We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at #151”
Review of Kihei Bay Surf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kihei Bay Surf
Ranked #19 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our stay at #151”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My wife and I visited Maui in August 2012. We rented Jane’s condo on Air B and B. Jane was very nice. She contacted us right away when we booked in. She contacted us again before our trip to remind us of the booking. While in Maui we contacted Jane by phone and she was accommodating and helpful. The condo is on South Kihei road. It is a ground floor apartment and does not have a view of the beach. This did not bother my wife and I because we spend a lot of our time doing activities. However, you could easily walk to the beach in 3 minuets. The condo had a pool and hot tub facilities. This was a nice thing to have after a day of physical activities. The inside of the condo was basic. It needed updating but it was fully functional. We were disappointed to find the main sleeping bed was a murphy pull down bed. We did not recall reading that when we booked in. The bed was functional. The overall accommodation was good value for the money. Make sure to read the guest book for traveler’s tips.

Room Tip: There are few if any suites that have an ocean view. The ocean is accorss the street. Rooms on higer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank penguinsRcool33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    41
    8
    6
    10
See reviews for
9
65
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yuma az
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We've stayed often at Hal & Bev's Unit 141. It's the one they use when in HI. It's on the first floor, in the back and quiet. When we go, it's for a month or more and we want cheap sleeps. If this is your once-in-a-lifetime trip, find a beachfront 1&1 and enjoy. And pay 3 to 4 times as much.
The unit is totally furnished and equipped and perfect for two and maybe 1 short. The lanai is beautifully comfortable, the smells remind you why you're there, the view of the tennis court is whelming. Check it out!!

Room Tip: Read the descriptions, see the pix, then check how far out the unit is rented. The farther, the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank birchbaybill_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

My husband, our teenager and I loved our stay at Brett and Jennifer's Kihei Bay Surf Condo! Brett and Jennifer are very friendly and relaxed and will go out of their way to make your stay the best. We never actually met them (although they live there) but all of our phone calls and email correspondence was great. Making the reservation was easy. We were able to check in early - thank you! Brett offers his help if you need anything that the condo may be missing and will bring it by. The photos of the condo are accurate. The overall feeling is light and airy. It is tastefully decorated, and very comfortable. The lanai is comfortable for sitting or enjoying breakfast. The air conditioner and fans keep the condo. cool and well ventilated. The queen bed was very comfortable and our teenager slept well on the fold down couch. There is plenty of bedding available all of which is very comfortable. The condo was very clean upon on arrival and had all the essentials for fun! Cooler & ice packs for it, beach towels, chairs, umbrella, boogie boards etc. We brought our own snorkel gear but there was a set there if needed. The kitchen is well equipped. We cooked in a lot and packed lunches for the beach every day. The people in the complex are friendly. The pool is nice as is the hot tub/whirl pool. It's a great place to unwind after your flight. The complex is beautifully landscaped and maintained. The flowers are just gorgeous! The location is perfect! Out of the hub of South Kihei but close to a Safeway grocery store and Longs Drugs for all sundries. The beach across the street is connected to Sugar Beach which is long and great for walking. South Kihei rocks! It's a very friendly town. With the guide book Maui Revealed in hand, we packed our rental vehicle every day with all items of fun available at the condo. and explored a new beach in So. Kihei and beyond. The beaches are clean, and the snorkeling is the best. We saw lots of sea turtles, coral, and great fish every day. We came back to the condo. only in evenings exhausted and happy from a full day of fun! Another highlight of our trip was going on the Haleakala downhill bike ride with Maui Easy Riders. Its a great way to see the Upcountry of Maui and owners Billy & Billy are relaxed and very friendly just like Brett and Jennifer. We loved Maui and would definitely stay at Brett and Jennifer's condo again and would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MomVacationlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, BC
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

[I can't remember the unit number, it's listed as ChilledCoconut if you google it. I loved the kihei bay surf. Small, quiet complex across the street from a nice little beach. Unit had everything advertised except the laptop, which wasn't a big deal but I would have brought mine had I known. Pool shuts down at 9 which was fine, we were so busy all day. This is a budget accomodation, we didn't spend a lot of time. There is onsite laundry and you're a short drive away from groceries in kihei. Maui is amazing and beautiful; we plan to go back and would stay here again if it is just the two of us.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Wubbelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahiti, French Polynesia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights, but if you are staying 3 nights, and leaving late the dzy you check out, don't make the same mistake that i did. I booked 3 days and this doesn't include the cleaning fee, so i payed 60usd extra ( no choice you have to), and i have to check out at 11.00.
I just realized whe we checked in, that i could havebooked 4 nights in order to get the late check out, it would have cost me the same!!!!!

E/xcept that' the unit is really good, seems new, internet wifi is included, there's a big fridge, all the silverware you may need, all the house cloth you need, the bathroom is nice, the tv is small and old, but come on, who comes to maui to watch tv.

They say it's only for 2 pax, but it can fit 3 pax!!!!!! I love this unit and i will book it again if we come back.

There's a parking just nect to the unit which is great, anf also it'd on the ground floor, i like it, as i have legs problem!!!

Love it, best unit ever.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lipoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We loved our little studio at the Kihei Bay Surf. The owners communicated really well during the reservation process. Janice is the property manager that meets you at the studio and she is delightful. We fell in love with her right away.

Now don't go here and expect luxury. It is a mid-grade studio apartment and priced appropriately. A really good value for the money. Comfortable, not a lot of extra's. Which is fine with us as we were in Maui and knew we were not there to hang out in our room. It is the perfect place to land after a long day at the beach. Clean and has newer furniture and decor. The location worked fine for us. (North Kehei area. Much less touristy on this end.) The road noise was pretty loud during the day. Not bad at night with the windows closed and the A/C on. Plus, just less traffic at night. You will want a car if staying here though.There are a few places you can walk to for food and the beach across the street was great for watching the sunset with your pina colada. Also, a little up the road is sugar beach and you can walk it for miles. Just gorgeous.

The bed was okay. The one thing that I would change about the bed is the sheets. They were not smooth and sort of pilled. I was tempted to go out and buy some 300 count for our stay but the duvet cover was higher quality and really soft so we just slept on top of it. Although, it is time for a new comforter too. The bathroom had a good shower. The kitchen has enough supplies to cook. There is nothing gourmet about it. Just the basics. We cooked in for all our dinners and breakfasts and ate out for lunch. Grilled some steak by the pool one night and chatted with other visitors. The pool and jacuzzi looked delightful, but we didn't have a chance to use them.

The owner does have two beach chairs, an umbrella, coolers, and boogie board you can use. Very convenient to take with you to those other beaches on the south end of Kehei. We particularly loved Kam I. We tried out polo beach near the Fairmont and loved the beach that was south of where the tourists were out on the loungers. It was a beautiful beach and a great place to boogie board.

We did not have a bug problem. Just a few of those tiny sugar ants in the bathroom, but there was a trap set out already and they were all gone in no time. Heck, this is Hawaii people. You should expect some bugs in this sort of weather.

We are not resort type people so keep that in mind when making your decision and reading my review. We like to keep things simple and enjoy places when we can get the feel of what it would be like to live there. We don't want to hang out with a bunch of tourists from the mainland in a resort setting as that sort of experience isn't our thing.

Room Tip: The rooms that are in the 100's have lanai's that face the main road. So expect road noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank crfty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

This is our 4th visit to Kihei Bay Surf and our hosts Brett and Jennifer couldnt be more courteous and helpful. The unit is well stocked with all your maui vacation needs like boogie boards, beach chairs and portable coolers. There is even brand new and very comfortable lania chairs and table this year, way to go Jennifer, so nice to be able to have our morning coffee and watch the beach across the street. The pool and hot tub area is clean and well kept thanks to the efforts of the very helpful and efficient Mark the property manager. We stayed for the entire month and enjoyed every day. We even got to join in a few pot lucks with friends we met around the pool, friendly atmosphere that we loved.
Will be going back next year hopefully for a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gardengirl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.1 mi away
Koa Lagoon
Koa Lagoon
#17 of 62 in Kihei
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea
1.5 mi away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kihei Bay Vista
Kihei Bay Vista
#37 of 62 in Kihei
71 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aloha Aku Inn & Suites
Aloha Aku Inn & Suites
#28 of 62 in Kihei
24 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hale Kai O'kihei
Hale Kai O'kihei
#35 of 62 in Kihei
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kihei Bay Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kihei Bay Surf

Property: Kihei Bay Surf
Address: 715 S Kihei Rd Apt 122, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9075
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kihei Bay Surf 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kihei Bay Surf is built around a central courtyard, with almost all units facing into the landscaped area. The buildings are low rise (only two stories). Although this is an economical property, the grounds are well cared for, clean, pleasant and tidy. The grounds feature a swimming pool, hot-tub, tennis court, and a BBQ area with gas grills. A coin-operated laundry room is located on grounds. Unit Description and Amenities: These are very well equipped studios and are certainly comfortable for one or two people. Each unit has a queen bed in addition to the living area furniture (don't worry - you don't need to sleep on a sofa bed). The fully equipped kitchen features fridge, stove, dishwasher and microwave. All units have ceiling fan, A/C, cable television, telephone, and a front deck or balcony with outdoor table/chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kihei Bay Surf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kihei Bay Surf Hotel Kihei
Kihei Bay Surf Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing