hospitality for the price. Mahalo Bob & Sandy for your personal attention and kindness.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRSBCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 292 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2009

First off I must say a good word for the owners who are lovely people. Having said this, this place was very hard to find in the middle of the night when we arrived. It is no where near the ocean and it cannot be seen or heard from here. The room we had was very crowded and we felt confined. The bathroom was extremely small, and we are small people. The shower stall was tiny and had no place to put ones shampoo and conditioner other than a roughly pebbled floor. But the worst part is that one can hear everything that is said in the room next door. We chose this place because it had such great reviews on Trip Advisor, including reviews from honeymooners and I just don't understand how anybody could have felt there was any kind of privacy here. We have stayed at wonderful B&B's through out the United States. I am afraid this one is not one we will return to.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovetraveling15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

The Ocean Breeze Hideaway is a very nice place to stay. While we were there, substitute host stood in for the owners. They were especially accommodating, friendly, and helpful. Our room was extremely clean, comfortable, and spacious. Moreover, it was supplied with everything we needed, including a clothesline we could use to dry swimsuits, beach towels, etc. Our room had a very cozy patio and waterfall surrounded by beautiful landscaping. We were, however, disappointed that the breakfasts were fairly late considering that many of the activities such as snorkeling, kayaking, etc. are best done early in the day (8:15 a.m.). Out of our four night stay, we ended up only having breakfast one time. When no bagged snack or early breakfast was offered, we asked if we could have a little something in a bag to sustain us before our early kayaking, snorkeling appointment and were told that that was not the policy. The breakfast we did have was excellent, however. We have never in all our years of staying at B&B's not been able to get at least a little something if we have to leave early. The road noise was a bit of an issue but it wasn't extraordinary. Overall, a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggiemite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandebeachkihei, Owner, Sande Greene at Ocean Breeze Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2009

We are pleased that our innsitters did such a fine job of taking care of you in our absence, and we appreciate your feedback. Upon request, we do make food available for guests with early morning plans. We apologize for not making that clear to our caretakers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

We stayed with Bob and Sande in their Ocean Suite, and enjoyed every minute. Although we had read reviews that said the shower stall was small, we did not find this to be true. Everything we needed was provided before we could think to ask. Clearly Bob and Sande love Maui, and are enthusiastic hosts, while being sensitive to privacy. Their home is as open, warm, and as eclectic as they are. Their suggestions of activities were just right. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry-Marie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

The Coral Suite is a self-contained part of the house that Bob & Sande live in. There is a fridge in the room but no tea/coffee making facilities. Air con is available. There is a small private area outside the bedroom so you can sit in the garden. Bob and Sande are present at breakfast to offer helpful advice about where to go and what to do.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PembrokeshireRosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

We recently had the opportunity to stay with Sande and Bob at the Ocean Breeze again. As with last time, we were very impressed. Their knowledge of the island is fantastic and they always have great ideas for activities and eats. On the topic of eats, we should also mention that the breakfasts are wonderful. In particular, they work very well for sustaining your energy during action-packed days. We loved having organic and local fruit every morning. And Sande's scones (amongst other baked goods) are simply lovely :). One of the other things that makes the Ocean Breeze so special is the attention that Bob and Sande make to the little details. For example, it's great having a personal clothesline outside your room to dry off swim gear at the end of a day. As well, they provide beach towels (among a myriad of other beach gear), so no need to pack extra towels. The location is also lovely, with it being only a ten minute walk to the beach (and I have to say, this beach must be the best walking beach in Maui...we certainly enjoyed our morning and afternoon strolls).

We'd go back in a heartbeat! Sande, Bob, and the B&B are excellent!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewKiwisWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

We decided to stay at Ocean Breeze after reading the wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor - and we're glad we did!

We stayed in the Ocean Suite (the only one available during our time there) which is smaller than the Coral Suite, but it's still a nice size. The shower stall is somewhat small which can make it challenging to shave your legs - there's no where to prop your foot up.

The bed is very comfortable and there are two patio entrances to the room providing a wonderful cross breeze. The private lanai has a clothes line to hang wet clothing and towels.

The room has a small fridge for leftovers and drinks. A cooler, beach chairs, beach umbrella, beach towels and jackets (in case you visit Haleakala) are provided for you to use.

Breakfast is healthy and delicious - granola, cereal, hot tea and coffee, yogurt, fresh island fruit and Sande's homemade treats (we have chocolate chip pumpkin bread and cranberry granola bars).

You have plenty of privacy and feel very welcomed by Sande and Bob. They're both very friendly and easy to converse with.

We highly suggest a snorkel trip to Molokini (something Bob can help arrange). If it's whale season - you'll see these beautiful creatures up close and personal.

When we return to Maui, we absolutely plan on staying with Bob and Sande at Ocean Breeze again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JamieK76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
3.5 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,174 reviews
4.6 mi away
What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast
5.5 mi away
Hale Huanani Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Lahaina Ocean's Edge
Lahaina Ocean's Edge
#4 of 11 in Lahaina
31 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Plantation Inn
The Plantation Inn
#1 of 11 in Lahaina
466 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nona Lani Cottages
Nona Lani Cottages
#14 of 61 in Kihei
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Breeze Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Breeze Hideaway

Address: 435 Kalalau Pl, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range: $136 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Breeze Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our peaceful Maui Bed and Breakfast overlooks Maalaea Bay and is just a 10-minute walk from Maui's longest beach. Enjoy a morning swim or snorkel in calm waters, walk or run along this undeveloped white sand beach. Return to a delicious Island breakfast served on our ocean-view lanai, surrounded by coconut palms and bougainvillea. Take in the view of Maalaea Bay while you enjoy fresh ground coffee and assorted teas; tropical juices, fresh island fruit; granola; muffins, scones and assorted breads; and island jams. We choose locally grown and organic at every opportunity. Maui Bed and Breakfast permit #BBKM 2009/0003 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Ocean Breeze Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Breeze Hideaway Hotel Kihei
Ocean Breeze Hideaway Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing