We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston at the Maui Banyan
Ranked #12 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the Maui Banyan, unit G210 in Kihei. The condominium was perfect (well equiped, very clean, private balcony, air conditioned, pool, BBQ gas, supermarket at 1 mile of the condominium and you only need to accross the street for the beach.

I strongly recommand it.

Patrice & Nathalie
Montréal, Québec, Canada

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Le_grand_voyageur55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you for sharing about your recent experience at the Aston Maui Banyan Resort. We appreciate guest comments and are glad to respond.

There is not enough that we can say about our location and property amenities that help guests' to enjoy their visit.

Being in Hawaii, beautiful beaches, shopping and restaurants nearby as well as lovely grounds, home cooked meals in the unit and outdoor grilling to name a few.

We are glad that you enjoyed yourself and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Mahalo from the staff and management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    297
    135
    45
    38
See reviews for
236
274
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Four weeks before, called Reservation number from their website, "two bedroom 2ba, deluxe suite". Great! Two weeks ahead, decided to call long distance to MBanyan office instead of reservation number, not a friendly voice. "1 bd suite". I explained that I reserved a 2bd. MB office lady said "for that price, you deserve a 1bd not 2bd, did not honor AAA". I called back Central Reservation and they were very kind and did not understand why the confusion with MB. It took 3-days. The MB office lady kept saying the MB reservation lady at their office was not in today, repeated again, and again. Central Reservations called me back and said the price was honored (I reserved online which glad I did to prove pricing) for what I requested. I was ready to battle when I arrived in person. I reserved through Aston btw, thank you Aston Central Reservation.

Arrived with website receipts, names and numbers. Received a overly smiling lady and checked us in. I was hesitant and questioning everything, glad to have key card and price I reserved for. So nervous that I didn't focus the request of 2nd floor or higher and away from elevator four months ago. We got bottom floor and next to elevator but shortly after a day, was happy to be where we were. Do to the price conflict, we faced the parking lot, however the greenery covered our site.

We were in "P" building, room P110, close to second poolside. The grounds were beautiful and ground workers were extra nice with respect to visitors. The office needs to learn from them about respect and kindness. Don't ask anything from office, won't get anywhere. DVDs were scratched, DVD player did not work. The glass door to Lanai was very noisy as well.

2bd, 2ba Deluxe suite was spacey. We shared with another couple so they took King. They complained that there are no AC in room, closed door to living room is see-thru (we taped up newspaper), bathroom was small, no private TV. The master has private Lanai with table n chairs, Washer n Dryer between Room and bath. My hubby and I stayed in other room with two doubles. We received a small table n chairs, TV, and private Lanai with two chairs, big shower but felt small, no shelves for bathroom accessories.

Kitchen was good size, pans need to be replaced. Glass plates n drinks, not allowed at pool though. No spices, oils, nothing except one paper towel for the week. We shopped at Costco for food, beach towels, alcohol. Walmart was good for paper products, hair, tshirt souvenirs (ABC or Halos too). Do not shop at Safeway, shop at Foodland for fresh meats n salads. Paid $2.50 for lime at SW and ABC sold for .79 cents.

Walking distance to beach, checked out all beaches and each one needs to be visited. Walking distance to Restaurants such as Freddie's Mexican, Moose McGilly, Freddie's has excellent breakfast, expensive Deli, expensive 808 restaurant. Lots of other places to eat nearby. We grilled at the pool twice with Mahi Mahi we caught. The pool area was very cleaned, friendly security, and didn't have to wait to grill. The pool closest to the ocean seem to be more busier with families.

Parking lot is nearby, hard to find a spot at certain times. Most of spots are reserved filled with covered cars. The lot is very low and bit scary when driving in. There are shopping carts for us to use from our car to the room, which was nice.

Not a new hotel but got a great price for the value.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Judylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Aloha and thank you for sharing about your experience at the Aston Maui Banyan. Guest comments are very important and we appreciate the opportunity to investigate and respond.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. According to our records the information downloaded from the central reservations office was originally for a one bedroom however it appears they did make a correction after you contacted them and the reservation was then updated to a two bedroom as you have noted.

There are a number of ways to reserve at the Aston Maui Banyan and if something is not received or confirmed as the guest reserved we will do our best to make the changes or assist in making contact with the appropriate wholesaler, travel agent or internet booking site to get it resolved as quickly as possible.

We regret that we are not always able to make the changes directly at the property if it was not booked directly at the property however we will assist in making contact with the right person to expedite the appropriate change.

Rooms are assigned based on availability and category booked however we do our best to accommodate guest requests when noted. According to our records there were no notes requesting a specific location for the unit however our staff are willing to work with guests' to make them as comfortable as possible and as quickly as possible.

We appreciate your business and hope to serve you again in the future. Your experience was surely not the norm and we do apologize and have shared your concerns with our staff for any necessary corrective action.

Please feel free to contact us directly to assist with your next reservation and we will follow up to ensure that everything is in order.

We hope that you were still able to enjoy your stay despite any disappointment and we look forward to a future opportunity to serve you again.

Mahalo from the staff and management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keaau, Hawaii
Level Contributor
104 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed in the one bedroom suite and found it wonderful. It had a bit of an ocean view, nice kitchen, great bed, nice furnishings, great hotel staff, good pools and jacuzzi. All in all, this was an excellent value for the money and very conveniently located to the beach (across the street) and walking distance to local restaurants. You'll like it.

Room Tip: Spring for the one bedroom, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TedinHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Aloha and thank you for sharing about your experience at the Aston Maui Banyan Resort. Guest comments are very important and we appreciate the opportunity to respond.

The beach is located directly across from our property and it is one of the highlights of our guests' stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and encourage others that there are also shops and restaurants nearby making the Maui Banyan a convenient location as well.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Mahalo from the staff and management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miinnesota
Level Contributor
212 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Check in went fine. Nice size rooms, great location. Kam 2 beach is across the street. Nice sand, lots of space, not many people. The grounds were beautyful.

The not so good. The A/C was very loud and under powered. A small window type unit for a two room condo. Needed one per room.

The maid service left a lot to be desired. We had reservations for three. Only two sets of towels. Had to get another set at the front desk. The next day no maid service. Said the truck that does the laundry was late. Why couldn't they make up and clean the room and bring the towel later. The next day, they came, gave us one wash cloth, two hand towel and three bath towels. Not soap or shampoo. Never got any soaps or shampoos.

Also day one after using the toilet, it kept running. Looked in the tank, broken parts. Called the desk. Said it would be fixed. After four days, it never was. Also the RESORT FEE includes coffee each day. Never got coffee after the check in day.

If only they would have done their job it would have been a great place at a great price.

Staff was friendly. Check out was fast and OK.

Room Tip: Don't expect a great view. I don't think the top floors A/C will cool the rooms. Rent a sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corvair65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Aloha and thank you for sharing about your experience at the Aston Maui Banyan Resort. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate the opportunity to investigate and respond.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. We regret that without a name or room number it is difficult to research our records however we will share your concerns with our staff for any necessary corrective action.

Upon registration we do notate the number of guests staying in a unit and housekeeping uses this information when replenishing towels and linens during a guest stay. We do ask guests to confirm the number of people staying in the unit during the registration process and we are sorry if our records did not match the actual guests in the unit.

Maid service does vary based on the type of reservation made and guests are informed of their type of maid service during the check in process. Guests are important and regardless of the type of maid service, if a request is made during the guest stay we will do our best to accomodate it as quickly as possible. Certain reservations may require a fee for maid service if it is not originally included in the type of reservation.

We appreciate your stay and hope that you still enjoyed your visit to maui despite your disappointment.

We hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future and encourage you to contact us directly with any questions or concerns so that we can follow up directly with you.

Mahalo from the staff and management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Thank you for such beautiful grounds at the Maui Banyan resort.... but thats all I really have to say nice about this one.

We arrived on Saturday and we were told housekeeping would be midweek..which to us said Wednesday. There were plenty of towels to use although we didn't find them until Thursday actually. Anyway, housekeeping didn't show up until late day on Thursday and we were checking out Saturday. By that point, we had already done most of the cleaning up and were frustrated not knowing when they would arrive.

The walls here... PAPER THIN!! We could hear everything next door through the joining door (P108 was our unit) and it was frustrating at 6:00 a.m. We tried to stay quiet ourselves but no matter what we did, the noise next door was even louder.

The AC in the bedroom never did work. We called maintenance who brought another very old and rusted out unit and the room was never comfortable.

And lastly, on our checkout day, well, I guess a dog or a child couldn't use the proper facilities... a very large 'dropping' was in the hallway which just solidified to me this place is not really that clean.

All in all, it served the purpose of a place to stay but thats about it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DMS C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Aloha and Thank You for sharing about your recent stay at the Maui Banyan. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate the opportunity to investigate and respond.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you may have experieced during your stay. Unit P108 is not in the Aston rental program however we will share your comments and concerns about the unit with the appropriate management company for their direct response to you.

The association at the Maui Banyan consistently monitors our grounds and common areas. We are sorry that you had a less than pleasurable experience in the hallway however we assure you that they regularly check all areas to assure its' cleanliness and follow up on any concerns as needed.

We hope to see you at the Maui Banyan in the future. Your experience is not the norm and we will share your comments and concerns with all staff, association and appropriate management company for unit P108.

Mahalo from the staff and management of the Aston Maui Banyan Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in May. It was booked as part of a package through Hawaiian Airlines. We stayed in a basic hotel room in unit G. The room was extremely clean, kept up and appeared it had been recently updated within the past few years or so. There is a $10 a night amenity fee, but we knew about that ahead of time. The grounds are beautifully kept up and the sandy beach is just across the street. They have DVD's available for free in the lobby and the room had a DVD player. Our room had a nice flat screen on the wall. We had a great time staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KKevin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Aloha and Thank You for sharing about your experience at the Aston Maui Banyan Resort. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we are glad that we have met your expectations.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

A Hui Hou (until we meet again)

The staff and management of the Aston Maui Banyan Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed here for 7 days and chose a hotel room. The room was small but adequate and the only complaint we would have is the dvd player would not work properly (after trying a few movies) and the front desk was notified but maintenance never showed up.

Room Tip: If you want more space, don't choose a hotel room; get a condo for additional charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgordonus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Aloha and Thank You for sharing your comments and concerns about your recent stay with us. Guest satisfaction is very important and we appreciate the opportunity to investigate and respond.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for your inconvenience with the DVD player. Maintenance is available at the property and we are sorry that they were unable to assist you with this concern.

Please be assured that your review will be shared with our staff for any necessary corrective action.

We hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future and we thank you for staying with the Aston Maui Banyan resort

Mahalo from the staff and management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
0.6 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,116 reviews
22.0 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
22.7 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,072 reviews
22.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
21.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at the Maui Banyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at the Maui Banyan

Property: Aston at the Maui Banyan
Address: 2575 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8697 (Formerly ResortQuest at the Maui Banyan)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at the Maui Banyan 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious suites across from the beach. This affordable condominium resort on Maui's South Coast is within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. Access to swimming pools, outdoor barbecues and tennis courts and proximity to golf and the beach make this modern resort especially popular with families and larger parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston at the Maui Banyan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At The Maui Banyan Hotel Kihei
Resortquest Maui Banyan Kihei
Resort Quest Maui Banyan
Aston At The Maui Banyan Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing