We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
RxMercedes
Rapid City, South Dakota, United States

Loved staying at Maui Sunset Resort

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 3, 2019via mobile
Maui Sunset Resort is conveniently located to the beach. The pool is awesome and the grounds are well taken care of. Enjoyed the open spaces and beautiful landscaping. We would definitely stay there again.
Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
$269
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $256
  • Skyscanner.com
    $247
  • Expedia.com
    $256
2.3 miles from Maui Sunset - Maui Condo & Home
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$499
$424
Go to your Happy Price
  • Skyscanner.com
    $421
  • Trip.com
    $499
  • Vio.com
    $424
0.8 miles from Maui Sunset - Maui Condo & Home
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Building One Pool at the Maui Vista Resort
$135
No fees just great deals
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
2.2 miles from Maui Sunset - Maui Condo & Home
Free Wifi
Free parking
$244
$214
  • Hotels.com
    $214
  • Priceline
    $214
  • Expedia.com
    $215
3.6 miles from Maui Sunset - Maui Condo & Home
Free Wifi
Free parking
$192
No fees just great deals
  • Skyscanner.com
1.1 miles from Maui Sunset - Maui Condo & Home
Free Wifi
Pool
$837
Fully refundable
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Skyscanner.com
    $837
  • Vio.com
    $837
  • StayForLong
3.4 miles from Maui Sunset - Maui Condo & Home
Free Wifi
Free parking
Newly Renovated Ali'i Ocean View Category
$567
  • Vio.com
    $570
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
3.6 miles from Maui Sunset - Maui Condo & Home
Free Wifi
Free parking
the pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Skyscanner.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
2.2 miles from Maui Sunset - Maui Condo & Home
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Upper Pool at the Kihei Akahi
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Skyscanner.com
2.8 miles from Maui Sunset - Maui Condo & Home
Free parking
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
2.7 miles from Maui Sunset - Maui Condo & Home
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kihei
Reviews (585)
Filter reviews
585 results
Traveler rating
285
189
54
35
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
285
189
54
35
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the kitchen pool and hot tub grounds are immaculate murphy bed every night beach chairs great pool a great place to stay condo unit washer dryer great condo ocean beaches lanai shuffleboard grass island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 585 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2019

Grounds clean. Pool gate ease of entry but could be difficult to exit if an emergency. Close to convenient stores ie grocery stores, post office and other amenities. Apartment supplies equipment for beach, tennis court, golf, and shuttle board activities.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mauiforall, Manager at Maui Sunset - Maui Condo & Home, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2019

Aloha and Mahalo for your review! Thanks for the comment about the pool gate, you'll be happy to know we just updated with a "fob" system, no more turning a key to exit. The gate is needed as we have to keep it safe for small children. Too bad about the housekeeping, please reach out to me our the team to see what we can do better next time.
Mahalo and hope to have you back soon.
Steve
Maui Sunset Vacation Rentals

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2019 via mobile

This is our fourth time back at Maui Sunsets. The first 3 visits and condos we had were terrific. Beautiful views, nice units. Never had a problem up till this time. We booked as we always do directly online on Maui Sunsets website. When you book directly on there, apparently you book through their primary property manager American Resort Marketing. We had booked and paid for a 1 bedroom Superior Ocean View unit. Let me tell you, there is nothing “superior” about it. We stayed in unit A312. You can kinda see there is a body of water out there but that is about it. The palm trees almost completely obstruct the view of the ocean. The only 2 things we have a view of are the pool and the public restroom across the way as you get near the beach. Besides that, this unit is missing a bed. In the living room there is supposed to be a pullout sofa(which there is albeit very uncomfortable) and a Murphy wall bed. The Murphy bed does not exist in this condo and that is where our 15 year old son was going to sleep rather than having a metal bar from the sofa jabbing him in the back. The unit is also in dire need of maintenance. Shower head in the master bath is so short I would have to do a back bend in there to rinse my hair. Other shower head in the second bathroom is literally broken away from the tile and you can pull it out of the wall. I know we did not pay more for a premium more upgraded unit but come on. When you go to the front desk they immediately tell you they know nothing and are not responsible. They give you the name and number of Cheryl who is AMR’s property manager. When we called her the first day, she abruptly cut my husband off and said it was her day off and to call her back the next day at 9:30am when she had the lists of units in front of her. We called her back as instructed the next day and left a voicemail. She did not return our call so we called again and finally she answered. We explained our situation and how we believed this was a partial ocean view at best and not the upgraded higher priced superior ocean view we paid for. We also tried to explain to her the missing wall bed that was advertised. Let me just say Cheryl really didn’t want to hear it. She said she had no more available units. We said well then how can she make this right in compensation because this clearly wasn’t what we booked and paid for. We made sure to tell her this was our fourth time back and we never had a problem before. She did not seem to care and once again cut my husband off on the phone and said she was in the middle of something and would call us back. That was the last we heard from Cheryl. Sooooo, we learned a very valuable lesson. From now on to guarantee you get that beautiful ocean view you need to pay even more for the ocean front. Otherwise, it is a crap shoot on what you get. And they really don’t seem to care about falsely advertising what the condos are supposed to have in ways of views and how many people can legitimately sleep in these units.
I have always loved this place and the meticulously kept gardens and landscaping. And that is all still amazing. However, the condos themselves are a roll of the dice. If you are really looking for that perfect ocean view, don’t be fooled into paying more for a superior ocean view. Go all out and get the ocean front rooms to ensure that picture perfect view.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
6  Thank S9178QTlarag
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mauiforall, Manager at Maui Sunset - Maui Condo & Home, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2019

Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to write a review,
As a repeat guest we do want you to have the same awesome experience and vacation as years past. From your description (I'm sorry I'm not able to see your name on the review) it looks like you did book the superior ocean view, that means 3rd floor or higher and front part of 1 bedrooms. The 1 bedrooms only go to #15 or so, then its all 2 bedrooms at the very end. Perhaps you were in 2 bedrooms before? The premium condos with the renovated interiors do have the murphy bed, the standard condos don't always. Our rental representative on property could have handled it better, I do hope you return again.
Mahalo,
Steve
Maui Sunset Vacation Rentals

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2019 via mobile

Can’t say enough about this complex. It was clean and staff is regularly out making sure things are fine. There are tennis courts, shuffle board, gas grills (also clean), putting green, etc. The unit we rented had bocce balls and there is a ton of open green space for relaxing, yogas, frisbee, bocce, etc. you are right on the water with great views throughout the day. There is a park next to the property but it was never loud and there are only a dozen or so parking spots so I doubt it would get too rowdy. There is a maui bus stop nearby if you needed to get somewhere without driving. Conveniently located in Kihei near shops and restaurants. Would definitely come back to this location

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank MMParrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 7, 2019 via mobile

21 family members stayed at the Maui Sunset for my sister in law’s 50th birthday. All the rooms were fantastic, but I will speak to my personal room which was B117. The owner Tammy was great to deal with. The condo had everything you could want or need on vacation. Beds were comfy. And the location was PERFECT!!! Right across from the pool. The grounds are kept immaculate. We would stay in the his room again for sure and if it wasn’t available, we wouldn’t hesitate to choose another room in this complex!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank CndnCyndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 6, 2019

We've stayed here 4 times now. You can't beat the sunset right out front every night. Beautiful walks along the sandy beach and ancient Koi ponds where you will see many fish brought in and trapped during the high and low tides. So much to do on this resort!

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank cindyleishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews