We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value on the beach”
Review of Kealia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kealia Resort
Ranked #42 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great value on the beach”
Reviewed December 29, 2009

We stayed here over the Christmas holidays. Our studio was a little small but clean with a nice view. The facilities (ie pool, BBQ, etc) are clean and not overcrowded. The beach is also very quiet, like your own little private beach! The one negative is the color of the water. It is not as blue as some parts of the island.

My only complaint is the high-speed wireless internet. It's very unreliable and weak. It works better when directly plugged into your computer but that's a pain when two people need the internet at the same time.

I read a couple of reviews and there seems to have been a midges problem at some point. They must have resolved the problem as I did not see one bug on the resort. The other complaint I read was that the rental office was often closed. We didn't notice that either as we didn't need any help during our stay. It's all straightforward, really!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ottawasmarties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    25
    9
    10
    2
See reviews for
32
58
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2009

A wonderful location, away from the congestion of busy hotel zone but totally accessible to other parts of the island. Beach front. Great people, Great value!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank npbt630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2009

We stayed for 8 days in oct. Unit 507 is quite nice. The unit is nicely decorated with a full kitchen, nice bathroom, and a very comfy bed. The pool area is very clean as was the water. Sherry is a great manager, that was very helpful with tips of great restaurants and sights to be explored. We are going to stay in this unit again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShermanSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2009

I stayed in unit 201. Normajean and Larry were friendly, attentive and knowledgable of the island. their unit is spacious, comfortable and has all the amenities of home. It was quiet and has amazing views of the ocean. I traveled with my 7 yo daughter who spent a lot of her time swimming. The beach and the pool were both clean and relaxing. I would highly recommend this place for a relaxing stay in paradice.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhnbrll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

The Kealia Resort is located near the middle of Sugar Beach just past where Highway 31 turns toward Maalaea. Road noise is quite noticeable at the back of the resort and on the decks of units ending in 09. The resort is aging well, with well tiled walkways to the rooms, very well kept landscaping and only a bit of rust on the metal frames of the elevators.
We stayed in Room 402. It overlooks the pool and has a great view of the ocean. The unit was very clean, had a comfortable bed and was well stocked with towels and cooking supplies. Everything worked. It had three TV's and no stereo. The air conditioner was a bit small for the suite and the shower was designed for people under 5 ft. tall. We would rent this unit again, but would consider other suites as well because we prefer music to TV.
The resort staff were very accommodating. Sheri, who books the suites is as pleasant in person as she is on the phone. Roger, who answers the phone went out of his way to help us and we found the manager and her spouse to be pleasant, efficient and helpful. They responded quickly to the requests we had.
There were no midges, but we discussed problems in the past. They come from the nature preserve across the road during the winter season because the board governing the reserve has saved money by not spraying for them. The resorts in the area are actively lobbying to have the problem solved.
We would choose this resort again. If you are staying in the busy winter season, you may find the pool and lawn to be a bit small when the resort is full, but this may be a common problem in these resorts.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2009

We could have stayed at the condo all day every day - our unit (201) was very well appointed and the beach was great. The complex managers were very helpful and friendly and the resort was well maintained with beautiful flowers everywhere. As the complex is small it was easy to get to know the other guests. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2009

We rented unit #406 direct from the owner via VRBO.com and found the whole experience to be a total pleasure. From the first contact the owner was accommodating and very helpful.

The condo itself was better than expected. It was very clean with up to date appliances and had everything that we needed for a perfect vacation. Although the bathroom is small, the condo felt massive after staying in hotel rooms. You could have easily slept 4 people comfotably with the sofa lounge and an additional bed in the main bedroom.

The entire condo complex is very well maintained. The gardens were immaculate and the pool was sparkling clean. The breezeways are tidy and the atmosphere of the building at all hours was inviting.

If your idea of a vacation is quiet beaches that are built for endless walks and you want your condo to be beachfront then I highly recommend Kealia... and condo #406. The wind does get stronger in the evenings through some parts of the building but it was always a warm breeze that simply served to cool the condo down.

We did not have any problems with bugs during our stay. Did see a few dead critters here and there... but only a few.. not thousands

Although the condo complex is out of the town centre there is a local bar next door that serves drinks until 10:30pm so night life isn't totally ruled out! We would highly recommend popping in to the bar for at least one drink! (regardless of your age!) It's well worth it.....

We wanted to relax on Maui.. and we think we found heaven.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelone01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.3 mi away
Maalaea Surf Resort
Maalaea Surf Resort
#23 of 62 in Kihei
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#8 of 62 in Kihei
607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nani Kai Hale
Nani Kai Hale
#43 of 62 in Kihei
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
1.2 mi away
Nona Lani Cottages
Nona Lani Cottages
#14 of 62 in Kihei
164 reviews
1.8 mi away
Koa Lagoon
Koa Lagoon
#17 of 62 in Kihei
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kealia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kealia Resort

Property: Kealia Resort
Address: 191 N Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8832
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kealia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kealia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kealia Hotel Kihei
Kealia Resort Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing