We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great average place”
Review of Koa Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Koa Lagoon
Ranked #17 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Portland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great average place”
Reviewed April 1, 2011

This is our second year staying it this place, we were probably the youngest couple there, but the place is very nice, good location right by the water, but the beach is not the greates, but we just like being near the water and it's close to downtown kihei. It is nothing really fancy, but I tend to think we are picky people and we really like this place. We have stayed in two different condos and both we were happy with. This time we stayed in 302 and we liked it's looks better than our last stay, but that's just because it had an updated kitchen. But from the two condos we have stayed at here we would recommend this place to couples. The road is noisy, but we always had the air conditioning on at night which drowned out street noise which I know some people complain about here. I would definately recommend this place. And Linda the manager is very sweet.

Room Tip: Room 302 has a nice updated kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JAL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    30
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
39
50
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

This is a good place because its right on the ocean/beach, unlike many hotels in Kihei. Thats a plus. Its also close to shopping, etc. Some rooms are renovated, some aren't. Check-out time at 10 am is too early as most return flights back home are late at night. Rental Manager was not terribly friendly or cooperative in allowing us to have a late check-out. Furthermore, we had several maintenance issues in the suite that were not attended to in a timely fashion by management. The grounds are OK - communal BBQ was nice. Pool area was OK. The beach is not nice and is not suitable for swimming or snorkeling. You have to hit one of the public beaches for that. I guess I would recommend the place but its nothing special.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craiger9929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Loved it! The condo was sooo comfy, and you just can't beat the view. So very lovely and serene. One other note--Linda Barron, who we booked the unit with, has been so very kind and helpful. She is a terrific asset.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MickiJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Unit #605, although nicely decorated with a good view, has an extremely loud ventilation system that remains on 24/7. They are trying to fix it, but until they do, don't rent this particular unit. The rental manager treated us terribly!

Beach is rocky and unswimmable.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OneFunTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Koa Lagoon is a great choice if you are looking for good facilities and a beachfront place.

We wanted something that was right at the beachfront and had a kitchen, laundry, internet in the rooms. We looked for hotels and condo rentals for many days before we decided on Koa Lagoon. Many hotels in Kanapali don't seem to have a microwave. For
some others we were not sure we would get an ocean-front room that is in good condition, especially after looking at various reviews on this site.

We booked our air, hotel and car rental separately. We especially wanted to book the hotel directly as it seemed that way it was more likely that they actually gave what they promised.

We had a great experience at Koa Lagoon. First and most important, everything was very clean and well maintained. All the facilities worked properly. We went to the beach a lot so needed to use the laundry often. The kitchen is really well equipped. Wireless internet signal was weak, but the wired one was fast and there was never a problem. Parking was always available near to the room. All their rooms are beachfront. Ours was on the first floor, so it was easier to walk to beach.

Their manager was always quick to respond to any emails and phone messages, even after their office hours.

They have an Indian restaurant (Monsoon) next door which was good. There are some more places on a short drive south. There is a Safeway and some other stores also on a short drive.

Looking back we thought staying at Kihei was a good idea. This was our first trip and most things we wanted to do- snorkeling (Ma'alaea harbor), Helicopter tour (OGG airport), drives to Hana and Haleakala are much quicker from Kihei. We did go to
Lahaina/Kanapali a couple of times (for the Atlantis submarine ride/Front Street and for the Luau) and it seemed we would spend 20-30 minutes more each way if we had stayed in Kanapali instead of Kihei. Access from Kihei looked quicker to the
attractions we were interested in.

We highly recommend Koa Lagoon!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tripfan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

The unit was well equipped and the people in charge were very pleasant. I can't wait to go back! Koa Lagoon is a great value, and while not the "elite accommodations" it is a most enjoyable and well stocked condominium. Everything was there that made our stay a memorable one. I will recommend Koa Lagoon to anyone who plans to go to Maui. It is convenient to all areas that we wanted to see.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MooShari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

We had been warned ahead of time not to expect much from the outside of the building. Actually, it was more non-descriptive than ugly. However, our apartment was wonderful. It was very modern with a great lanai. Parking is very easy and the Koa’s location is very convenient Haleakala Volcano, Wailea, Road to Hana, etc. Because the building itself is a little older, the air conditioning in individual units which were a bit noisy and hard to control. There are no real services as these are condominium units and staffing is minimal but friendly. No maid service. The room was very quiet and really delightful. You can walk over to the excellent Indian restaurant (with a great waterfront view) next door and there are many restaurants a short drive away.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Historiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
2.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,127 reviews
6.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.4 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#6 of 62 in Kihei
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#8 of 62 in Kihei
607 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#5 of 62 in Kihei
523 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kohea Kai Resort Maui,
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koa Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Lagoon

Property: Koa Lagoon
Address: 800 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9069
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koa Lagoon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Koa Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Lagoon Hotel Kihei
Koa Lagoon Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing