We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Breeze Hideaway
Ranked #4 of 16 Kihei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
178 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Ocean Suite for five nights. It was small, but sufficient. The bed was nice and comfy. The extra touches, like the beach towels and chairs, were invaluable. Bob and Sande were really nice and seemed to really want us to have the best experience possible. They are really passionate about their B&B. It was a little loud with street traffic and noise but it mostly went away by night time. There's a private entrance for the Ocean Suite and it's a nice touch. I wish the bathroom was a little more up-to-date and spacious, but for the price, I can't really complain. We ate breakfast with them only once due to early morning tours, and it was very nice....cereal, warm scones, granola, yogurt, and fresh fruit from their garden!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebbie1081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    41
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
206
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We spent 4 days in Maui and choose the ocean suite in The Ocean Breeze B&B. The suite is small, but had everything we needed: free internet access, refrigerator and beach towels (as well as boogie board, umbrella and beach chairs, which we didn’t use). Due to schedule’s constraint we manage to stay for the 8:15 breakfast only once during our stay. It was delicious breakfast with choices of local fruits, scones, yogurt, granola, cornflakes coffee and tea. The “take away” breakfasts that were offered by Bob and Sande in the other three days were tasty and much appreciated. Bob and Sande were very kind and helpful and made an effort to respond to all our needs.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuvals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Susan and I have stayed in B&B's on the Mainland and in Ireland and have many wonderful experiences. We got to know a couple outside Shannon, IR during our honeymoon and they became very warm acquaintances for us. But we never suspected in coming to Maui prior to and then returning from the Big Island for the wedding of our son that we would find family in Kihei......in the persons of Sandee and Bob. Besides being excellent innkeepers (bkeepers somehow conjures up other stinging images) Bob and Sandee were patient and probing listeners to our discussions about the family matrix we were confronting and provided my therapist wife and I with invaluable support and encouragement. Bob even stepped in to furnish my spouse with a back massage that relieved a build-up of tension. There are certainly more impressive places one can stay in Maui than Ocean Breeze (albeit at a minimum of three times the nightly price), but there are none that can offer the relaxed, home-away-from-home and personally embracing atmosphere of Ocean Breeze Hideaway. Sandee and Bob are exceptional people and no sojourner to Maui should leave the island without getting to know them.

Room Tip: Ocean Suite, smaller of the two rooms & with the smaller bathroom, was the most enjoyable. Bewar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paisleigharies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Bob and Sande were wonderful host and hostess and I felt so at home. It is truly a great hideaway with a lovely garden and bubbly fountains. The place is just a mile walk to the beach and to the bus-stop to South Kihei. I enjoyed the peace and serenity of the Ocean suite and love the delicious breakfast choices of local fruits, muffins, cornflakes and teas.

Mahalo Nui Loa to Bob and Sande for the wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The Ocean Suite is the smaller of the two B & B rooms but if you want to enjoy the ocean, go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoForTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2011

The room, the atmosphere and the kindness of Bob and Sande were beyond anything possibly imagined. This was my third stay with them and this is the only place I would come back to on Maui (and I will come back many, many times). Each morning I would go out to the lanai where I was greeted a beautiful floral aroma, gorgeous surrondings, and a great array food and refreshments to start my day. All in all very highly recommended to all!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamaof2angels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
264 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The owners, Bob & Sande were always quick to reply to our emails/questions. This cute little B&B is conveniently located in North Kihei, which allows very easy access to Piilani Hwy & Kihei Road, so if you're headed to Lahaina/Ka'anapali or to South Kihei restaurants or beaches, it is easy travelling. It is in a pretty residential neighborhood and was fairly quiet, with the occasional loud vehicle or motorcycle. (we travel with a noisemaker so we didn't hear much at night) Private parking was great to have as was the private entrance. The beach is about a 10-15 minute walk, but it is a nice walk especially in the mornings. (I think it's Sugar Beach) This is a great beach to walk on, but for beach-bumming during the day, I'd recommend other South Kihei beaches for that. Our room (Ocean Suite) was very clean and comfortable, and had everything we needed. This room did not have A/C, but we had cooler nights and with the ceiling fan and a floor box fan, we kept plenty cool! We loved going to sleep at night with the sounds of the fountain they have in the little sitting area just outside the door-truly felt like we were in our own little "hideaway"! It is beautifully landscaped, very peaceful and calm. We also appreciated VERY much the items to use:cooler, boogie board, umbrella, beach chairs & towels.The highlight for us was the delicious breakfast each morning with a wonderful host, Lisa. (owners were gone, but Lisa was gracious, helpful, accomodating & fun to visit with!) Even though it consists of yogurt, granola, fresh fruit, juice and varying breads everyday, we loved it. We eat yogurt, granola & fruit every day at home, so this was perfect for us and we didn't tire of it. On the mornings we were gone, Lisa sent us with a baggie of breakfast food to take with us, which was very helpful & appreciated. We very much enjoyed our stay here and felt well taken care of - a big Mahalo to Lisa! (and Bob & Sande for sharing their beautiful place with us!)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiverMom18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Me and My Girlfriend stayed here in the Ocean Suite in November, it was our first location for our 3 Month Trip around the world and we absolutely loved this place, It quite simply had everything!! Amazing hosts - Bob and Sandy are so friendly, hospitable, welcoming and willing to help out and give you any advice you need about the island and trips etc! The breakfast was absolutely amazing what with all the fresh fruit ,cereals, Kona Coffee and freshly baked muffins, i still dream about the breakfasts now!!! The location for us we found was the best on the island as Kihei is central to everything, Big beach, Little Beach, Lahaina, Haleakala, Kahului Hana etc. Plus Ocean Breeze is situated in a very quiet and peaceful loaction where in the evenings you can watch the sunset from the Lanai or just take a short stroll down to the beach to watch Maui's amazing sunsets from there if you wish. We had our own parking space and beautiful garden. The room was very clean and comfortable, this place really did feel like home and after driving around the island 9 days im so glad we chose to stay here. I would 100% recommend anyone visiting Maui to stay at the Ocean Breeze Hideaway! We got everything we payed for and more! I know if I ever come back to Maui again (which we really really want to) I know we will be staying here!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McBaldry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
3.5 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
6.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
4.8 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nona Lani Cottages
Nona Lani Cottages
#16 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
4.6 mi away
What a Wonderful World Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Breeze Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Breeze Hideaway

Property: Ocean Breeze Hideaway
Address: 435 Kalalau Pl, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our peaceful Maui Bed and Breakfast overlooks Maalaea Bay and is just a 10-minute walk from Maui's longest beach. Enjoy a morning swim or snorkel in calm waters, walk or run along this undeveloped white sand beach. Return to a delicious Island breakfast served on our ocean-view lanai, surrounded by coconut palms and bougainvillea. Take in the view of Maalaea Bay while you enjoy fresh ground coffee and assorted teas; tropical juices, fresh island fruit; granola; muffins, scones and assorted breads; and island jams. We choose locally grown and organic at every opportunity. Maui Bed and Breakfast permit #BBKM 2009/0003 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Breeze Hideaway Hotel Kihei
Ocean Breeze Hideaway Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing