We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coral Suite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean Breeze Hideaway
Ranked #4 of 16 Kihei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We had a great time in Maui because of the excellent accomadations and our hosts. Bob gave a very good Lomi Lomi Massage which was competitive with the Waikiki Marriott Spa. We had a great time in Maui thanks to the suggestions of Bob & Sande, the conversations over breakfast and mixing with other guests. We saw some local entertainment thanks to Bob and also enjoyed the adventure of the "Road to Hana" guided tour. We have been bragging to our friends and family about this and we will be looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jim-n-Betty-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Breeze Hideaway
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 290 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2011

We spent almost a week here, and were very kindly welcomed by Bob & Sande, the owners.

They said they have been running the place for years, and yet they still enjoy sitting with their guests each morning at breakfast.

They show real interest, and are a good source of information on places to go on the island.

Such a kind couple, and they have very well equipped rooms.

Sande was even so kind to mail us a missing item after we had left!

Room Tip: There's 2 rooms to choose from, we had the oceanbreeze appartement. The other couple we saw e...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AmsterdamTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

On our travels through Hawaii we spent the week on Maui in the Ocean Breeze Hideaway. This bed & breakfast is one of the neatest and nicest I've ever seen. The hosts Bob and Sandy put all their love in this house and you can feel and see it! It's tidy, the rooms are big, the Lanais are comfortable and the breakfast is the best I've ever had! Freshly made smoothies, self made scones, banana bred and muffins, the fruits directly from the trees in the garden... The day can't start better. The hosts are very friendly and helpful with info. You just feel home immediately and don't want to leave again. A big MAHALO to the two and I will be back!! :)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We immediately felt home in this relaxed surrounding.Sande and Bob we have to thank you for being such wonderful hosts and we enjoyed the morning talks,the jokes and stories and last but not least the always fresh and tasting breakfast,the coffee is a hit!Dig the banana bread!Our room was comfortable,clean and cozy with everything you need for a pleasant stay.The lanai in front was a good place for sipping a glass of whine after a long day.Also many thanks for the information on places worth a visit and for booking Ulalena theatre for us,a show not to be missed.Sande and Bob we hope to see you again one sunny day,take care and all the best from Anne and Uwe.

Room Tip: two rooms only - each one a good choice
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank derlampenkoenig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandebeachkihei, Owner at Ocean Breeze Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2011

We are grateful for all our guests,and are very appreciative of all our guests' comments. We sure have been blessed with many new friends, and we were sorry to see these folks leave. In this review are the feelings we are trying to convey about Ocean Breeze Hideaway. We are elated that they felt it, and were willing and able to share it so beautifully. Thanks so much for the kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Somehow this B&B seems to polarize. Unfortunately we belong to the party that did not like there stay at this location too much.
We really enjoyed the fresh and delightful fruits offered for breakfast. Especially the homegrown mango. Furthermore we liked the offer of beach equipment and that Sande and Bob have a nice attitude.
But: We did not fully enjoy our stay due to some negative aspects. As the B&B is surrounded by streets and the highway is also not far away it never gets really silent during night. The interior of our room made the impression of a wild mixture of flea market furniture. A renewal would be appropriate. Furthermore items for breakfast made a counted impression (2 scones for two persons or 4 bagels for 4 persons). As Sande and Bob like to join the guests for breakfast we felt a little bit observed and forced for a conversation with them. Finally the wifi was not working in our room.

It s hard to say, but during our 4 weeks on Hawaii we really enjoyed better places to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CrickMuenchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandebeachkihei, Owner at Ocean Breeze Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2011

Thank you for letting us know about the wi-fi,,as we recently purchased a new router and will remedy the situation.

We try to make it clear that the Ocean Room is our budget room. However, all the furniture was purchased new, and most guests really like the room because of the beautiful garden setting. It actually is quiet here a good deal of the time, but sometimes there is noise from neighbors or the street.

We are quite amazed that you did not enjoy our company at breakfast or felt observed. This is the first time we've heard that complaint in over 12 years of business. Most people find our company enjoyable, and we are sorry you didn't.

The glowing review above this one was from the couple in the other room , who were here at the same time. They clearly loved our bed and breakfast, and we thoroughly enjoyed each others' company. For guests preferring not to socialize, we are happy to provide travelers with breakfast items to eat in your room or on your lanai. Just ask us.

For our tropical breakfast, we serve the amount that people normally eat, so as not to waste food. And we always ask if anyone would like anything else. We are not stingy with food, but we are not wasteful. Many B&B's here offer only a packaged breakfast, which is also measured out, with no opportunity for seconds.

To travelers considering a stay with us, if you'd like a room that is clean and comfortable but not fancy, a reasonable rental rate, comfortable bed, a healthy breakfast, and hosts who enjoy company and want to make your stay wonderful in every way possible, we invite you to join us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Ocean Breeze Hideaway was a home away from home for our 7 night stay and our first trip to Maui. Sande and Bob are wonderful hosts and beautiful, kind people. We slept great and were well nourished with our tropical breakfast to send us on our adventures of the day well rested and full of energy. And yes, we do have a great deal of experience with B&B's and this one by far is the one you want to choose if you are looking for a cozy, peaceful place to stay, where you feel like you are family! Their knowledge and advice was so valuable to us being in a new land for the first time. Sitting out in their tropical garden and hearing the water fountain was a wonder place to stargaze or even meditate. Ocean Breeze Hideaway is in a perfect central location to take in all the beautiful destinations Maui has to offer and Kihei has the most beautiful and people friendly beaches in the world. This was the best vacation we ever had and it was hard to leave, but we look forward to our return and staying with Bob and Sande once again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2sunsmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandebeachkihei, Owner at Ocean Breeze Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

I am delighted to get such good recommendations from our guests. Your description of our B&B captures beautifully the feeling we intend to convey about Ocean Breeze Hideaway. We are thrilled that you felt it, and were willing and able to share it so eloquently. Thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Once again Bob and Sande show what real ALOHA spirit feels like. Located centrally in Kihei by all the beautiful beaches the West wide offers, this place is the perfect starting point for all your adventures.

I have stayed in both rooms and they are comfortable, clean and bright. The only difference is the Ocean suite is a bit bigger. Each has their own Lanai and if you'd like breakfast in the morning it is served on the main Lani. The garden there is just gorgeous and you feel like you are in your very own tropical paradise. Bob and Sande spoil me every time with their homemade scones, banana bread and fresh fruit smoothies. If you wanna skip breakfast and hit the beach early let them know and you will get a goodie bag to go the night before. Beach chairs, an umbrella, towels and a cooler are all provided so you don't even have to think about it.

I enjoy Maui as much as I do staying with them. I hope to return again and again to my home away from home. Mahalo for the wonderful memories!!!!

Room Tip: The Ocean suite is a bit bigger.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank t8nkgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandebeachkihei, Owner at Ocean Breeze Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2011

We are certainly blessed with wonderful guests. These folks are no exception, and we were sad to see them leave.
A little clarification..the Coral Suite is the larger of our two guest rooms.
Thanks for the kind words from Portland. We are very appreciative of all our guest comments. They keep us on our toes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
3.5 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,145 reviews
6.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.4 mi away
Kohea Kai Resort Maui,
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.4 mi away
Nona Lani Cottages
Nona Lani Cottages
#16 of 62 in Kihei
165 reviews
4.8 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Breeze Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Breeze Hideaway

Address: 435 Kalalau Pl, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range: $137 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Breeze Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our peaceful Maui Bed and Breakfast overlooks Maalaea Bay and is just a 10-minute walk from Maui's longest beach. Enjoy a morning swim or snorkel in calm waters, walk or run along this undeveloped white sand beach. Return to a delicious Island breakfast served on our ocean-view lanai, surrounded by coconut palms and bougainvillea. Take in the view of Maalaea Bay while you enjoy fresh ground coffee and assorted teas; tropical juices, fresh island fruit; granola; muffins, scones and assorted breads; and island jams. We choose locally grown and organic at every opportunity. Maui Bed and Breakfast permit #BBKM 2009/0003 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Breeze Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Breeze Hideaway Hotel Kihei
Ocean Breeze Hideaway Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing