We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good place to stay and great substitute hosts.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Breeze Hideaway
Ranked #4 of 16 Kihei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
colorado
1 review
“A very good place to stay and great substitute hosts.”
Reviewed June 16, 2009

The Ocean Breeze Hideaway is a very nice place to stay. While we were there, substitute host stood in for the owners. They were especially accommodating, friendly, and helpful. Our room was extremely clean, comfortable, and spacious. Moreover, it was supplied with everything we needed, including a clothesline we could use to dry swimsuits, beach towels, etc. Our room had a very cozy patio and waterfall surrounded by beautiful landscaping. We were, however, disappointed that the breakfasts were fairly late considering that many of the activities such as snorkeling, kayaking, etc. are best done early in the day (8:15 a.m.). Out of our four night stay, we ended up only having breakfast one time. When no bagged snack or early breakfast was offered, we asked if we could have a little something in a bag to sustain us before our early kayaking, snorkeling appointment and were told that that was not the policy. The breakfast we did have was excellent, however. We have never in all our years of staying at B&B's not been able to get at least a little something if we have to leave early. The road noise was a bit of an issue but it wasn't extraordinary. Overall, a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiemite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandebeachkihei, Owner, Sande Greene at Ocean Breeze Hideaway, responded to this review, June 16, 2009
We are pleased that our innsitters did such a fine job of taking care of you in our absence, and we appreciate your feedback. Upon request, we do make food available for guests with early morning plans. We apologize for not making that clear to our caretakers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    41
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
207
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2009

We stayed with Bob and Sande in their Ocean Suite, and enjoyed every minute. Although we had read reviews that said the shower stall was small, we did not find this to be true. Everything we needed was provided before we could think to ask. Clearly Bob and Sande love Maui, and are enthusiastic hosts, while being sensitive to privacy. Their home is as open, warm, and as eclectic as they are. Their suggestions of activities were just right. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry-Marie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2009

The Coral Suite is a self-contained part of the house that Bob & Sande live in. There is a fridge in the room but no tea/coffee making facilities. Air con is available. There is a small private area outside the bedroom so you can sit in the garden. Bob and Sande are present at breakfast to offer helpful advice about where to go and what to do.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PembrokeshireRosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2009

We recently had the opportunity to stay with Sande and Bob at the Ocean Breeze again. As with last time, we were very impressed. Their knowledge of the island is fantastic and they always have great ideas for activities and eats. On the topic of eats, we should also mention that the breakfasts are wonderful. In particular, they work very well for sustaining your energy during action-packed days. We loved having organic and local fruit every morning. And Sande's scones (amongst other baked goods) are simply lovely :). One of the other things that makes the Ocean Breeze so special is the attention that Bob and Sande make to the little details. For example, it's great having a personal clothesline outside your room to dry off swim gear at the end of a day. As well, they provide beach towels (among a myriad of other beach gear), so no need to pack extra towels. The location is also lovely, with it being only a ten minute walk to the beach (and I have to say, this beach must be the best walking beach in Maui...we certainly enjoyed our morning and afternoon strolls).

We'd go back in a heartbeat! Sande, Bob, and the B&B are excellent!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewKiwisWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2009

We decided to stay at Ocean Breeze after reading the wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor - and we're glad we did!

We stayed in the Ocean Suite (the only one available during our time there) which is smaller than the Coral Suite, but it's still a nice size. The shower stall is somewhat small which can make it challenging to shave your legs - there's no where to prop your foot up.

The bed is very comfortable and there are two patio entrances to the room providing a wonderful cross breeze. The private lanai has a clothes line to hang wet clothing and towels.

The room has a small fridge for leftovers and drinks. A cooler, beach chairs, beach umbrella, beach towels and jackets (in case you visit Haleakala) are provided for you to use.

Breakfast is healthy and delicious - granola, cereal, hot tea and coffee, yogurt, fresh island fruit and Sande's homemade treats (we have chocolate chip pumpkin bread and cranberry granola bars).

You have plenty of privacy and feel very welcomed by Sande and Bob. They're both very friendly and easy to converse with.

We highly suggest a snorkel trip to Molokini (something Bob can help arrange). If it's whale season - you'll see these beautiful creatures up close and personal.

When we return to Maui, we absolutely plan on staying with Bob and Sande at Ocean Breeze again.

  • Liked — Customer service, privacy
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JamieK76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2009

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this wonderful B&B. Bob and Sande are the most gracious hosts and I was honored to be a guest in their home. I’m so grateful for Bob booking all of our excursions in advance. He’s did a great job organizing our time and made sure we made the most of each day. Sande is wonderful. Her cheerful demeanor lights up any space she is in.

We stayed in the Coral suite. It was clean and spacious. The surroundings were so peaceful. On some days, it was hot and it was nice to have air conditioning in the room. We had our own private parking space, entrance, bathroom, garden and lanai. It was a wonderful place to return to at the end of the day. Every morning we gathered on the lanai for breakfast. The fruit was fresh and delicious. Also, the other guests were delightful. We found that Bob is a wealth of information about the island and great places to dine.

The B&B location in Kihei is ideal. It’s centralized, close to the beach, shops and restaurants. Even though I spent a lot a time in Lahaina, (approximately 30 to 40 min. drive) the ocean views while driving were picturesque. Ocean Breeze is such a wonderful place to stay. I recommend it and will return again.

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chintsuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2009

I write this review to let those who are interested in staying in a B and B YOU NEED NOT LOOK ANY LONGER. Bob and Sandi are wonderful hosts. Their home is clean, comfortable, and safe. You arrive as strangers and depart as friends. You have the choice of two rooms both having private entrances. There is a warm welcome and a soft clean bed to rest your sun kissed body in. The bathrooms are spacious and well cared for. There are plenty of clean towels and privacy for all your needs. There is a small refrigerator to keep your drinks cool and everything you need for the beach tucked away in the closet. A healthy breakfast is served every morning on the lanai. I enjoy the oatmeal and fresh fruit with my hot tea. After breakfast and our daily greeting with Bob and Sandi I grab the cooler out of the closet and head to the beach just a short walk from the house. I suggest to anyone who is looking into staying at a bed and breakfast on the beautiful island of Maui the Ocean Breeze Hideaway is the place to stay. I give Bob and Sandi all the stars in the night’s sky.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank ploucaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
3.5 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,114 reviews
6.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
20.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Kohea Kai Resort Maui, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.4 mi away
Nona Lani Cottages
Nona Lani Cottages
#16 of 62 in Kihei
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Breeze Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Breeze Hideaway

Property: Ocean Breeze Hideaway
Address: 435 Kalalau Pl, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our peaceful Maui Bed and Breakfast overlooks Maalaea Bay and is just a 10-minute walk from Maui's longest beach. Enjoy a morning swim or snorkel in calm waters, walk or run along this undeveloped white sand beach. Return to a delicious Island breakfast served on our ocean-view lanai, surrounded by coconut palms and bougainvillea. Take in the view of Maalaea Bay while you enjoy fresh ground coffee and assorted teas; tropical juices, fresh island fruit; granola; muffins, scones and assorted breads; and island jams. We choose locally grown and organic at every opportunity. Maui Bed and Breakfast permit #BBKM 2009/0003 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Breeze Hideaway Hotel Kihei
Ocean Breeze Hideaway Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing