We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great Christmas stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maui Sunset Condos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maui Sunset Condos
Ranked #6 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
ohio
Level Contributor
140 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“great Christmas stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We rented unit 215B through AA Oceanfront for two weeks over the holiday.We had a partial ocean view.
The unit was as shown in the photos, beach rental well equipt and comfortable. Agree with the comments about the grounds, just beautiful. The grills were handy and cleaned daily by the hard working staff. There is someone at the poolside activities desk to arrrange tours as well as rent paddle boards. The condo has shuffle board, bocci and tennis and we didn't miss having a beach to swim at as we traveled to other locations.
A few of the residents even did a little celebration on Christmas morning, posing as Santa and Mrs. Claus for the kids.
The location was great for trips to the store as well as excursions to Kapalua and Wailea.

Room Tip: liked the B building as the afternoon sun looks like it would really heat up the A building. Units e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    139
    40
    20
    12
See reviews for
153
142
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Beautiful sunsets, great facilities.
We were lucky enough that someone had a condo on the ground floor so that we could have dinners sitting outside while having an eye on the kids playing in the garden.
It's a shame you can stay out in the garden after 10pm (1am on nye), although security was nice enough with us and allowed us to stay later a couple of times as we weren't too loud.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soussou_ellou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamstown.ma
Level Contributor
201 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in A122 a three bedroom unit. Upgraded kitchen and furnishings. Bathrooms OK. Great ground floor lanai. Tennis courts 100 ft. From room. Nice pool area. Great for families. Rates reasonable. Beds comfortable

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wino873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Maui Sunset was a great choice for our vacation to see family. The condo was clean, plenty of room and sleeping quarters for the cousins to send a few nights together. We loved the pool and hot tub. Best of all was the fantastic beach 50 paces from our door. The beach was shaded, the water shallow and several miles for walking the beach was right outside the door. It was like a private beach with outstanding sunsets. My son has lived on the island for 10 years and did not know this beach existed. The Maui Sunset staff gave a great orientation to the island and offered significant savings on activities they were willing to book for us.
My only critique of the stay would be; sometimes parking was tight overnight, had to take own trash to the 'chute' (grandkids actually liked this), each room in the condo had its own airconditioner and there was no maid service. But the value for the price was unbeatable. Check in and check out was simple and hassle free. I am very grateful for the car rental deal and will take advantage of this the next time I visit.
We enjoyed the Maui Sunset very much and even left behind a Geocache for you to find. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gogrammyrlmlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Maui Sunset is a great place to stay while in Kihei, it is on the Northern end of town and is a very nice and CLEAN and very well maintained condo. The beach at the condo is nice, although quite rocky (if you walk either way about .5 mile there are much sandier beaches). I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the facility and games available to play outdoors.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes, CA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at the Maui Sunset using a Timeshare trade for a week in December 2012. There are 2 side-by-side buildings angled outward so both buildings have great views of the ocean. Building "A" has a slightly better view of the sunset, while building "B" has more shade (a benefit during the afternoon sun). In general, the place is GREAT and includes free WiFi! Our unit was a 1-bedroom with a Queen bed. The unit was spacious, furnishings very nice, and everything was clean. There was also a balcony with a table and 4 chairs all facing the pool and beach. Every unit is angled to have a beautiful view of the beach and SPECTACULAR sunset (thus the name of the resort). The grounds are beautifully groomed! The pool is heated and large. The pool area has many tables with umbrellas and chairs and also includes an "activities desk" that is staffed every day in case there is any interest in doing any of the many escorted island activities. The beach is beautiful for wadding and taking long walks alone the edge of the surf, but the shallow/rocky bottom is not conducive for swimming. Within a few blocks is a nice shopping center with a grocery store, drug store, restaurants and shops. There are many nice 'swimming' beaches about 1-2 miles down the road. It's a 90 minute drive up to the Haleakala crater, a must see as long as you pick a day when the top of the mountain is visible with little or no clouds. We would definitely book into this resort again! A nice recommended nearby restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner is Stella Blue's. Also nice about 1-2 miles away is Ruby Tuesday's. Take a drive up the coast to Lahaina and walk along Front Street with its many quaint shops right along the ocean. Great places to eat are Bubba Gump's and Kimo's. Aloha!!!

Room Tip: The "B" building has better afternoon shade coming into the living room. The "A&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vic_and_Leila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

The beach at the resort is so-so but the location is great the pool well maintained and the tenis courts in great shape. An awesome place if you have kids with activities on most evenings and a great resident yodeler in November

Room Tip: The building has 5 stories so if you do not want to wait for the elevator or take the stairs every d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
2.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
3.6 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#8 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#10 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
3.6 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
2.0 mi away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Sunset Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sunset Condos

Property: Maui Sunset Condos
Address: 1032 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9197
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Sunset Condos 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Sunset vacation condominiums are one of the best deals Maui has to offer. Maui Sunset offers low rental prices for a quality oceanfront property with all of the vacation amenities. Why stay in a hotel when you can have a vacation 'suite' for half the price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Maui Sunset Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sunset Condos Hotel Kihei
Maui Sunset Condos Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing