We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't come with kids!”
Review of Maui Sunset Condos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maui Sunset Condos
Ranked #8 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have stayed here 15 years ago before we had our own kids and had a great time. Now we're back with our kids and have a different take on it. The resort is great if you're 55+. The pool is the main issue. We met 4 other families with kids while there at the pool. All the dads are having fun with their kids until the "pool nazi" comes and tells everyone not to use snorkels and masks in the pool, no lifting the kids up out of the water or basically have any fun. Every time we tried to play with our kids in the pool we were told to stop. You can only sit and soak. Good luck when you have kids 9 and under! All the parents kept joking the whole time after this to "not have fun in the pool." Even some older women with grand kids thought it was ridiculous! So if Tracy is at the pool...BEWARE! We won't ever stay here again because of this.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KMPmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauiforall, Manager at Maui Sunset Condos, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Aloha, Thank you for coming back to stay at the Maui Sunset after 15 years. The property is one of the few condos with such a large pool on the ocean front. The pool rules are set by the ownership to maximize the enjoyment for all users. Without a lifeguard certain activities are not allowed such as using snorkels, throwing objects. Part of the fun of Maui is watching the families spending the day at the pool. Jumping, swimming, playing tag, monster on the loose. Having a great time.
Looks like you had a nice experience otherwise, I do hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 231 of 430 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

we loved everything about this condo the rooms were perfect if you wanted to cook everything was in the kitchen and the grounds were just beautiful as was the pool area.We would go there again and again perfect for families to

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We are actually in the middle of our stay here but we like it so much I figured it was worth the time to tell others. Checking in was pretty much a breeze. The office was full but we were welcomed with a smile and only waited a few minutes (less than 5 to be precise). We were given the keys and a brief rundown and the informed of the welcome by the pool the next morning. When we asked where the closest grocery store was we were given precise directions with a smile and a joke about getting her a coke. We found the room very clean and modern. The kitchen was well supplied with pots, pans and all the utensils you could need. We noticed we were one beach towel short and were about to call when there was a knock at the door. The housekeeper was dropping off our missing towel. (We joked about the room being bugged) .
At the meet and greet the next morning Tracy was informative and helpful( we even won a cocktail cruise) . She was willing to tell us about the best beaches for snorkeling , best restaurants to go to for local food and help us line up our activities( the only thing she gets payed for). The grounds are fantastic. The beach is small and not great for swimming but its clean, quiet & great for morning walks. We used the grills that are on the premises and found them clean and in good working order. All the staff we've encountered has been extremely friendly and helpful. If we come back to Maui we will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Seawolf64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We just got back from a family wedding in Hawaii and a lovely stay at the Maui Sunset. We have stayed here several times through the years; the condos can vary depending on who you're renting from. This time we stayed in 412B through Kumulani Vacations, and we couldn't have been happier. The unit was completely updated and beautifully decorated, with a great view. The grounds are gorgeous and there are plenty of places to shop and dine nearby. We especially loved the fish tacos at Coconut's Fish Cafe!

Having a lovely condo unit like this really enhanced our vacation. We would rent it again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AVE09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We loved our stay - nice spacious room, beautiful grounds, nice pool and jacuzzi, wonderful view. Also the location was wonderfully convenient. Also perfect comfort mattress in the main bedroom.

The only reason we didn't give them a 5 is because we rely on a fitness room, and that was below par - dark and not fresh-smelling, no water or towels. The weights had peeling paint so that flecks of paint would land on me as I used the weights. I didn't mind about no TV, but some folks might have. And there's this unusual extra step of having to check out and return a key within an hour each time you want to use it, rather than having our room key open it, which I'm used to. This didn't work at all when we needed to use it early for a cruise or our return flight. So we ended up spending extra money to use the South Maui Fitness Center which was lovely and recommended, only 5 minutes away.

But other than that, top notch and we'd stay there again. Just update your fitness center, guys!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CommunityMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We went through VRBO and found 421B owned by Joan and Paul. This was a treasure! The condo had one of the best views of the whole place, looking straight out into the bay. On our right was a wonderful view of the swimming pool. The condo has two bedrooms, two bathrooms and was beautifully decorated, updated, clean and simply perfect. The large lanai is fantastic for breakfast (lunch and dinner for that fact) and you can NEVER get tired of the nightly show by Mother Nature of the sunset -- a totally different show every dusk! Maui Sunset is very well looked after with immaculate grounds. It's central location is another huge plus -- an easy drive from the airport, south Maui, Road to Hana, Lahaina. It was truly a magical week in Maui and the accommodations were a big part of it.

Room Tip: For the best view, get a room ending in 21 or higher (e.g. 421, 422, 423).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We loved our stay at the Maui Sunset. We had a wonderful ocean view from our room. The condo was well stocked and very clean. The concierge was a great help with booking activities and choosing restaurants. We found Kihei to be a perfect location to start from when in came to sight seeing around Maui. We would definitely stay in the Maui Sunset again when we return.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aimrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
2.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,189 reviews
9.4 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
573 reviews
9.4 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
3.6 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
3.6 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 60 in Kihei
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Sunset Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sunset Condos

Address: 1032 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9197
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: $203 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Sunset Condos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Sunset vacation condominiums are one of the best deals Maui has to offer. Maui Sunset offers low rental prices for a quality oceanfront property with all of the vacation amenities. Why stay in a hotel when you can have a vacation 'suite' for half the price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maui Sunset Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sunset Condos Hotel Kihei
Maui Sunset Condos Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing