We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good points but also a few areas for improvement”
Review of Kamaole Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kamaole Sands
Ranked #14 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good points but also a few areas for improvement”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

First - this property really is in a great location. Right across the street from a beautiful beach ideal for swimming, snorkeling, paddle-boarding, walking ... 20 minutes to Ma'alea harbor, 45 minutes to Lahaina, 10 minutes to Makena beach - it really is a great location.

Also, the property grounds are beautifully maintained. And, most, if not all units, have at least a partial west facing ocean view. There are 4 nicely maintained tennis courts as well.

There is now wireless and well as a wired internet connection in each unit.

As others have noted, these units are individually owned and rented by owners, so the interiors will vary widely. This was my 3rd stay at Kamaole Sands and this unit (5-212) was OK. The kitchen was nicely updated but the draperies in the living area were shredded and old, old and the furniture looked and felt like thrift-store bargains. One of the lamps was missing the knob to turn it on - if we had not brought out a lamp from the master bedroom, there would have been no light in the living room. No TV in the second bedroom. The kitchen sink needed snaking - it drained but the first time using the garbage disposal was challenging. Breadcrumbs between the stove and countertop were gross and unsanitary. A calling card for creepy crawlies.

Housekeeping service was sub-standard. At least one towel had a dirty edge to it and the stovetop was not cleaned off. Grit was still on the tile floors as well.

While no one really goes to Maui for the hotel, there should be an expectation of cleaniness and decent service. It is unlikely that we will stay here again with so many excellent options in Maui and in this area specfically.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    345
    130
    79
    65
See reviews for
397
265
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

the location was very good for this property, directly across the street from Kamaole III beach. We were in building 9, our suite had some basic upgrades but for the most part was very dated. The patio door lock was broken, the wifi didn't work, the shower in the main bathroom didn't work and the room was supposedly cleaned before we arrived, however the ensuite bathroom was filthy and I had to clean it myself. The beds were very uncomfortable, way too soft. the biggest issue was no in suite safe, so no way to secure your valuables and passport. Needless to stay we would not stay at this property again. Although the size of the suite and location were good, it is too hard to overlook these other issues.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is our favourite property in south Maui- it's very well maintained and managed, across the street from a lovely beach park, walking distance to an excellent beachside restaurant( 5 Palms) and a 5 minute drive to all the resorts and attractions in Wailea. The Kamaole Sands has 4 computers in the lobby, which is nice if you're travelling light and didn't want to pack your laptop. Delightful pool with shady areas, 2 hot tubs and a wading pool for infants. We try to get units in buildings 6 or 7 which overlook the courtyard/pool and have shade on the lanai( balcony) all day long. As a condo, there's some variation in the furnishings of the individual units, and while there's no daily maid service, there is a "re-fresh"( new towels and linens) every 4/5 days. All in, we love this place and it's our 1st choice for accomodation in Maui.

Room Tip: Get a unit in building 6 or 7 if you'd like a shady lanai(balcony) all day. They have a complim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GerryGibeault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Since this property rents units from different owners, I can't say that all of the units are this good, but 5-111 was wonderful. The unit had some spare beach and water toys, a sleeper sofa with an extremely comfortable mattress, wireless internet (at no additonal charge), and a fully stocked kitchen.

The property had a decent sized pool, two reasonably large hot tubs, and a nice game area with foosball and ping pong, though the game room closes somewhat early in the evening. Parking is easy.

Lastly, we did see two other units (4-110 and 6-309), both of which we would have been happy to stay in. I don't know if the rest are this nice or we just saw some of the best units, but while I was a little worried after booking, now I'd be happy to stay here again. Also if you're a resident, the resort has a great rate for kama'aina visitors.

  • Liked — Wonderfully comfortable 1-bedroom apartment
  • Disliked — Game room closes early, no food available on the premises
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zackss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

staying in Kihei is great, the weather is the best in the island, the condo was convenient close to restaurants and right across the road from the beach, the pool at the condo was also great, they have a fitness centre and can book activities for you it had everything you could need, very well run facility

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton Alberta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We booked this Unit through our Travel Agent. We were not disappointed in the Least. We stayed in Bldg 8, Unit 407. This unit had a 2 Single Beds on the Main Floor, a Full Bathroom and Washer Dryer. (We had to provide our own Soap and Fabric Softener, but that's not a big deal.) A beautiful Spiral Staircase leads to the loft, where there's a Queen Size Bed and an amazing Bathroom. There is plenty of Storage all over the Condo. Our family of 4 was able to empty all of our Suitcases into the Dressers, and closets with plenty of room to spare. We were about a 5 minute walk from the Beach, but that's the perfect distance as far as we're concerned. We were also less than a 5 min walk from the Pool and the BBQ stations. The Grounds are beautiful and well kept. The Pool is very popular and busy, but no different than any other resort we stayed at.

We found Beach Chairs, mats, a Cooler, snorkel sets and pretty much everything you'd need to enjoy the Beautiful beach Across the way. There's a nice little reef a couple hundred feet off the shore. We saw many beautiful Fish, Eels, and a few large turtles.
Bldg 8 is a nice distance away from the busy South Kihei Road, and about a 8 min walk from Fred's Mexican Diner. (Which is a nice family type restaurant.)
The Condo had everything we needed as far as cooking goes: pots, pans, cutlery etc.
The Condo also had a Desktop Computer in the unit, as well as free wifi. There's cable and a few TV's, so my son and I were able to catch the latest episode of the Walking Dead while we were in Maui.

The condo could use a splash of Paint, and some of the shelves in the fridge were broken, but we considered these to be of no consequence.

I'd highly recommend this condo. We're already planning our return trip, but may come down a month Earlier, in September. We are a family of 4, mom, dad, 18 year old daughter and a 12 year old son. We loved this unit. We're from Alberta, and did not look forward to returning to the -25 Temps that greeted us.

If you plan on being in Maui on a Saturday, make it a point to travel to the MAUI SWAP MEET at the College. Buy ALL your souvenirs there. You'll literally spend half the money you'd spend buying stuff on the strip. (and may even find some REAL Hawaiian Trinkets that don't say "MADE IN CHINA")

On a side note: 8 days is not enough time to spend in Maui. Please budget for a minimum of 10 days. You won't regret it, I promise.

I'm including a Picture of the Resort Map, which may be helpful in choosing the building that you may want to stay in.

Room Tip: Building 10 is closest to the Beach and South Kihei Road.Building 5 and 6 overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We planed a family trip to Maui and decided on this Condo complex because we had herd it was nice. These units are all privately owned so each one is decorated to the taste of the owner and may be updated or really outdated depending on what one you get. It`s not easy to tell from the pics they put up.
We had unit 208 in Bldg 4 facing the back. Pool and garden side is way nicer but no big deal. the location was great and you just cross the street to go to a very nice beach and lots of good beaches on the island to go to. Our unit was nice and up to date except for the comments in the other section but no deal breakers.The complex offers free WIFI and Each Bldg had a BBQ area with two BBQ`s. Both the area and grills were nice and clean. There is a very nice pool and a hot tub for adults and one for everyone as well as a little baby pool. The grounds are kept very clean and done up very nice with lots of plants trees and fountains and parking for your unit if you rent a car,which you should. It`s a relatively small island and it`s nice to be able to drive around and see and do things since there is no shortage of things to do.
I did a day of scuba diving and it was the best dive i have ever done. Lots of fish in clear blue water. I only saw one sea turtle but people see them everywhere. You could spend the money to go on a snorkel execution but i recommend renting some gear and doing it right of of any beach. That was just as good or better than most dives i have done.Besides a lot of those boats end up at the same places you will be and you did not spend the money to do it.
Lots of good shopping and the people are very friendly. Because it`s a US State, it make most things feel familiar and you don't worry about drinking the water.
The weather is completely different in all over the island. Each area has it`s own climate systems and Kiihei is considered more desert and has much less rain than other areas.
At the end of the day, Maui is a fantastic destination with great value but keep in mind that it will be way more expensive than a Mexican all inclusive resort.

Room Tip: This will be hard to do because the pictures always look great online. Don`t get me wrong, my rental...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishgreen343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
0.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,114 reviews
21.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,987 reviews
22.8 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
3,958 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
21.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamaole Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamaole Sands

Property: Kamaole Sands
Address: 2695 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8678
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kamaole Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamaole Sands is set amid tropical gardens with waterfalls and ponds, across from a scenic Maui beack park. One-, two-, and three-bedroom suites have full-kitchens and washer/dryers. Amenities include tennis courts, a swimming pool and kids wading pool, jet spas, barbecue grills, and a weekly Mai Tai party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kamaole Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamaole Sands Hotel Kihei
Kamaole Sands Maui/Kihei
Castle Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing