We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing stay”
Review of Kealia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kealia Resort
Ranked #41 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Hartford, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing stay”
Reviewed August 30, 2009

I stayed in unit 201. Normajean and Larry were friendly, attentive and knowledgable of the island. their unit is spacious, comfortable and has all the amenities of home. It was quiet and has amazing views of the ocean. I traveled with my 7 yo daughter who spent a lot of her time swimming. The beach and the pool were both clean and relaxing. I would highly recommend this place for a relaxing stay in paradice.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhnbrll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    25
    9
    10
    2
See reviews for
32
58
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

The Kealia Resort is located near the middle of Sugar Beach just past where Highway 31 turns toward Maalaea. Road noise is quite noticeable at the back of the resort and on the decks of units ending in 09. The resort is aging well, with well tiled walkways to the rooms, very well kept landscaping and only a bit of rust on the metal frames of the elevators.
We stayed in Room 402. It overlooks the pool and has a great view of the ocean. The unit was very clean, had a comfortable bed and was well stocked with towels and cooking supplies. Everything worked. It had three TV's and no stereo. The air conditioner was a bit small for the suite and the shower was designed for people under 5 ft. tall. We would rent this unit again, but would consider other suites as well because we prefer music to TV.
The resort staff were very accommodating. Sheri, who books the suites is as pleasant in person as she is on the phone. Roger, who answers the phone went out of his way to help us and we found the manager and her spouse to be pleasant, efficient and helpful. They responded quickly to the requests we had.
There were no midges, but we discussed problems in the past. They come from the nature preserve across the road during the winter season because the board governing the reserve has saved money by not spraying for them. The resorts in the area are actively lobbying to have the problem solved.
We would choose this resort again. If you are staying in the busy winter season, you may find the pool and lawn to be a bit small when the resort is full, but this may be a common problem in these resorts.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2009

We could have stayed at the condo all day every day - our unit (201) was very well appointed and the beach was great. The complex managers were very helpful and friendly and the resort was well maintained with beautiful flowers everywhere. As the complex is small it was easy to get to know the other guests. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2009

We rented unit #406 direct from the owner via VRBO.com and found the whole experience to be a total pleasure. From the first contact the owner was accommodating and very helpful.

The condo itself was better than expected. It was very clean with up to date appliances and had everything that we needed for a perfect vacation. Although the bathroom is small, the condo felt massive after staying in hotel rooms. You could have easily slept 4 people comfotably with the sofa lounge and an additional bed in the main bedroom.

The entire condo complex is very well maintained. The gardens were immaculate and the pool was sparkling clean. The breezeways are tidy and the atmosphere of the building at all hours was inviting.

If your idea of a vacation is quiet beaches that are built for endless walks and you want your condo to be beachfront then I highly recommend Kealia... and condo #406. The wind does get stronger in the evenings through some parts of the building but it was always a warm breeze that simply served to cool the condo down.

We did not have any problems with bugs during our stay. Did see a few dead critters here and there... but only a few.. not thousands

Although the condo complex is out of the town centre there is a local bar next door that serves drinks until 10:30pm so night life isn't totally ruled out! We would highly recommend popping in to the bar for at least one drink! (regardless of your age!) It's well worth it.....

We wanted to relax on Maui.. and we think we found heaven.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelone01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2009

The Kealia resort is a peaceful sanctuary amidst all the beauty Maui has to offer. With the current recession, the Kealia is an extremely affordable way to take the dream vacation you always wished for. We stayed in unit 201, (1 bedroom, and sofa that pulls out into a queen-sized bed) a quiet end unit that offers a full view from the living room and lanai of the beautiful beach. The unit looks like new and has all updated furniture/décor. There is cable television and high-speed internet available right in the room. Binoculars are available to keep watch for whales and turtles along the horizon. Also, there is scuba equipment and a full kitchen to cook any meal if you choose not to eat all meals out. There are also communal grills on the lawn. The resort is located directly on the bay so the water is calm, perfect for swimming, kayaking, and snorkeling. You can take long walks down the beach or enjoy the most spectacular sunsets at night. Normajean and Larry (owners) live at the Kealia and are readily available to meet your needs, as it is their priority to ensure your vacation is everything you hoped for. They are experts of the island and can provide you with information on where to go and what to see. I hope to return again and highly recommend everyone to stay at the Kealia, unit 201.

Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Syoung3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2009

Noramjean & Larry were wonderful hosts and took great care of us during our stay. My daughter Sarah and I felt right at home and relaxed there. The resort is immaculate and the views are beautiful. I would highly recommend a stay at Condo #201. We had a wonderful vacation there.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We stayed in unit #406 (1 bedroom, partial ocean view) that we rented directly from the owners (Beerers) on VRBO. This was a great location on the North end of Kihei, making it easy to pop into town for supplies or to jump onto the main roads to head West to Lahaina or East off to Hana or Haleakala. It was maybe 20 minutes to the airport. So... close to the ocean and a nice little beach.- amazing! Fell asleep and woke up to the sound of the surf everyday and ate breakfast with a view. The condo was really comfortable, up to date interior and applicances, plenty of towels, few beach items, comfy king bed (plus pull-outs for extra if needed), nice little pool and balcony. We did not have a problem with "midges" (as mentioned in one review). There were a few little winged bugs dead around the lights in the morning but nothing that was problem. May have to do with the time of year. Kihei (KeeHay) is kind of a "beach town", not really a "resort" area like Wailea or Kaanapali. Most of the hotels along the beach are also along the road. This condo is one of only three on North Kihei rd, there are a lot more along South Kihei rd going into town. Traffic noise wasn't a problem (just some "whooshing" of cars going by)- did not compete with the sound of the surf at this location. To us it was perfect, a comfortable, beachside, reasonably priced launching point for exploration of the island. If we are lucky enough to return we would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktjnemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.3 mi away
Maalaea Surf Resort
Maalaea Surf Resort
#24 of 62 in Kihei
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nani Kai Hale
Nani Kai Hale
#45 of 62 in Kihei
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#9 of 62 in Kihei
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
0.4 mi away
Kihei Beach
Kihei Beach
#22 of 62 in Kihei
112 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nona Lani Cottages
Nona Lani Cottages
#16 of 62 in Kihei
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kealia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kealia Resort

Property: Kealia Resort
Address: 191 N Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8832
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kealia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kealia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kealia Hotel Kihei
Kealia Resort Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing