We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maui Banyan condo stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aston at the Maui Banyan
Ranked #10 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We recently visited the Maui Banyan for 4 nights. We had stayed there a number of years ago. The great things about the place are that it is clean, spacious and quiet. The grouns are beautiful and well kept. You can also walk out the front exit cross the road and you're at the beach -- no parking problems to worry about!

The downsides to this visit was that the air conditioner is in the living room part of the condo so the person sitting ont he sofa or sleeping on the sofa sleeper gets frozen out while those in the bedroom need more cooling. We also had toilet issues -- the toilet didn't stop running almost the entire time even though we brought it to the attention of the front desk the fist morning. Luckily there were two doors between the bathroom and our bedroom so we didn't have to hear it run while we were sleeping, but the air noisy air conditioner took care of that. The maid missed cleaning our room one day and left 1 washcloth for the 3 of us another day.

I would stay here again simply because of the location on the island, it's nice to have laundry and a full refrigerator and the distance to the beach -- plus lots of places to eat close by.
The beds were also good including the mattress on the sleeper sofa that our 16-year-old found comfortable.

Room Tip: I hear you should ask for rooms on lower floors as the air conditioning not as good on upper levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alohajmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 765 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

I stayed here for a number of nights with my boyfriend, his brother and my best friend. For our configuration (one couple, two singles), our apartment was perfect! My boyfriend and I had a very comfortable large bed, and our own ensuite, while the other two shared a large room, with two double beds, and had their own ensuite. We had a very generously-sized living area and beautiful and fully-equipped kitchen. We had a big TV, great kitchen appliances, and an air conditioner. We also had beach chairs and equipment provided.

Our apartment was in building G (which I was very excited to hear after reading other reviews on here!). Building G is the closest to the beach! We were on the ground floor, which meant we were close to the pool and reception. This is a great spot!

The staff here were amazing. The reception staff were very helpful (especially when they did some rearranging for us after we decided just before our holiday that we would stay here for longer so the staff organised it so that we could remain in the same room!). I've got to give a special shout out to the fantastic staff member at the activities and bookings desk (I might be wrong, but she MAY have had a German accent?). She helped us book our luau and was SO helpful and lovely. If you plan on doing any activities while in Kihei, book here! And she was able to get us a discount too.

The pool was lovely (and they have two pool and barbecue areas, which is good, as this place is big!).

The only negative about this place (and really, it's Kihei in general) is that everything is so far away! My friend and I walked from the accommodation into town and it was one long, hot walk! Just keep that in mind when you stay here.

For food, we recommend the cute little creperie Massimo's Crepes in the marketplace.

Room Tip: Building G! It's at the front of the complex and closer to everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HannaRose12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Aloha and thank you for sharing about your stay at the Aston Maui Banyan Resort.Guest comments are very important and we appreciate the opportunity to respond.

Many guests have a preference on the location of their room and we do our best to honor those types of requests based on availability. To our future travelers please feel free to contact us with your requests and if we can't accomodate it at check in we will surely accomodate it as quickly as possible.

The units at the Aston Maui Banyan can accommodate 1 to 6 people and if we are made aware of the configuration of bedding requested we will do our best to accomodate your needs.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for posting for others to see what you liked. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Mahalo from the staff and managment

Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We rented a 2 bedroom deluxe partial ocean view condo with 2 bathrooms and fully equipped kitchen. This was our 5th visit. Our condo was spacious, clean, modern, comfortable and in good condition. The grounds and amenities including BBQ's and outdoor entertaining areas (for which you pay a $10 per day amenity fee within your condo tariff) are well maintained and clean, and the landscaping makes the Maui Banyan an oasis in what would otherwise be an arid setting. The staff were extremely helpful (especially Sherri and Jennifer at reception) and always courteous and we will stay here again. Our condo was a deluxe partial ocean view in G/H Block and was possibly renovated not long ago. We consider we had good value for money. South Kihei is a place we like but it's not the nucleus of a resort area so you need to consider what you expect to do within walking distance. But there good restaurants and shopping within a couple of hundred yards. Also the Maui Banyan is close to the resort area of Wailea and it's up market shops and golf courses. Best of all Kama Ole #2 Beach is just across the road. But if you don't like the beach the Maui Banyan has 2 swimming pools with spas.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe partial ocean view condo towards the front of the development. This is because the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NuggetSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Aloha and thank you for sharing about your stay at the Aston Maui Banyan Resort.

Many guests' return to us each year and we are glad to have them back. Maui Banyan is like a home away from home for many and they have become not only our guests but also part of our Ohana (family)

We are glad that you enjoyed yourself again and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Mahalo from the staff and management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the Maui Banyan, unit G210 in Kihei. The condominium was perfect (well equiped, very clean, private balcony, air conditioned, pool, BBQ gas, supermarket at 1 mile of the condominium and you only need to accross the street for the beach.

I strongly recommand it.

Patrice & Nathalie
Montréal, Québec, Canada

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Le_grand_voyageur55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Thank you for sharing about your recent experience at the Aston Maui Banyan Resort. We appreciate guest comments and are glad to respond.

There is not enough that we can say about our location and property amenities that help guests' to enjoy their visit.

Being in Hawaii, beautiful beaches, shopping and restaurants nearby as well as lovely grounds, home cooked meals in the unit and outdoor grilling to name a few.

We are glad that you enjoyed yourself and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Mahalo from the staff and management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Four weeks before, called Reservation number from their website, "two bedroom 2ba, deluxe suite". Great! Two weeks ahead, decided to call long distance to MBanyan office instead of reservation number, not a friendly voice. "1 bd suite". I explained that I reserved a 2bd. MB office lady said "for that price, you deserve a 1bd not 2bd, did not honor AAA". I called back Central Reservation and they were very kind and did not understand why the confusion with MB. It took 3-days. The MB office lady kept saying the MB reservation lady at their office was not in today, repeated again, and again. Central Reservations called me back and said the price was honored (I reserved online which glad I did to prove pricing) for what I requested. I was ready to battle when I arrived in person. I reserved through Aston btw, thank you Aston Central Reservation.

Arrived with website receipts, names and numbers. Received a overly smiling lady and checked us in. I was hesitant and questioning everything, glad to have key card and price I reserved for. So nervous that I didn't focus the request of 2nd floor or higher and away from elevator four months ago. We got bottom floor and next to elevator but shortly after a day, was happy to be where we were. Do to the price conflict, we faced the parking lot, however the greenery covered our site.

We were in "P" building, room P110, close to second poolside. The grounds were beautiful and ground workers were extra nice with respect to visitors. The office needs to learn from them about respect and kindness. Don't ask anything from office, won't get anywhere. DVDs were scratched, DVD player did not work. The glass door to Lanai was very noisy as well.

2bd, 2ba Deluxe suite was spacey. We shared with another couple so they took King. They complained that there are no AC in room, closed door to living room is see-thru (we taped up newspaper), bathroom was small, no private TV. The master has private Lanai with table n chairs, Washer n Dryer between Room and bath. My hubby and I stayed in other room with two doubles. We received a small table n chairs, TV, and private Lanai with two chairs, big shower but felt small, no shelves for bathroom accessories.

Kitchen was good size, pans need to be replaced. Glass plates n drinks, not allowed at pool though. No spices, oils, nothing except one paper towel for the week. We shopped at Costco for food, beach towels, alcohol. Walmart was good for paper products, hair, tshirt souvenirs (ABC or Halos too). Do not shop at Safeway, shop at Foodland for fresh meats n salads. Paid $2.50 for lime at SW and ABC sold for .79 cents.

Walking distance to beach, checked out all beaches and each one needs to be visited. Walking distance to Restaurants such as Freddie's Mexican, Moose McGilly, Freddie's has excellent breakfast, expensive Deli, expensive 808 restaurant. Lots of other places to eat nearby. We grilled at the pool twice with Mahi Mahi we caught. The pool area was very cleaned, friendly security, and didn't have to wait to grill. The pool closest to the ocean seem to be more busier with families.

Parking lot is nearby, hard to find a spot at certain times. Most of spots are reserved filled with covered cars. The lot is very low and bit scary when driving in. There are shopping carts for us to use from our car to the room, which was nice.

Not a new hotel but got a great price for the value.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Judylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Aloha and thank you for sharing about your experience at the Aston Maui Banyan. Guest comments are very important and we appreciate the opportunity to investigate and respond.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. According to our records the information downloaded from the central reservations office was originally for a one bedroom however it appears they did make a correction after you contacted them and the reservation was then updated to a two bedroom as you have noted.

There are a number of ways to reserve at the Aston Maui Banyan and if something is not received or confirmed as the guest reserved we will do our best to make the changes or assist in making contact with the appropriate wholesaler, travel agent or internet booking site to get it resolved as quickly as possible.

We regret that we are not always able to make the changes directly at the property if it was not booked directly at the property however we will assist in making contact with the right person to expedite the appropriate change.

Rooms are assigned based on availability and category booked however we do our best to accommodate guest requests when noted. According to our records there were no notes requesting a specific location for the unit however our staff are willing to work with guests' to make them as comfortable as possible and as quickly as possible.

We appreciate your business and hope to serve you again in the future. Your experience was surely not the norm and we do apologize and have shared your concerns with our staff for any necessary corrective action.

Please feel free to contact us directly to assist with your next reservation and we will follow up to ensure that everything is in order.

We hope that you were still able to enjoy your stay despite any disappointment and we look forward to a future opportunity to serve you again.

Mahalo from the staff and management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed in the one bedroom suite and found it wonderful. It had a bit of an ocean view, nice kitchen, great bed, nice furnishings, great hotel staff, good pools and jacuzzi. All in all, this was an excellent value for the money and very conveniently located to the beach (across the street) and walking distance to local restaurants. You'll like it.

Room Tip: Spring for the one bedroom, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TedinHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Aloha and thank you for sharing about your experience at the Aston Maui Banyan Resort. Guest comments are very important and we appreciate the opportunity to respond.

The beach is located directly across from our property and it is one of the highlights of our guests' stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and encourage others that there are also shops and restaurants nearby making the Maui Banyan a convenient location as well.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Mahalo from the staff and management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Check in went fine. Nice size rooms, great location. Kam 2 beach is across the street. Nice sand, lots of space, not many people. The grounds were beautyful.

The not so good. The A/C was very loud and under powered. A small window type unit for a two room condo. Needed one per room.

The maid service left a lot to be desired. We had reservations for three. Only two sets of towels. Had to get another set at the front desk. The next day no maid service. Said the truck that does the laundry was late. Why couldn't they make up and clean the room and bring the towel later. The next day, they came, gave us one wash cloth, two hand towel and three bath towels. Not soap or shampoo. Never got any soaps or shampoos.

Also day one after using the toilet, it kept running. Looked in the tank, broken parts. Called the desk. Said it would be fixed. After four days, it never was. Also the RESORT FEE includes coffee each day. Never got coffee after the check in day.

If only they would have done their job it would have been a great place at a great price.

Staff was friendly. Check out was fast and OK.

Room Tip: Don't expect a great view. I don't think the top floors A/C will cool the rooms. Rent a sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corvair65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Aloha and thank you for sharing about your experience at the Aston Maui Banyan Resort. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate the opportunity to investigate and respond.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. We regret that without a name or room number it is difficult to research our records however we will share your concerns with our staff for any necessary corrective action.

Upon registration we do notate the number of guests staying in a unit and housekeeping uses this information when replenishing towels and linens during a guest stay. We do ask guests to confirm the number of people staying in the unit during the registration process and we are sorry if our records did not match the actual guests in the unit.

Maid service does vary based on the type of reservation made and guests are informed of their type of maid service during the check in process. Guests are important and regardless of the type of maid service, if a request is made during the guest stay we will do our best to accomodate it as quickly as possible. Certain reservations may require a fee for maid service if it is not originally included in the type of reservation.

We appreciate your stay and hope that you still enjoyed your visit to maui despite your disappointment.

We hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future and encourage you to contact us directly with any questions or concerns so that we can follow up directly with you.

Mahalo from the staff and management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
0.6 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
21.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,228 reviews
22.7 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#14 of 60 in Kihei
966 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 60 in Kihei
540 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at the Maui Banyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at the Maui Banyan

Address: 2575 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8697 (Formerly ResortQuest at the Maui Banyan)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: $199 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at the Maui Banyan 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious suites across from the beach. This affordable condominium resort on Maui's South Coast is within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. Access to swimming pools, outdoor barbecues and tennis courts and proximity to golf and the beach make this modern resort especially popular with families and larger parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston at the Maui Banyan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At The Maui Banyan Hotel Kihei
Resortquest Maui Banyan Kihei
Resort Quest Maui Banyan
Aston At The Maui Banyan Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing