We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous March Sunbreak Unit A104”
Review of Kihei Bay Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kihei Bay Vista
Ranked #34 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Unit A104 was our destination for 9 nights in mid March. We live in Everett, Washington and the difference in weather, over which we had no control, was marvelous. Kihei Bay Vista is just across the street from the beach. Flip flops and bathing suit and a towel were all that was needed to turn into a "local." An ice chest was easily carried to the sand and the day was layed out.
This unit was marvelously prepared. Cooking was easy both in the kitchen and at the outside propane BBQs. Most of our eating was done on the lanai and at sunset we watched the evening settle over the water and across the grounds. By taking advantage of Costco in Kahalui we made great use of the BBQs. Dishwasher, microwave and coffee pot all worked great.
The ceiling fans kept the need for air to a minimum. The bedroom is very well decorated, the bed and bedding were marvelous and the new shade on the large window made adjusting to your exact needs very easy.
Easy access to the parking made grocery carrying easy and we did eat a lot.
We were on vacation. We didn't demand much. We received much more than we anticipated.
A104 is a delight. The grounds, pool and outside cooking area are excellent. The inside has the touch of a talented woman.
Have no fears if you book this site. It is lovely.

CookISlandLvr

Room Tip: Ground floor has very few steps to access the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CookIslandLvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 74 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Was so pleased with our unit a104. Very clean nicely furnished and an ocean view from the lanea better than shown in photos. Only compliant is there was no paper towels no laundry soap and only a partial roll of toilet paper. These are minor. The other is there was supposed to be Internet but no password left to get on. That is a bigger offense. But overall very pleased and would stay again

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowdoc2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is not one of the top end resorts on Maui but for the money you pay you will be VERY pleased! It's quiet, very clean, and every single thing worked and was better than described in their ads.

Our family booked adjoining condos which worked out perfectly.

Be sure you store along the way here to get groceries to cook at the condo. Store are not nearby. Everything you need to cook is here. Dishes, pots and pans, spices, utensils, etc.

The condo is stocked with beach chairs, snorkel gear, beach towels, and anything else you might need for your vacation. I believe this is a better place for people without children but there were some staying here...just not much for them to do. No playground or anything nearby. However, there is a beach directly across the street.

I loved it and would MOST definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etcetera_sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viktoria U, Manager at Kihei Bay Vista, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you so much for sharing your travel and stay experience with us. We appreciate your compliments on cleanliness and the condo amenities.
Thank you for commenting on the beach that is just across the complex.
As far as entertainment for children, you are correct, there is not many playgrounds that you would see in a city. There are some fantastic activities you can enjoy with kids though. The Maui Ocean Center is always a big hit, it is only 10 minute drive from the condos. You can even get a pass that would provide you entry to the park over a course of a few days in case the kids would like to return for some more fun. There is Kalama Park with a big playground and rollerskating ring, probably 5 minutes away by car. There are Farmers Markets and Fairs that sell fresh produce like coconuts and pineapple, knick knacks and shave ice, which is a local "must try" delicacy. Kids love it! The Surfing Goat Dairy is also a fun adventure, probably 30-40 minutes away. But the best family time can be spent on the beach, building sand castles, learning boogie boarding. There are some great tide pools as well on Sugar Beach, a little North of the condos. Looking for little see critters while playing in a safe and sheltered part of the beach with younger kids is a lot of fun.
Should you plan on visiting the island soon and decide to book with us, I would be happy to provide a lot of great ideas for any type of activity on island.
Mahalo once again for sharing such a wonderful feedback, we sincerely appreciate your time and valuable insights.
Warm Aloha,
Viktoria on behalf of Sunny Maui Condos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I just returned from our 8 night stay in D-102 in Kihei Bay Vista. We booked the trip by calling Sunny Maui Condos and we spoke to Viktoria, who was a wonderful contact person and answered all of our questions in a very timely manner. The condo was immaculate and was just enough room for the two of us. We cooked breakfast and lunch every day and used the grill for some dinners, which was very convenient. We ate all of our meals on the lanai, which had a nice view of the pool and garden area. We used the washer and dryer and dishwasher, which were very convenient for our trip. We had high speed internet and a TV in the bedroom and living room. The only thing was that the colors were off when we tried to watch a movie on the DVD player, but it wasn't a big deal. The condo was a quick walk across the street to the beach and we made great use out of our 2 beach chairs, 2 snorkel sets, and cooler that came with the condo. The complex was quiet and it was in a central location to grocery stores, other beaches, restaurants, and bars. We had a great time and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jmalin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viktoria U, Manager at Kihei Bay Vista, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. I think many travelers will find your review very useful when planning their next trip. I really appreciate that you touched on so many great points and that you were so informative. I think it is very important for guests to know that our condos are "immaculately" clean. We really appreciate the great housekeeping team we have. I personally thank you for your kind comments on service, we genuinely try our best to ensure that our guests have a great stay and experience, from the booking process until departure. I am glad that you mentioned the DVD player - I will ensure we replace it immediately in that unit.
If I could ever be of assistance to you in the future, please contact me at any time, I would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Warm Aloha,
Viktoria on behalf of your committed Sunny Maui Condos Ohana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We reserved Kihei Bay Vista through Expedia 6 months before our vacation. 5 days before arriving we received an e-mail cancelling our reservation and booking us on a golf course outside of any walkable sites, stores, beaches, or attractions. We spent our holiday having to drive everywhere rather than across from a beach that we could walk to. Packing a full lunch and cooler of refreshments to head to a beach everyday and having to return with wet bathing suits, and sand in everything wasn't what we had planned for. We had hoped to walk to the beach and walk back to the condo for our every need.

We were told by expedia that the Kihei Bay Vista was no longer in their family of vacation sites, but when we checked later this wasn't the case. We feel that someone in management of the Kihei Bay Vista were able to rent the site out for more money and bumped us.

We were so disappointed.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank SoakingWet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viktoria U, Manager at Kihei Bay Vista, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Aloha,
I was troubled by reading about your experience. I would agree that when a guest puts the time and effort into carefully planning a stay months in advance, one would expect everything to be in perfect order. I am sorry that a well deserved vacation turned into such a negative experience and hassle for your family.
Although you did not book with us - we only offer direct bookings through our website and VRBO - I was moved by the negative experience you had while on vacation.

Kihei Bay Vista is a great complex that is located just across Kalepolepo Beach. It is a smaller, very quiet and quaint complex with well manicured grounds.
The complex has several individual owners, some directly rent their units to guests, some use management companies to represent them. We are one of the management companies called Sunny Maui Condos.
We genuinely strive to do our best to ensure our guests have a great stay and experience.

If you ever plan on returning to Maui in the future and would be willing to give the complex another chance despite of your first impression, I would be delighted to have the opportunity to personally assist you with your reservation needs and any other arrangements.
Warm Aloha,
Viktoria - Sunny Maui Condos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was an excellent place to stay for a reasonable rate. We were pleasantly surprised at the amount of room we had in this clean condo. The bedroom had a small view of the ocean. The kitchen came fully stocked with supplies. The washer and dryer were quite handy during our 10 day stay. There is a great outdoor cooking area and a pool/hot tub. We sat on our lanai every morning to enjoy our coffee. We loved how close to things we were. This condo is in the north end of town with a beach access across the road. We will definitely stay here again. Management were great to work with when booking the condo through VRBO.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheripie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viktoria U, Manager at Kihei Bay Vista, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Aloha,
Mahalo for staying with us! We understand that you have many options to choose from when it comes to accommodations, we appreciate that you gave us a chance. It was very nice to hear that you were pleased with the condo and its amenities. We try to make our condos as comfortable as possible by providing amenities in the units that our guests will find useful while on vacation.
It was great to have you with us, please let us know if we could be of assistance to you in the future.
Warm Aloha from Your Sunny Maui Condos Ohana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed Jan 21-28,2013 in unit D101. It was super clean and with an adequate kitchen Having owned a condo rental in the Caribbean for a number of years I know how hard it can be to maintain. Internet works well and modem was upgraded while we were there. Didn't use th tv but did use the ster eo system.
Traffic at night was minimal and we coud hear the ocean at night, through the bedroom window. The beach across the street is great; we watched kits surfers, sunsets and enjoyed the fish pond.
Hot tub is hot and a pleasure on the cool winter nights and the pool is well maintained.
Our only complaint would be the bed. You roll into the middle from either side and should really be replaced.
Dispite the mattress issue I would rent here again. The location makes it easy to get around; close to groceries, restaurants and the water.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoabPJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viktoria U, Manager at Kihei Bay Vista, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Aloha,
Mahalo for sharing these wonderful comments. We were very happy to learn that our condo met your expectations and that you had a great time. It is always nice to hear a compliment coming from someone with first hand experience regarding our attention to detail when it comes to cleanliness. I will be sure to share your feedback with our Housekeeping staff, it is certainly rewarding for their hard work.
I am glad you mentioned the mattress. While the mattress is 6 month new, this tells me that we need to return it for a more firm option to ensure our guests have a good night sleep.
Once again, thank you so much for taking the time to write about us.
If we could be of assistance to you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time at Sunny Maui Condos.
Warm Aloha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.4 mi away
Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea
0.6 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#7 of 61 in Kihei
422 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kihei Akahi
Kihei Akahi
#28 of 61 in Kihei
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Maui Vista Resort
Maui Vista Resort
#20 of 61 in Kihei
307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nona Lani Cottages
Nona Lani Cottages
#14 of 61 in Kihei
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kihei Bay Surf
Kihei Bay Surf
#32 of 61 in Kihei
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kihei Bay Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kihei Bay Vista

Address: 679 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-7587
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: $177 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kihei Bay Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kihei Bay Vista is a very quaint complex of only 60 units. Just across from Kalepolepo Beach and the Whale Foundation Center, these 1b/1b condos are wonderfully furnished. Providing a fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, A/ C in the living room with fans through out, and a large private lanai to enjoy. The complex offers a sunny pool area, BBQ grills and serenity in Paradise with lush tropical gardens. You are only a 1/4 of a mile to shopping, restaurants, and more of what Kihei has to share. This property is one of Kihei's best values and is a must see! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Kihei Bay Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kihei Bay Vista Hotel Kihei
Kihei Bay Vista Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing