We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value in Maui!”
Review of Koa Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Koa Lagoon
Ranked #14 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Reviewed April 26, 2010

We had been warned ahead of time not to expect much from the outside of the building. Actually, it was more non-descriptive than ugly. However, our apartment was wonderful. It was very modern with a great lanai. Parking is very easy and the Koa’s location is very convenient Haleakala Volcano, Wailea, Road to Hana, etc. Because the building itself is a little older, the air conditioning in individual units which were a bit noisy and hard to control. There are no real services as these are condominium units and staffing is minimal but friendly. No maid service. The room was very quiet and really delightful. You can walk over to the excellent Indian restaurant (with a great waterfront view) next door and there are many restaurants a short drive away.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Historiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Koa Lagoon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 142 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2010

We recently stayed at Koa Lagoon room 201 for spring vacation with 4 teenage boys. While we would have liked the beach to be swimable, we did enjoy the sunsets, sunrises and the calmness of the days. Road noise a little loud after dark, but we would most certainly stay there again!! Great kitchen and having a washer and dryer a plus! Beaches for boogie boarding, surfing or general water play are close by in any direction. Loved that it was close to Costco and Safeway!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank lovetotravel433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We stayed at Koa Lagoon in September 2009. We had a wonderful time. The room's view was spectacular. (We stayed on the 5th floor). The room itself was pretty basic, but the kitchen was great. I wish the beach would've been more of a "swimming beach", but it was beautiful to look at. We did have to drive pretty much wherever we needed to go (restaurants, grocery stores, etc). The one thing I didn't like was the check out time. I thought it was noon, but the cleaning people surprised us by knocking on the door at 10:45am asking if we were about to leave. Well, needless to say we had to rush around for the next 15 minutes trying to gather up everything. A noon check out would be much more customer friendly. Overall the place was nice, but I think next time we'll find some place closer to a nicer beach.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmweis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2010

The Koa Lagoon was a perfect place for my recent trip to Maui with my wife, two kids and parents. The townhouse has two rooms with king beds, plus a pullout couch in the Living Room. It has a full kitchen, so stop by the local Safeway (less than a mile away), and stock up for the trip. No need to eat at expensive restaurants all the time. The best thing about Koa Lagoon: the rear balcony facing the beach and the west. The balcony makes for amazing sunsets every night, right from your own townhouse. While the beach is not the greatest (there are many amazing beaches nearby), the pool is lots of fun, and a great place to wind down after a day of touring the Island. Kihei, where Koa Lagoon is located, is a great hub to explore the Island, pretty much centrally located. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtb2inky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We spent 8 nights in unit #506 at the Koa Lagoon this part Christmas and would highly recommend it as an excellent place to stay while on Maui.

After doing a lot of research on where to stay in Maui, we decided on Kihei and after reading the many raving reviews of the Koa Lagoon we decided to give it a try. Our criteria was to be able to look out at the ocean from our lanai (deck) and not spend too much for the view. The Koa Lagoon was ideal. The view is spectacular and you won't find it elsewhere in Kihei for less money. We liked being away from the business of central Kihei and also appreciated that we had unobstructed views of the ocean (which you won't get anywhere else in Kihei as most condos are across the road from the beach). Our unit was clean, well stocked and we never heard our neighbours. The free wireless internet and long-distance calls are bonuses you won't find at most places. Linda (the manager) made the process very easy and was most helpful in all of our travel arrangements.

When we make our next trip to Maui, we won't bother looking elsewhere and will book in again at the Koa Lagoon for a perfect trip.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SimiSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

Four couples, three teenagers and three units made for a wonderful trip to Maui. Nicely appointed units, very clean and had everything; very nice swimming pool and great beach for walking. We had unit 207 and it was on the end. We recommend an end unit because it will be quieter than one in the middle. Next time I recommend unit 307, very beautifully appointed with two large bedrooms. The only thing was that it was not close to any thing (stores, etc.) so we had to drive all over. But this was not a bad thing at all. Good snorkeling off the beach. My husband, who was having a big 0 birthday, loved it.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaMNevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We have stayed at Koa Lagoon several times now and thoroughly enjoyed it. The condos are well equipped and face the ocean. The view is great! The location is convenient to many "attractions" and shopping. The only downside is the beach there is not the best for walking or swimming; however, it is fairly close to South Maui beaches .
The office manager, Linda, is great!

Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank ladydi50CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
2.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kohea Kai Resort Maui,
0.4 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#7 of 62 in Kihei
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#6 of 62 in Kihei
614 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#5 of 62 in Kihei
533 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nona Lani Cottages
Nona Lani Cottages
#16 of 62 in Kihei
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Lagoon

Address: 800 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9069
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: $184 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koa Lagoon 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Koa Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Lagoon Hotel Kihei
Koa Lagoon Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing