We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best POOL in Kihei - Best landscape in Kihei”
Review of Maui Sunset Condos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maui Sunset Condos
Ranked #7 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best POOL in Kihei - Best landscape in Kihei”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The pool is very large with jacuzzi. Lots of lounge chairs, or tables and chairs. Activity desk is right at the pool. Very helpfull staff with a lot of great ideas and bargains. Close to Kihei Friday Night Party, which is a fun local event. Close to resturants, grocery store, drug store and sports shop. McDonalds is just down the street. Hawaii can be a very expensive place, but the McDonalds still has its dollar menu. This is the best buy in Hawaii. Couple of dollars and you are full. Security guard is there every night, which lets you know you are safe. Parking is free but can become sparse late at night. Nice exercise room. This is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Depending on what you want. The first floor is great with kids. Units that have a number higher tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovthesites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    139
    40
    20
    12
See reviews for
153
143
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed her 6/12 and have just booked another trip back on 7/5-7/12/14. We cannot wait to return. This is such a relaxing place and a great place for families with a great beach and pool area as well as the shuffleboard and tennis courts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misty7202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The condo was everything we had hoped for; location with direct view of sunsets, quite unit with reasonable but good rules, nicely located for eating, highway access and shopping. The only drawback was the air conditioning. A window unit in the bedroom was on a timer with a max of 4 hrs, making it necessary to reset in the middle of sleep. Enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The bedroom did not look out to the outside, but to a hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Walter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Older but clean. Excellent manicured grounds with pool, tennis, shuffleboard, and great views. This place is named "Maui Sunset" for a very good reason - spectacular sunsets over the ocean everyday. Lots of friendly retirees. Close to lots of amenities and shopping. Easy to get to from the airport. After hours check-in process with key in lock box works well. Would stay here again without hesitation.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank schwinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

First visit was in 1979! and have been back every year since. Liked it so much that we bought two timeshare units back to back so that we can spend the month of October!
Grounds are award winning! and are listed every year amongst the best on Maui!
close to everything and Kihei is a quiet area with many great resturants!
The beach in front of the Maui Sunset is not one of the best, but is great for Sail boarding, Paddle boarding and Kite Boarding!

Room Tip: All Rooms have an Ocean view but those close to Kihei Rd can be a little noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GRFDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Just returned from a five nights stay on Maui. This condo is in a great location in South Kihei. Nice ocean views and the grounds are beautifully maintained. The average age is 55 and older.....not really for kids. Maui Sunset is a nice, quiet and peaceful homey atmosphere. The one bedrooms are very spacious. Still don't get why the sliding doors in the bedroom thou. I don't recommend opening them as it's not secured at all. All and all I would go back as it's close to just about everything where you want to base yourself on the island without the craziness of Kaanapali Beach....Aloha!

Room Tip: Go for the ocean front location.....it has fantastic views and just beautiful sunsets! Watch you ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillyBoy1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sask
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Currently staying here with 3 children and kids cannot do anything because of all the ornery senior ladies who have never seen a kid before, we have very well behaved children. Accomodations are good but unfortunately due to other patrons we would not stay here again

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank northerntctlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
2.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
3.6 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#5 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#12 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
3.6 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
2.0 mi away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Sunset Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sunset Condos

Property: Maui Sunset Condos
Address: 1032 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9197
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Sunset Condos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Sunset vacation condominiums are one of the best deals Maui has to offer. Maui Sunset offers low rental prices for a quality oceanfront property with all of the vacation amenities. Why stay in a hotel when you can have a vacation 'suite' for half the price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maui Sunset Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sunset Condos Hotel Kihei
Maui Sunset Condos Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing