We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable quality in Q309”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston at the Maui Banyan
Ranked #6 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2014

It wasn't fancy, but it was reasonably priced and clean. It was a short walk from the main beaches in Kihei and there were several great restaurants nearby. The rooms and the outside hallways were dated, and it's time for some remodeling. However, I got what I paid for and what I expected.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaddogMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Aloha! It appears you were in a timeshare not managed by Aston but we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Maui Banyan.

Mahalo Nui Loa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 781 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

The location is superb. Across the street form Kam II beach. The complex is nice with garden and 2 pools. This complex has many individually owned unit that are rented out/ time shared out. Sadly the unit we stayed in is mediocre. The old faded carpet looked dirty with areas brown from unvacuumed dust. (I guess whoever did the vacuuming did a lousy job). There are stains on the bed cover. Walls need a paint job. None of the bathroom fans work.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank p l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to write about your recent stay. It is hard to tell by the comments if you stayed in an Aston unit or not, as we do not have timeshares in our program. Please do not ever hesitate to bring these sort of concerns to management’s attention in one of our Aston units. Either way we are so glad to hear how much you enjoyed the property, location and pools.

If you should choose to visit Maui again we ask that you give us another chance to exceed your expectations. You may contact me directly so that I may personally handle your next reservation.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Natalie Chappelle
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This property is clean but very old. The worst internet connection I have ever had anywhere, could barley check my email and then it was only first thing in the morning I could ever get the internet to work. Our stove and oven only worked some of the time. No central air conditioning, the air conditioning unit was very noisy and we would have to turn it off to try to enjoy the balcony. Some of the front staff were rude, we actually heard one of the girls say she didn't want to be here today.
On the positive side it is centrally located in Kihei and right across from the ocean. The pools were nice and usually quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue972013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to write about your recent stay and bringing these concerns to my attention. I wish I would have had the opportunity to rectify them while you were still here as our goal is to meet or exceed the expectations of all guests.

In regards to the room being clean but dated I am very glad to hear that the housekeepers are doing their best in maintaining all rooms. The room booked was a standard meaning minimal to no renovations. If you would prefer a room that is moderately to completely renovated then choosing our deluxe units would most likely meet your expectations.

We greatly apologize for the internet service as it was not working as efficiently as it should have. Although, we are very excited to announce that the Maui Banyan Homeowners Association has since changed internet providers and upgraded the Wi-Fi on property. Each individual unit now has their own high speed internet router for better speed and reliability.

Thank you for also including your positive feedback regarding the property, location and pools. If you should choose to visit Maui again we ask that you give us another chance to exceed your expectations. You may contact me directly so that I may personally handle your reservation.

Mahalo Nui Loa

Natalie Chappelle
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Really nice property, two nice pools and outdoor gas grills make it convienient for a family barbeque. The grounds are beautiful, across the street from a nice beach for swimming and snorkeling. The air conditioner was a bit underpowered, but otherwise the room was very nice. We stayed in a one beedroom suite with a sleeper sofa for the kids.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dandlwelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to write this review about your recent stay with Aston at the Maui Banyan. I was able to locate your reservation and will make sure to have the maintenance department takes care the A/C concern.

We are so please to hear how much you enjoyed the property, location and amenities. We hope to again provide future accommodations for you and your family.

A hui hou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Maui Banyan is a combination of condos, timeshares and hotel rooms. Aston manages only part of the complex. The unit Q401 is on the 4th floor in the building second from the end, farther away from the beach. It is still fairly close to the beach - 3-5 min walk through beautiful gardens. The Kamaole beach is nice, but not equipped with anything. We bought an umbrella and rented 2 chairs for $10.00 (each) for a week (don't rent in the hotel, they are way more expensive!) The unit had one bedroom suite+regular hotel room (master) making a two bedroom unit. One AC in the living room and one in master. 2 lanais. Oceanview mostly from the large lanai - beautiful sunsets!!! You can easily fit 6 adults in this unit and maybe even rollaway (we didn't need one). The pools are nice. Nice grounds and BBQ areas. If your room doesn't face the parking garage, you will get some garden and volcano view. Location is the best. Most people at the front desk were nice. Natalie, the manager, was very helpful.
Pros:
1. Location (!) and large spacious clean rooms.
2. Super comfortable beds and clean linens and towels.
3. Kitchen is very well packed - we didn't need to buy a thing. They even provided dish soap and paper towels. No need to buy shampoo or soap or even laundry detergent.
4. The staff is very responsive, especially housekeeping. You only ask once for anything.
5. No problem with parking, even though we stayed through the busiest season in December.
6. Very quiet place. There is no any noise from outside except for bird singing which we didn't mind.
Cons:
1. One of the reasons we chose this place over the others was free wifi. But... If you rely much on Internet, forget it! In this unit in particular Internet is unacceptable. It is slow and constantly drops, especially in the evenings and on weekends. Once it drops, you have to go through rather complicated login process again and again, with lengthy email and password - very annoying! So we relied mostly on our 4G. We tried to complain, but the manager said they couldn't do anything about it. They agreed to give us a $5 credit per day, which was ridiculously low, but still better than nothing. BTW, Internet worked much better at the pool area.
2. The "newly remodeled" term is probably several years old for this unit. The carpet in the living room was old and smelly. In master bedroom they removed the carpet and put tiles, it's much nicer. The lanai doors open with difficulty and make a loud squeaking sound. All doors (living, bathroom, lanai) got broken at some point, but were fixed quickly.
3. The AC was so loud, we had to turn it off at night and use ceiling fans. Also, AC had only one setting - couldn't increase or decrease the air flow.
4. There were tiny ants in the kitchen. We had to hide food. But no big nasty roaches or anything like that.
5. The pool towel check in/out was weird. You have to go to the front desk for that and stand in line, and there are always lines there. You have to do it every day, or they will charge you $25 for each towel.
6. Too expensive!!! We payed over 4K for 11 nights - not a three star hotel price! If you rent the same type of unit from a private owner, you won't pay as much. In addition, they charge $15 a day resort fee that includes Internet that we couldn't use.

Overall, not bad. I give it three stars because this is what it is - three star hotel. If they took care of what was described above, I would give it 4 or 5 stars. I would stay here again if I could get it for less.

Room Tip: Q401 is close to the elevator - very convenient. If you want to be closer to the beach, ask for buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cool_alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Aston at the Maui Banyan. We are so please to hear how much you liked the location, room, amenities and staff.

We are also very excited to say that the Maui Banyan Homeowners Association has heard your concerns with the internet service. As of Feb. 1, 2014 each individual unit will have their own high speed internet router for better speed and reliability. As always, all Aston guests will be able to take full advantage of this complimentary service and therefore, it is not included in our daily amenity fee.

Rest assured any other concerns you have mentioned are currently being addressed. Should you choose to return to Maui we hope to have the opportunity to again provide you with accommodations. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly so that I may personally ensure your expectations are met.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Natalie Chappelle
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Although the location and exterior of the Maui Bayan is good the interior of this resort is terrible and the photos are very misleading compared to what you truly get. We rented a 2 bedroom deluxe and assumed the photos spoke to what we would actually have for vacationing purposes. NO COMPARISON to what were shown. The property was extremely dated, paint was chipped off the walls and was dirty. Filthy, shag carpeting was throughout...which was horrible. We were very disappointed and would never return to the Maui Banyan. We would not recommend it to anyone looking for vacationing in Maui. Suggestion, Do your research, make sure what you see in photos is what you will be getting.

Room Tip: Tip: Do not stay at the Maui Banyan if you're expecting deluxe accommodations. Low standards is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JNLLike2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, as we consider all comments helpful and extremely important in achieving our goal of complete guest satisfaction.

We are very sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations and hope that you otherwise enjoyed your time on the beautiful island of Maui.

Mahalo Nui Loa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Aston at the Maui Banyan was a really nice place to stay at. We stayed in a two bedroom condo, which was perfect for us, since our two twenty-something sons were with us. They had a separate entrance door, so they did not disturb us when they came in late. It was a very short walk to the beach. The pool was nice. It was not glamorous, but it was adequate, had a nice, stocked kitchen of dishes, etc. The rooms had nice balconies to sit at. We enjoyed our stay there, and would book there the next time we visit Maui.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Aloha! Mahalo for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Aston at the Maui Banyan. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your time and look forward to your next visit!

A hui hou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
0.6 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,192 reviews
22.7 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,655 reviews
22 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#2 of 60 in Kihei
552 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#15 of 60 in Kihei
978 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at the Maui Banyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at the Maui Banyan

Address: 2575 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8697 (Formerly ResortQuest at the Maui Banyan)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: $197 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at the Maui Banyan 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious suites across from the beach. This affordable condominium resort on Maui's South Coast is within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. Access to swimming pools, outdoor barbecues and tennis courts and proximity to golf and the beach make this modern resort especially popular with families and larger parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston at the Maui Banyan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At The Maui Banyan Hotel Kihei
Resortquest Maui Banyan Kihei
Resort Quest Maui Banyan
Aston At The Maui Banyan Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing