We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Condo right on the water”
Review of Maui Sunset Condos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maui Sunset Condos
Ranked #6 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
LA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Condo right on the water”
Reviewed August 19, 2008

We had a wonderful time at the Maui Sunset. Loved being able to walk right out of our patio door and onto the soft grass (we stayed on the ground floor). There was a putting green right outside our door and the grass flows right down to the beach. The pool was great and we used the gas fired bbq almost every night.

One suggestion: take advantage of the free orientation meeting held most mornings at the poolside. They don't just try to sell you trips (though they will book them) but also include a lot of useful information and current island news.

Location is especially good for families, as there is lots of shopping, good food, fast food and whatever else you might need within easy drive. Each unit has a kitchen, which saves a lot of money and provides whatever food the kids are used to. Three good supermarkets are within a mile or so. Not as much fancy, high priced shopping as other parts of the island, but Kehei is where a lot of the locals live.

Not to be missed is Alexander's, a small fresh fish restaurant with all the charm of a hot dog cart. Old building, a few tables outside and the best fish on the island. Don't be put off by the look of the place, try the fish and you'll be back again before you leave.

All in all, a wonderful trip made better by the great location and room at the Maui Sunset.

  • Liked — Wonderful location
  • Disliked — Internet hard to use.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Dick_in_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    143
    42
    20
    12
See reviews for
157
144
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2008

We booked this for a week through Armed Forces Vacation Club./RCI last minute during Navy Space A trip Dallas-Hawaii. Condo in a great location. We were on third floor in middle. Looked like unit was recently updated, kitchen well equipped. Clean, spacious it had Master with bath and hall bath for other bed. Nice Lanai overlooking grounds that are like golf course grass. From balcony could see both sunrise and sunset and moon at night with palm trees in profile. Beach is not good swimming beach as other reviews confirmed, nice beaches to the South and nearby. Sundays beaches popular lots of locals and tourists hard to park then. Unit well equipped, Kihei is a great location for Lahaina and other Maui travel. We rented convertible for week from Advantage at 50% off-well worth it in Maui. We did Road to Hana tour lots of scenery and curves. Got up early to see sunrise on Haleakala volcano well worth it. Best restaurant in Kihei is Stella Blues. In Lahaina went to Kimo's three times for views, Mai Tai's and pupus. Enjoyed Quicksilver Molokai snorkeling trip and Royal Lahaina Luau.

  • Liked — Nice Maui Condo and Grounds
  • Disliked — Nothing hope to return
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RichDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

Spent a wonderful week at the Maui Sunset in unit A409 which has a spectaculare ocean view. It has a fully equiped kitchen, washer dryer, one bedroom, two bathrooms and sleeps 5 people comfortably. The complex is on the ocean side of the street so its less than a three minute walk across the beautiful grounds to the shoreline, and about 4 blocks from various shopping. It has a large pool, tennis courts, BBQ's, workout room, putting green, manicured gardens, activity desk and other amenities that make vacationing easy. I would highly recommend this resort and unit to any body looking for a great place to stay in Maui.

  • Liked — Beach access
  • Disliked — Drapes were not blockout
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank willisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shore, MA
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2008

We stayed in Maui for 12 days! This was our first visit to Maui/Hawaii. We spent 10 days of it here at the Maui Sunset. I must admit I was scared after reading some negative feedback/comments on the place. When we pulled into the parking lot I was really disappointed thinking I was going to really not like this place. We were too early so they wouldn't let us check in. So we drove around the area to find out what was around us, etc. We came back to check in and again, I was very a little skeptical after pulling into the parking lot--you just have to remember you are pulling into the BACK of the condos. It felt like we were pulling into the Days Inn at first. We checked and finally got to our room. We opened the door and we both were in complete shock! This places is absolutely gorgeous! WE LOVED IT!!!!!! Our condo was flawless! It was clean, well-maintained and decorated very nicely! It felt very homey and warm. Then to step out on the balcony and see the beautiful surroundings just topped off the stay. The grounds are manicured so perfect we called it the "Brady Bunch Grass". Theres so many fun things to do here. Tennis courts, shuffleboard and a well taken care of pool. I cannot say enough good things about this place. The closests were stacked with things for us to use, including swimming fins, pool toys, coolers and games and tons of other things. The kitchen had everything you would ever want to use. I would give this place 5 stars but there were just a few problems we encountered...The first one was the front desk & the activities desk. When we first got there they were actually not very nice at all! We then booked 3-4 activities through the activities desk. I got very ill during our vacation and had to rebook one of our activities and we literally were on the phone and bounced all over the place at the condo for a good hour. The activities woman was on vacation after we booked these things and had no one to fill in for her. They should really have someone filling in if someone goes away! It was very aggravating! But, it all worked out and we finally took care of it. The other bad thing was you CAN'T swim at the beach..I heard two different stories on why you cannot swim there...Also, we were told when we got there the elevator was out and the pool was closed 4 days out of our week stay. Both things were closed due to renovations. Now, when your staying on the 4th floor and theres no elevator..try bringing up your groceries..it really was exhausting! What a bummer, too to find out you can't go swimming in your own pool! It wouldn't have been that bad if you could swim in the ocean there but you can't. With those only being the few minor complaints I'll DEFINITELY being going back to this place! Its perfect! Next time, I'll make sure the elevator and pool are working and book all my activities myself! Thats just my point of view...You will not be disappointed with this place...We both were happily & pleasantly surprised on how gorgeous it really was!!

  • Liked — The beautiful room & the gorgeous grounds and views of the ocean!
  • Disliked — The pool being closed and no warning of the elevator being shut down for renovations!
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krazyrkamping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville. TN
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2008

Vacationed at Mauii Sunset for a week in July 2007. we had a 2-bedroom 2 bath and it was perfect. less than $2000. for the week,. can't say enough for the location. The only downside, which we knew, was no beach. believe it when they say it, that line of grass you see is it, there is no beach, only slimey seaweed water with high waves. aloha.

Helpful?
Thank SVtravelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2008

My husband and I are always looking for value and we felt this was a very good value. The decor is dated, but who cares? We were only renting it for a week. We did not hear noise from neighboring units. The place was quiet with quiet hours between 10 p.m. to 8 a.m. Nice pool with free books available and lovely views. We never had a problem getting a chaise. Most of the units have an ocean view. We enjoyed our unit because it was not too close to the ocean/pool or street. Trash chute down the hall was very convenient. Well manicured grounds. We did not notice a strong seawood odor others have complained about and enjoyed sitting on the ledge near the water at sunset. Because the rooms are small most probably have queen size beds but do have a daybed in the living area. Our unit was well equipped. We liked having two TVs and a VCR, plus beach towels. Location was only 10 minutes to Wailea and convenient to all amenities one would need on a condo stay. Overall we enjoyed our stay enough to come back in the winter only. Note; air conditioning is window units and ours was on a four hour timer, which could be problematic in summer months. Bring earplugs if the noise from the AC will bother you while you are sleeping. Internet access available for a fee, but in our case was not reliable.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank cherylroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2008

WE absolutely loved our condo. It was clean, tastefully decorated and well maintained. We had a partial view of the ocean from our lanai and from the beach viewed the most awesome sunsets and watched the whales play. We would definitely book with Elmer again and have no problem in recommending this particular unit.

  • Liked — cleanliness and affordability
  • Disliked — too far from other amenities
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank macleandeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
2.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,126 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#8 of 62 in Kihei
607 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#5 of 62 in Kihei
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Maui Kamaole
Maui Kamaole
#3 of 62 in Kihei
679 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#16 of 62 in Kihei
937 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Sunset Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sunset Condos

Property: Maui Sunset Condos
Address: 1032 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9197
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Sunset Condos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Sunset vacation condominiums are one of the best deals Maui has to offer. Maui Sunset offers low rental prices for a quality oceanfront property with all of the vacation amenities. Why stay in a hotel when you can have a vacation 'suite' for half the price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maui Sunset Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sunset Condos Hotel Kihei
Maui Sunset Condos Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing