We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kealia Resort #201 vacation stay”
Review of Kealia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kealia Resort
Ranked #42 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
CT
1 review
“Kealia Resort #201 vacation stay”
Reviewed April 19, 2009

Noramjean & Larry were wonderful hosts and took great care of us during our stay. My daughter Sarah and I felt right at home and relaxed there. The resort is immaculate and the views are beautiful. I would highly recommend a stay at Condo #201. We had a wonderful vacation there.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    25
    9
    10
    2
See reviews for
32
58
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Orange, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We stayed in unit #406 (1 bedroom, partial ocean view) that we rented directly from the owners (Beerers) on VRBO. This was a great location on the North end of Kihei, making it easy to pop into town for supplies or to jump onto the main roads to head West to Lahaina or East off to Hana or Haleakala. It was maybe 20 minutes to the airport. So... close to the ocean and a nice little beach.- amazing! Fell asleep and woke up to the sound of the surf everyday and ate breakfast with a view. The condo was really comfortable, up to date interior and applicances, plenty of towels, few beach items, comfy king bed (plus pull-outs for extra if needed), nice little pool and balcony. We did not have a problem with "midges" (as mentioned in one review). There were a few little winged bugs dead around the lights in the morning but nothing that was problem. May have to do with the time of year. Kihei (KeeHay) is kind of a "beach town", not really a "resort" area like Wailea or Kaanapali. Most of the hotels along the beach are also along the road. This condo is one of only three on North Kihei rd, there are a lot more along South Kihei rd going into town. Traffic noise wasn't a problem (just some "whooshing" of cars going by)- did not compete with the sound of the surf at this location. To us it was perfect, a comfortable, beachside, reasonably priced launching point for exploration of the island. If we are lucky enough to return we would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktjnemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The UP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2009

I read the review by BillTheFish who seemed to find the amenities at the Kealia to be less than acceptable. My wife and I spend well over 3 months here as renters each year. We are not, therefore, obligated to spend any time here because we own one of the units. We are here because we choose to be. We find that, like many people, the midges come and the midges go. The midges are indeed somewhat annoying but the staff, owners, and some of the renters have called the Fish and Wildlife (FW) people to come to the facility to make their displeasure known. After much prodding by those affected, who had been in contact with various levels of state and federal government up to the governor and one of the congressional senators, the FW people were at last persuaded to address the problem. Environmentally sound pellets have been ordered and treatment scheduled as soon as they arrive. I've personally seen the result of these treatments before and the result is that the midges, which by the way are not native to the Hawaiian Islands but have been introduced like the Norway rat, cease to be a problem. I believe that FW plan to include a provision for annual treatment in their future budgets.
As for the office being closed, I know for a fact that the manager had taken some time off to go visit an ailing relative on the US mainland. During that week temporary personnel manned the office as best they could. With the exception of that period, the office is manned all day every day.
I've really got nothing to gain by posting this other than clarification of the issue. The other side of the story, if you will.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UPWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, RI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 25, 2008

The Kealia is one of the best small hotels I've ever stayed at. It is small and intimate, and the staff always remebered my name. It is the perfect escape from a crowded resort and has a pefect beachfront, garden and pool. The managers were amazing. They served complimentary fresh pineapple and mango's in the afternoon to all of the guests at the pool and the beach. The water front is home many types of wildlife including dolphins, turtles, and hundreds of tropical fish. Also, in the spring time dozens of whales breach every day in the deeper waters off the hotel. I stayed in room 201 and it was spacious, clean and had a beautiful balcony with an excellent view of the ocean, West Maui and Kahoalowe. It was worth every cent! I will definitely be booking my next stay at the Kealia... 5 stars all the way.

  • Liked — the view
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank colelucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2008

Perfect Location & Amenities: Home away from home, great launching pad for exploring the island! This is a long review, but if you want details about this hotel and other Maui tips, keep reading. We were so pleasantly surprised by Kealia. We got there Nov. 12, 2008. When deciding on lodging, figure out what kind of vacation you're going to want: If you want an opulent resort with valet parking, a golf course, multiple lap pools, a spa, etc, then Kealia IS NOT for you. Go to Kaanapali or Wailea to the big resorts. Nothing wrong with that. But if you prefer freestyle vacations and would rather 'hang loose", do your own thing, explore the island for a more casual experience, then Kealia is probably more your speed. We researched several properties and this property is very special for Maui: Centrally located--about 10-15 min from Kapalui airport. Super close to the ocean--literally a few steps beyond the pool is a stretch of pristine beach where to the North there are no other resorts or hotels, so the beach is YOURS! And it's low-density--only about like 50 units. It was not crowded. Everything was just as described on the website. It really IS that close to the water (check out the pictures on their website.) New hotels can't be built that close anymore. All the units are privately owned, so those owners who rent out do so thru the management office; we understood that after we got there. That's why you can reserve the exact room you want if available. There's one parking spot (free) designated for each unit. Any store you'd need is a short drive. One little thing that was so helpful was that when we got our snail mail confirmation a few weeks ahead of time, Sherry sent a brochure/island map issued by Air Maui the helicopter tours company. That was indispensable for exploring the island. We stayed in 401, oceanfront. Our unit had a full kitchen with every utensil you'd dream of needing (except for corkscrew), living room and separate bedroom. We wanted a place where we could do our own laundry, cook our own meals if necessary and pack a lunch on days when we headed out to explore the island. There were even a few condiments in the cupboard, so whatever we used we replenished, like coffee, etc. We used the last of the TP so we bought a pack and left it there! We took care of it as we would our own home and cleaned up after ourselves. For example, they ask you to empty the trash, run the dishwasher, wash your towels before you go. (There are housekeepers, too.) We were pleasantly surprised that our room also had 2 beach chairs, 2 small boogie boards and 2 snorkels and a big cooler, among other things. We loved hearing the waves, but the beach is close so the waves make noise. A lot of noise. Just so you know. On the front side of the hotel is a busy road, but we didn't have a problem with the street noise on our side. It's a sturdy concrete building, built in the '70s. It's not brand new and opulent and perfect, but it's in great shape and well maintained, especially the pool and yard areas near the beach. We thought it had the nicest exterior of any of the properties nearby. And the beach was super-clean with soft sand. Great sunset view. It's like a friendly apartment or condo community: Wednesday nights is BYO appetizers ("pu pu's" in Hawaiian) down by the pool if you want. A few Maui tips for getting around: There's a Star Market grocery store a mile or two South on S. Kihei Road, and a store in that vicinity called Long's, it's like a Walgreens. Good for toiletries, souvenirs and sunscreen, etc. We rented snorkel fins from Snorkel Bob's, also down near Star Market in Kihei. Our Maui restaurant recommendations: Mala in Lahaina (open air, right on water, gourmet but not expensive); Stella Blue's in Kihei (great comfort food, and owners are Grateful Dead fans--cool memorabilia) and Ocean's in Kihei (open air, good sashimi, lots of tvs for sports fans.) Overall, we were very happy and we highly recommend Kealia!

  • Liked — Full kitchen, central location.
  • Disliked — Air conditioner inadequate
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jukeboxcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver ca
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2008

We stayed at the Kealia for 19 days. Booked directly with owner on VRBO. Stayed in room 201, beachfront with a great view. The room was very clean ,had nice tile flooring throughout instead of the usual seventies carpets that so many of these type of units have. Free internet was a big plus for to unit.The king bed was great. It also had a safe and a keyless entry to the door. It is quite a treat to go for a walk on the miles of beautiful beaches and not having to worry about our valuables or a key for the front door. The owners of the condo live right in the building as managers. They are 2 of the friendliest and helpful people one will ever meet . The owners have really thought of every little detail to make our stay comfortable. We actually never had ask for anything we needed because it was all looked after. This unit is quiet and just what we needed.After staying in various condos in the same area for the last five years this was certainly our favourite. We will be back.

  • Liked — peacefull,
  • Disliked — no real negatives for us.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fraservalleyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton CO
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2008

We stayed in a partial ocean view in unit #307. This unit has a sofa bed in the living room, a king bed in the master bedroom with another bed that is positioned next to the window in the same master bedroom. This one you have to hoist yourself up to get into it because it is positioned on the ledge next to the window. The sofa was not comfortable to sit in and unfortunately the king bed was not the best either. This condo resort has heavy traffic noise and if this bothers you, do not stay in studios or partial ocean view rooms. Instead, book an ocean view room only. The managers here, Larry and Normajean, are wonderfully friendly and so nice to everyone. We did discover that they own a rental unit #201 that is ocean view. This one is gorgeously appointed and we took the time to tour it while we were there. If you stay in ocean view, you won't be bothered much with traffic noise. This is a long stretch of sandy beach with almost nobody on it and this is the last property in Kihei going to the direction of Lahaina. It is a 15 minute drive to get to restaurants or shopping. We were disappointed in that the water clarity in the ocean in front of this property was zero. Everything seemed to wash towards this area and to snorkel, it was a mile walk in the direction of Lahaina to the reef. We ended up driving towards Wailea to get to good beaches that had clear water. I can't say if it is always this way, but it is on Maalea Bay next to the nature reserve. The pool was beautiful and just gorgeous and the managers do a good job of maintaining this property. There is coffee and donuts served at the picnic areas on Friday morning and a once a week pupu party. It was wonderful to just sit in the lounge chairs at beach edge and watch sunsets and listen to the sounds of ocean. All of the units have their own assigned parking spaces. This is a very friendly place but has its advantages and disadvantages so you will need to decide if this is for you.

  • Liked — Friendliness and nice beach view
  • Disliked — No internet access in room, water clarity at the beach was poor
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scrivy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.3 mi away
Maalaea Surf Resort
Maalaea Surf Resort
#22 of 62 in Kihei
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#8 of 62 in Kihei
607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nani Kai Hale
Nani Kai Hale
#46 of 62 in Kihei
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
1.2 mi away
Nona Lani Cottages
Nona Lani Cottages
#14 of 62 in Kihei
164 reviews
1.8 mi away
Koa Lagoon
Koa Lagoon
#17 of 62 in Kihei
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kealia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kealia Resort

Property: Kealia Resort
Address: 191 N Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8832
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kealia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kealia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kealia Hotel Kihei
Kealia Resort Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing