We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, relaxing place...lousy beach.”
Review of Maui Sunset Condos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maui Sunset Condos
Ranked #7 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great, relaxing place...lousy beach.”
Reviewed August 12, 2005

My in-laws own 3 time shares here and my wife and I have stayed here twice for 2 weeks each during the last two summers. It's really a nice place. It has everything you would need, except quick access to a nice beach. That's really the only drawback. If you place a high priority on quick (walking distance) beach access, this isn't your place. But it's very relaxing, there is lots of open space between the two buildings. Each unit has at least a partial ocean view. The units themselves come quite well stocked with just about eveything you need. There are 6 gas grills on the grounds for everyone to use. We stayed in a one bedroom and it was perfectly clean and everything worked well.

A couple minor problems should be noted. On our first stay here the AC didn't work. But the service people did a good job of replacing it within a day or two.

During our most recent stay from July 23-Aug 4 2005, one of the elevators (closest to our unit) didn't work and apparently hadn't been working for some time. Also, all the trash shutes were closed so we had to carry all our trash down 4 floors.

Also, I don't understand why so many of these time shares and condos haven't upgraded from a VCR to a DVD player. Seems like such an easy and inexpensive upgrade. This is common in many places like this that we've stayed. We brought along our own portable DVD player so it was ok, but they could at least put in a DVD/VCR combo unit for those that still watch VHS (does anyone still do that?)

These minor inconveniences aside, the Maui Sunset is great. Very quiet, plenty of ammenities, a nice pool, a putting green, shuffle board, and 2 tennis courts (as long as you don't mind the gusty winds in the afternoon). There are some great beaches and snorkeling spots close by and plenty of awesome golf courses as well. Also very quick access to several shopping centers.

One side note, there is an awesome farmers market just down Kihei road (to the north). It's open MWF from about 1-5. Big Wave Cafe had great food as well and very close by. Great fish market at Eskimo's and (believe it or not) great local meat selection (from Maui Cattle) at Long's Drugs! Who would have guessed?

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
31 Thank wxman1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    139
    40
    20
    12
See reviews for
153
143
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2005

Our stay at Maui Sunset was fantastic. The grounds are absolutely beautiful with the grass being so green and soft you almost think it can't possibly be real. The pool area is nice, a bit on the small side, but quite adequate with lots of lounge chairs and seating available. Our view was a partial ocean view, but still fantastic from our condo on the fourth floor, especially during sunset.
Our condo was one of the newly remodeled ones, with the upgraded cabinetry and counter tops and was really quite nice. The living room had a nice (but older) couch and a comfy rataan rocker as well as a daybed/sofa near the kitchen. The kitchen is fully stocked with all you may need; you will want for nothing as far as cooking pans, pots, baking dishes, glasses, wine glasses, coffee mugs and utensils. They even had salt and pepper supplied for us :) There is also a stackable washer and dryer located behind mirrored doors in the kitchen, though you will need to buy your own detergent. Dishwashing liquid and dishwasher powder are provided for you. Take a peek in the storage closet and you will even find a vacuum, lots of books to borrow, and a styrofoam cooler. The bedrooms and bathrooms are on the small side, but still quite adequate with two small closets and a locking safe if you need it. Great water pressure from the showers and they were very clean. The only downside was that the bed and pillows were not the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on. The queen bed felt more like a full size and it was quite firm but "springy" when one would move. The ceiling fan was a nice addition to the bedroom as well. Plenty of blankets and towels were available and soap and washcloths were also provided.
Mornings were sublime with a cup of Kona coffee in hand and a homecooked breakfast eaten on your balcony overlooking the pristine grounds and lovely water view. This condo is a fantastic value, and though I would not describe it as "luxurious" it is still quite nice and we would absolutely stay here again. The location in Kihei was great! Not as touristy as Lahaina with some great restaurants within a short distance. Our only problem was that it is a bit of a long drive to Lahaina and Kaanapali where our friends were staying and we would have been just as happy to hang out in Kihei and Wailea and the drive to the airport, Wailuku, to Paia and the road to Hana, or to Haleakala were not that far for us at all.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
22 Thank shimmerchk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2005

We have just returned from a week plus from Maui and Oahu. We spent five nights at the Maui Sunset where we rented a 2-bedroom/2-bath condo for $170 a night plus tax of approximately $26.00 a night. The suite overlooked the grounds and we got to see some outstanding sunsets. The great room (living room, dining area and kitchen was large and spacious while the two bedrooms and baths were adequate. The kitchen was equipped with everything you could possibly imagine from rice cooker to microwave to full range and oven, dishwasher and all utensils as well as a good-sized refrigerator. The suite also had its own washer and dryer. The grounds were beautiful with a large lush putting green like surface with pool, shuffleboard courts, tennis courts, gas barbecues and, yes even a putting green, all well maintained, and plenty of parking for your rental car. The beach backing onto the resort is not useable but there are plenty of other public beaches nearby. There is plenty of shopping and restaurants at all price levels in Kihei. A visit to Lahaina is only an interesting 40-minute ride and strongly recommended. Do be aware that all suites are privately owned and quality can differ between suites but for the most part the ones we did look into all appeared fine. We enjoyed it and do strongly recommend the Maui Sunset.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
20 Thank KA7AOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 21, 2005

I noticed all of the wonderful reviews of the Maui Sunset posted, and felt an obligation to give voice to a fairly negative experience with the rental. I will grant that it is relatively inexpensive for the location and room size and that the closets were stocked with some thoughtful items like boogie boards and a cooler. Unfortunately, that was where my satisfaction with the Maui Sunset ended. During my stay, there was a water leak through the ceiling in the bathroom that required my attention, a few hours and visit from the maintenance staff to correct. Condo staff also entered the room to exchange patio furniture while I was away and never called to let me know they would be entering the premises. They also came back later to assemble the furniture. Although there is a kitchen in every room, they do not allow any food to remain after check-out, which means they do not maintain a stock of even the most basic condiments for visitors. That last point seems a little petty, but it leaves visitors to buy common staples like ketchup, cooking oil, seasonings, etc. Who wants to buy a container of cooking oil just to use it once? Lastly, although the furniture looks OK on first inspection, it is actually pretty well worn and in need of cleaning if not replacement. Overall, I don’t think there is any reason the Maui Sunset couldn’t be a nice place to stay for the money. It just wasn’t for me. Well maintained facilities and some thoughtfulness on the part of the management would have gone a long way.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 25, 2005

What a great bargin! My family and I stayed in room 309 for 1 week in March of 2005 and loved it. The condo was re-decorated beautifully and had everything we needed to keep us comfortable. The grounds were kept very nice and the pool and jacuzzi were clean and nice and warm. This condo was close to the beach and had pool side service for any kind of reservations you would need while you were in Maui. Me and my family would definitely stay at the Maui Sunset again and would request room 309.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2005

One-week stay in late August of '04. Several floors of condo were in process of renovation, and the room we stayed in was already updated. Modest furnishings, all new appliances, overall accomodations were above-average. Great value stay for weekly rate; we had ocean/garden view.

Didn't use all of services available, but will make note to do more research for next vacation - we do plan on using Sunset again in the future.

Helpful?
9 Thank Wyantabouttown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2005

Stayed here with my family last August. What a wonderful 2 bedroom condo, with all of the amenities. Nice and clean. Great view of the ocean and sunset from our lanai. I will tell all my friends to stay here if they visit Maui.

Helpful?
9 Thank localgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
2.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
3.6 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#5 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#11 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
3.6 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
2.0 mi away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Sunset Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sunset Condos

Property: Maui Sunset Condos
Address: 1032 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9197
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Sunset Condos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Sunset vacation condominiums are one of the best deals Maui has to offer. Maui Sunset offers low rental prices for a quality oceanfront property with all of the vacation amenities. Why stay in a hotel when you can have a vacation 'suite' for half the price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Vacatia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maui Sunset Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sunset Condos Hotel Kihei
Maui Sunset Condos Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing