We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location/great value”
Review of Kihei Bay Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kihei Bay Vista
Ranked #35 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Our unit at Kihei Bay Vista was in an excellent condition. It was well maintained and very clean.The house had all the amenities which made our stay very comfortable. The beach was just across the street. We would enjoy sitting in the balcony during morning and evenings when the breeze used to be cool and enjoy watching the beach.

The unit is close to Safeway and other restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharadr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiCondoMarina, Manager at Kihei Bay Vista, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Aloha and Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank you very much) for taking the time to write a review for Kihei Bay Vista. We are very happy to hear that you had an excellent experience at Kihei Bay Vista. I am not sure if we are the rental management company for the unit that you stayed in, but we do require all of our units to be stocked with all regular household amenities to ensure you have a home-away-from-home experience. We hope that you return so you can enjoy many more mornings and evenings out on the Lanai enjoying the cool Maui breeze. Please contact us if we can be of assistance to you during your next Maui Vacation.
Mahalo Nui Loa, Marina, Maui Condo and Home, LLC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 74 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2012

Spent 7 nights at Kihei Bay Vista with my girlfriend and we like it. Its not luxury accomodation but for that money its fair deal. It is very spacious and it can accodomate even 4 people (budget minding). Its not resort where you want to spend 24 hours a day although it has pool and hot tub (we didnt use it) and beach just cross the road.
We used it as Maui base for different trips around the island, left early morning and came back late evening. We loved opportunity to prepare our own breakfast (and snack for a day) as well as dinner.
Once again, it is awesome place for somebody who want to explore the island and dont want to sleep at campgrounds. We had a car for entire stay, been to 20 different beaches, been to Hana, to Crater etc and we loved the location (centre of the island).
Dont go there if you wanna spend all the time next to the pool...!
and A/C could be better...

Room Tip: we stayed at block A however I think there is no super bad or super good location of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lucas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiCondoMarina, Manager at Kihei Bay Vista, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Aloha and Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank you very much) for taking the time to write a review for Kihei Bay Vista. It sounds like you really enjoyed your time here on Maui and were able to explore most of the island. Maui is a beautiful island and has so much to offer out side of its resorts. I am glad that all of your needs were met and that you were able to have many adventures with Kihei Bay Vista being your home base. Please contact us if we can be of assistance for your next Maui Vacation/Adventure.
Mahalo Nui Loa, Marina, Maui Condo and Home, LLC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We spent 5 nts. here in early Feb. We stayed in a ground floor unit (they're all 1 bdrm/1ba) in D101. The condo had most everything we needed...the kitchen was fully equipped, comfortable bedroom, washer/dryer and it was clean.

If we stayed here again we would request an upper unit, as they seem more private. I would
recommend the D bldg. since it is away from the busy road, near the pool. There is a wonderful
beach park across the street.

There are a few things to be aware of when making your reservations. First, since all the units are only 1 bdrm., a sofabed is provided. My daughter (who has scoliosis) was unable to sleep on the most uncomfortable "bed" pull-out couch. My husband ended up sleeping with the couch cushions on the living room floor and she sleep with me. Also, the cleaning service needs to provide more than 1 roll of toilet paper for 3 people staying 5+ days. And, more than one little box of laundry detergent if we are expected to clean all the condo towels plus our own clothes.

Other, than the above, we found Kihei Bay Vista a pleasant atmosphere. The grounds were very well maintained, the year round tenants were friendly, the location was awesome and condo was comfortable. I would simply recommend an upper unit (more private lanai) and just be aware of a possible bad experience with the sofa bed (maybe the owner would consider a futon instead?).

Room Tip: request an upper unit in the C or D building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandybeach818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viktoria U, Manager at Kihei Bay Vista, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Aloha,
Thank you for staying at our vacation rental and leaving such a great review. From the looks of things, you were able to take in almost all of the amenities and enjoy the unit as well as the complex. Thank you for your sincere compliments as well as feedback. I think your concern regarding the couch was a valid one and we do not take our guests' feedback lightly. We are in the process of replacing the couches in our units to ensure full comfort for those that rent our units for more than two guests. We addressed your suggestions on the supplies as well. We have also recently made some other improvements to the units to ensure pleasant and comfortable surroundings for our guests - including new bedroom furniture, new art work, new flat screen TVs in all rooms.
Should your travels bring you back to beautiful Maui, please do not hesitate to contact us at Sunny Maui Condos at Kihei Bay Vista and we'll ensure you have another great stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Was nervous at 1st, thought we would be spending the inital day cleaning the condo but everything was clean, sheets nice & fresh.
Some items that would be useful to add would be a pair of sissors, tupperware & enough towels for all parties staying in the unit.
Had a problem with ghost ants the 1st 2 days but the management company came & sprayed & we have had no more sightings.
Fridge makes a lot of noise some nights, but continues to work.

Room Tip: we rented unit D105 & found great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandeedavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viktoria U, Manager at Kihei Bay Vista, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Aloha,
I just came across your review and I wanted to take the time to say Mahalo!
Thank you for the excellent feedback and the ideas for improvement. We do take our guests' suggestions very seriously as we believe that this is the only way to improve upon our services and the product we offer. We appreciate that you looked beyond the temporary problem with the ants and focused on the positive - that the problem was resolved. Since January we have implemented new internal standards to ensure that our units are stocked up to par at all times for every arrival.
Mahalo again for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
If we can be of assistance to you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at Sunny Maui Condos at Kihei Bay Vista, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I had stayed in unit #D-109 back in November with my wife and son since our own condo unit down the street was being terminated for bugs. We needed to find accommodations for a week so I book through Sunny Maui Condos. Victoria was very helpful and professional when booking my reservations.
The condo unit turned out to be a perfect home away from home. It had everything we needed, a fully stocked kitchen, large lanai, towels, wireless Internet, washer & dryer, flat screen TVs . And the unit was clean and well maintained. Overall it was a great value.

The condo unit was on the bottom floor which turned out to be good for my son to go run and play on the grass right outside. The BBQ and swimming pool was also an added bonus and noticed that it was very well taken care of and both were always clean. The landscaping was well kept too. At night it was very peaceful and everyone around was very nice. The Kihei Bay Vista is in prime location with a nice long walking and swimming beach right across the street. I would definitely recommend this to my visiting friends and family.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SkippyjonJones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viktoria U, Manager at Kihei Bay Vista, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Aloha,
Mahalo for the wonderful review you left about our vacation rental. Your comments are greatly appreciated. I was so happy to read that you had an enjoyable experience in all respects from the condo to the amenities to the pool and grounds. The next time you decide to visit when you need a little getaway, please be sure to contact us directly at Sunny Maui Condos at Kihei Bay Vista and we will ensure that you have another enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

I stayed in a ground floor condo, D-112 for a week back in May 2011. The condo was very comfortable and had everything I needed, including extra sunblock, beach toys, utensils, towels, etc...

The building and decor is a bit older, but for the price, I can't complain. This is not some luxurious hotel that you pay an arm and a leg for. Great value! The location is north Kihei, so it's not really close to anything, except for the beach across the street. There is a bus stop directly in front, though I never tried it.

My dealings with the owner was great, had no problems. My emails were answered promptly, and the pal pay exchange went fine. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stickyricer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a week in November. The one bedroom ground level unit was large and had everything we needed.... well stocked kitchen, washer & dryer, and all the beach toys (beach chairs, cooler, snorkel gear, beach towels, and floaties). Our unit was on the ground floor facing the swimming pool, but was very private due to the trees and flower shrubs. It had a nice large enclosed patio with table and chairs.

The pool and hot tub were very nice and cleaned every morning.

The location is at the north end of Kihei, so it was very quiet. Most of the restaurants and night life are just a short 5-10 minutes drive south. But there is a good Indian restaurant across the street as well as a great Korean restaurant a couple of blocks north.

The beach just across the street is ok. Good for walking and watching the sunset. But if you walk a little farther north it get's better and you can swim and snorkel. We mostly drove to the beaches in Makena, and the Kamaole beaches are really nice, but can get very crowded.

Overall, this is really good accommodation for the price. We looked at a lot of other places and are really glad we chose to stay here. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are more money, but do offer better views and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmhm2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.4 mi away
Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea
0.6 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#5 of 60 in Kihei
423 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kihei Surfside
Kihei Surfside
#16 of 60 in Kihei
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Kihei Akahi
Kihei Akahi
#29 of 60 in Kihei
316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nona Lani Cottages
Nona Lani Cottages
#17 of 60 in Kihei
173 reviews
2.8 mi away
Maui Vista Resort
Maui Vista Resort
#19 of 60 in Kihei
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kihei Bay Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kihei Bay Vista

Address: 679 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-7587
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: $180 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kihei Bay Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kihei Bay Vista is a very quaint complex of only 60 units. Just across from Kalepolepo Beach and the Whale Foundation Center, these 1b/1b condos are wonderfully furnished. Providing a fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, A/ C in the living room with fans through out, and a large private lanai to enjoy. The complex offers a sunny pool area, BBQ grills and serenity in Paradise with lush tropical gardens. You are only a 1/4 of a mile to shopping, restaurants, and more of what Kihei has to share. This property is one of Kihei's best values and is a must see! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kihei Bay Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kihei Bay Vista Hotel Kihei
Kihei Bay Vista Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing