We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, nice accomodations”
Review of Luana Kai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luana Kai Resort
Ranked #22 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
pittsburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great location, nice accomodations”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Lovely location, no beach access but the room was nice, close to shops and restaurants and very near the main highway. Our condo was a little dated but very comfortable and the layout was very nice. Had a lovely loft bedroom. No air conditioner but the ocean breeze was lovely.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    64
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
67
54
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High River
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful month at the Luana Kai. My husband, myself and our 15 month old twins arrived Jan 5. Everything about the resort was great, (i'll get into that later) except one thing.

I had read several reviews about this property on Trip Advisor and was warned that some of the suites were not very clean. I requested to our rental booking company the suite be thoroughly cleaned before we arrived, and i was told the cleaning staff at the resort are very good. Not the case.

We were in a great location. Building A, ground floor suite, #103. Very nice suite and recently updated with a new kitchen, appliances, granite etc...and the view was incredible. The suite however was only surfaced cleaned at best. A note is left in the rooms by the maid, if something isn't up to snuff for you. So, i called her back. She cleaned again...and let's just say, i then had to get back to the grocery store and buy my own cleaning supplies and do it myself.

There was a thick layer of grime, dust, hair (not mine) and dead bugs all over the baseboards, inside cupboards, closets, under and behind all furniture, in the kitchen cabinets etc. It was totally disgusting. Normally i wouldn't get so bent out of shape about this on a holiday, but with two little babies running around the getting into everything, this had to be cleaned. Long story short -- if you are planning on staying at this resort, i would recommend calling the resort before and speaking directly to them about getting a suite thoroughly cleaned and mention the reviews written about the cleaniness. I don't know if i just got a really lazy maid who cleaned that suite, but there was zero attention to detail. And by the way...i spoke with several others holidaying and there...and they too had to do their own cleaning.

Alright, enough about that. The rest of our holiday and everything else about the resort was great. The grounds and pool/bbq area are awesome. At night, the torchs are lit and the ambiance is really cool. The location of this resort was perfect for us. It's in the quieter part of Kihei, which if you have kids is very nice. The beach in front is not the greatest for swimming but it's an excellent running/walking beach. Our babies liked throwing rocks into the water there! And many great beaches are only just a short drive away.

One piece of advice....South Kihei road is a busy one, and you don't want a room too close to the road, because the traffic will keep you up at night. There are 4 buildings all shaped in a "U". At the top of the "U" are buildings A and D (oceanfront) then B and C are at the bottom of the "U". You'll want to stay away from the rooms in buildings B and C starting at "01" For example: B101,201,301...same with C building. Hope this makes sense. There are still great rooms that are nice and quiet in the B and C...you just need to be closer to the beach to get away from that noisy road. One more thing: if you like sun on your deck, Building C doesn't get much just because of the layout.

All in all...i would recommend this resort and we will likely return to it, not next year, but hopefully the year after. I'm just going to come prepared with my rubber gloves and Lysol!

Room Tip: Get onto VRBO and try and rent directly from the owner...it will save you some money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank wagonsHighRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

First let me say that the common areas including the pool were very clean and well maintained. The staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful and we would likely stay at the resort again. We had four families in separate condos - 3 were great. We stayed in A202. The best thing I can say about A202 is that the view was excellent. However, the owners have made a decision to not vent their dryer - this has resulted in a filthy closet area that sheds dust balls any time you walk by. The roofs are covered with hanging dust stalactites and every nook and cranny needs a deep cleaning. As someone previously mentioned in their review, the bed was horrible. When we called we were told that it had been fixed - this means they put another foamy on top of a sagging wreck. My wife and I took turns sleeping on the couch which was more comfortable. Finally the patio furniture was all rusty and left marks on our swim suits when we put them out to dry. As I mentioned we would stay there again, but not in this condo and my advice is that you make any concerns known to the staff as soon as you get there -maybe they can help.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jsamoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

i travelled alone and felt perfectly safe and comfortable in this resort. I had an ocean view walk out. It is helpful to understand the trade winds and that they blow in dust beyond belief. this could be some of the comments about the cleanliness. If the windows are open, your condo is going to be dusty. my condo was somewhat reno'd but still dated. it was not a problem for me. i really appreciated the 'late check out' arrangement and the no-hassle methods of the office. i actually checked in the day before i checked out. highly recommend the fish taco at Coconuts. this was the perfect location for me.

Room Tip: get an ocean view BUT understand that it will be windy and you will get dust.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank xyz693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

This was our first and last trip to Luana Kai. Our group rented 4 units at Luana Kai and 3 out of the 4 were very dirty! We selected Luana Kai because the grounds looked beautiful from the pictures. We wanted a nice grassy place for our 4 yr old to run around and our baby to crawl about. The grounds were very well kept and the pool area was great. The condo we stayed in however was another story. We chose unit C105 as it was a 2bdr ground level & we could sit on the lanai while our 4yr old ran on the grass. This was only good thing about this condo. It was very dirty and outdated. The carpet needs to be removed asap. Whoever is cleaning this unit does the bare minimum. The fridge was clean inside (top very dusty), the towels were fresh, and the linens appeared to be clean but the amount of dust was unbelievable! There had been absolutely no vacuuming beside or under the twin beds as we found old socks, tissues and other papers plus thick dust and my 4yr old found a dried up contact lens on her night table. The closet where the washer and dryer are was gross thick with dust. The kitcahen light was missing the plastic covering. I cringed everytime I saw our 4yr old and baby playing on the carpet but didn't really have a choice and just tried to keep it to a minimum. C210 was rented by my parents. They had orginally booked a ground level condo but when they arrived were told they had been moved as the shower in the unit they booked was not working. C210 was badly outdated as well and dirty. My mom found an empty box of condoms in the dresser drawer, and sections of baseboard were missing. My inlaws stayed in D204 and although it has been updated in was filthy as well. Our friends stayed in A307, this unit was beautiful and clean. The beach infront is a great walk or run in the morning and the green space between the units and the beach is a park that is kept nice as well. If you are planning to stay here I would request the the unit be cleaned the day you arrive and ask for an updated unit.

Room Tip: Stay away from C105 & B210
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Our unit was double booked when we first arrived, forcing us to move to another place. When we did finally get settled in unit D304, we found it to be dirty and our first night we got bitten by bed bugs. After catching a couple bugs and confirming this was the case, we were promptly moved to another location. Would not recommend this particular unit and have *heard* that other units have also had problems with bed bugs. Bugs are awful, very annoying and difficult to get them out of your luggage.

Room Tip: Have *heard* that many rooms may have problems with bed bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 403travler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Everytime we have a family reunion, we have stayed here. For the last 10 years at least. Rooms are always well kept/stocked. This time I lucked out and got the master suite and my bed was oh-so-comfy! Kids LOVED the pool. Beach is "eh" but it's still nice to be able to get to the ocean (Makena "Big" Beach is a GREAT option nearby). The woman who checked us in last time was very nice :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CocoMango83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.1 mi away
Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea
0.3 mi away
Koa Lagoon
Koa Lagoon
#17 of 62 in Kihei
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#6 of 62 in Kihei
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aloha Aku Inn & Suites
Aloha Aku Inn & Suites
#27 of 62 in Kihei
23 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
0.7 mi away
Hale Kai O'kihei
Hale Kai O'kihei
#33 of 62 in Kihei
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luana Kai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Kai Resort

Property: Luana Kai Resort
Address: 940 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9198
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Luana Kai Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable rates combined with a great location, in-condo conveniences, and on site amenities make Luana Kai your home away from home.Welcome to Luana Kai, your source for leisure by the sea. We have so much more than hotels can offer for so much less.Enjoy FREE Broadband High Speed Wired and Wireless Internet Access at our great individually owned condo resort in sunny Kihei Maui.We rent out 66 units out of 113 total. 1,2 and 3 bedroom condo's with and without AC. All rentals have their own kitchens and in-room laundry. Cable TV, Telephone, Internet. Most units have DVD players and large flat screen TV's.Every unit is owner decorated. Refresh, exercise, relax, and tan at our Outdoor pool and recreation with whirlpool, spas, barbecues and more.Keep fit on pro tennis courts, shuffleboard and putting green. Free equipment.Enjoy the Oceanfront beach for windsurfing, whale watching, picnics and sunsets.Stroll the enormous grassy lawn for sunbathing, reading, kite flying, picnics or games.It's always a Great Day at Luana Kai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Luana Kai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luana Kai Hotel Kihei
Luana Kai Resort Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing