We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we love Maui”
Review of Kamaole Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kamaole Sands
Ranked #18 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Reviewed December 1, 2013

staying in Kihei is great, the weather is the best in the island, the condo was convenient close to restaurants and right across the road from the beach, the pool at the condo was also great, they have a fitness centre and can book activities for you it had everything you could need, very well run facility

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (946)
There are newer reviews for Kamaole Sands
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 946 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

We booked this Unit through our Travel Agent. We were not disappointed in the Least. We stayed in Bldg 8, Unit 407. This unit had a 2 Single Beds on the Main Floor, a Full Bathroom and Washer Dryer. (We had to provide our own Soap and Fabric Softener, but that's not a big deal.) A beautiful Spiral Staircase leads to the loft, where there's a Queen Size Bed and an amazing Bathroom. There is plenty of Storage all over the Condo. Our family of 4 was able to empty all of our Suitcases into the Dressers, and closets with plenty of room to spare. We were about a 5 minute walk from the Beach, but that's the perfect distance as far as we're concerned. We were also less than a 5 min walk from the Pool and the BBQ stations. The Grounds are beautiful and well kept. The Pool is very popular and busy, but no different than any other resort we stayed at.

We found Beach Chairs, mats, a Cooler, snorkel sets and pretty much everything you'd need to enjoy the Beautiful beach Across the way. There's a nice little reef a couple hundred feet off the shore. We saw many beautiful Fish, Eels, and a few large turtles.
Bldg 8 is a nice distance away from the busy South Kihei Road, and about a 8 min walk from Fred's Mexican Diner. (Which is a nice family type restaurant.)
The Condo had everything we needed as far as cooking goes: pots, pans, cutlery etc.
The Condo also had a Desktop Computer in the unit, as well as free wifi. There's cable and a few TV's, so my son and I were able to catch the latest episode of the Walking Dead while we were in Maui.

The condo could use a splash of Paint, and some of the shelves in the fridge were broken, but we considered these to be of no consequence.

I'd highly recommend this condo. We're already planning our return trip, but may come down a month Earlier, in September. We are a family of 4, mom, dad, 18 year old daughter and a 12 year old son. We loved this unit. We're from Alberta, and did not look forward to returning to the -25 Temps that greeted us.

If you plan on being in Maui on a Saturday, make it a point to travel to the MAUI SWAP MEET at the College. Buy ALL your souvenirs there. You'll literally spend half the money you'd spend buying stuff on the strip. (and may even find some REAL Hawaiian Trinkets that don't say "MADE IN CHINA")

On a side note: 8 days is not enough time to spend in Maui. Please budget for a minimum of 10 days. You won't regret it, I promise.

I'm including a Picture of the Resort Map, which may be helpful in choosing the building that you may want to stay in.

Room Tip: Building 10 is closest to the Beach and South Kihei Road.Building 5 and 6 overlook the pool.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We planed a family trip to Maui and decided on this Condo complex because we had herd it was nice. These units are all privately owned so each one is decorated to the taste of the owner and may be updated or really outdated depending on what one you get. It`s not easy to tell from the pics they put up.
We had unit 208 in Bldg 4 facing the back. Pool and garden side is way nicer but no big deal. the location was great and you just cross the street to go to a very nice beach and lots of good beaches on the island to go to. Our unit was nice and up to date except for the comments in the other section but no deal breakers.The complex offers free WIFI and Each Bldg had a BBQ area with two BBQ`s. Both the area and grills were nice and clean. There is a very nice pool and a hot tub for adults and one for everyone as well as a little baby pool. The grounds are kept very clean and done up very nice with lots of plants trees and fountains and parking for your unit if you rent a car,which you should. It`s a relatively small island and it`s nice to be able to drive around and see and do things since there is no shortage of things to do.
I did a day of scuba diving and it was the best dive i have ever done. Lots of fish in clear blue water. I only saw one sea turtle but people see them everywhere. You could spend the money to go on a snorkel execution but i recommend renting some gear and doing it right of of any beach. That was just as good or better than most dives i have done.Besides a lot of those boats end up at the same places you will be and you did not spend the money to do it.
Lots of good shopping and the people are very friendly. Because it`s a US State, it make most things feel familiar and you don't worry about drinking the water.
The weather is completely different in all over the island. Each area has it`s own climate systems and Kiihei is considered more desert and has much less rain than other areas.
At the end of the day, Maui is a fantastic destination with great value but keep in mind that it will be way more expensive than a Mexican all inclusive resort.

Room Tip: This will be hard to do because the pictures always look great online. Don`t get me wrong, my rental...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irishgreen343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We booked our Maui vacation package through Hawaiian Airlines. We stayed at the Castle Kamaole Sands in a condo that is a vacation rental by owner, #9-210. When we entered the condo it smelled extremely old and appeared to be very run down and dirty. There are black handprint marks all over each door and the walls are very filthy as if they have never been cleaned. The showers are very old and the shower heads barely work properly. The bedroom shower handle broke while we were at the condo. We called the front desk and they said they would come that afternoon to fix it. Though after 3 days they never came. There is next to nothing as far as kitchen supplies and what is there is practically unusable. The cooking utensils were rusted, the non-stick portion of the pans was peeling out, and the toaster was broken. The cooking utensils that were in the drawer were covered in old eggs. The furniture in the dining and living room is wicker and pieces were sticking out that caused our child to get hurt. The beds are extremely uncomfortable and the linens were stained and dirty. The pull out sofa was so thin you could sit on it and feel the metal underneath. The carpet is so dirty it turns your feet black almost instantly. The AC is only in the living room and is so loud you have to turn it off to watch the tv. The table lamp in the living room had a broken lampshade and the patio light is completely inoperable. The curtains in the bedroom are stained badly and smell horribly. The sofa side table is wicker and topped with glass. Instead of cleaning it before our arrival the housekeeping only turned the glass over so the last occupants sticky mess was just on the underside of it and clearly visible. There are absolutely no cleaning supplies made readily available either.

DO NOT STAY IN THIS CONDO!!!!!!!! HORRIBLE and the customer service sucks! Absolutely not worth the money. We had hopes of staying in and cooking our meals though with the unsanitary kitchen, no cleaning supplies, and practically nothing to cook with we were still forced to eat out.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We came across this property by accident. I read the amenities and thought it might be too good to be true. It surpassed our expectations. They room was immaculate and very well furnished and decorated. Full kitchen, washer/dryer, bedroom suite and sofa bed in the living room area. The room was also stocked with supplies. Laundry detergent, dryer sheets, dish washer soap, beach chairs, beach towels, ice chest, WOW! We were able to cook to save money, even took the ice chest to Haleakale to keep our beverages cold! Great accommodations. There was a few mis communications, but where handled quickly and efficiently by the staff. YES, we will be staying there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the outer perimeter are farther from the pool, but are so quite and serene.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We recently returned from a visit to Maui staying at the Castle Kamaole Sands unit 7206.
The first thing you see as you enter the unit is a sign asking you to remove your shoes. You should ignore this sign as your feet or socks will be dirtier than the bottom of your shoes within minutes.
On the second day we noticed we had house guests in the form of cockroaches. The management said they would spray however we only noticed more roaches. The management said they would bring in an outside service to do a professional spray. This did not happen while we were there but they said they would do it after we had left.
This was our 6th visit to this property and has us now considering whether we will go back.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Herb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Kamaole sands is beautiful! It's in the best part of Maui (Kihei) we've been 6 times out of 8 yrs. if u can, try and book in buildings 1,2,7 or 10. We have only stayed in building 10 and love it. The grounds are beautiful and the BBQ's are fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
0.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,145 reviews
22.8 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,559 reviews
21.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,094 reviews
22.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamaole Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamaole Sands

Address: 2695 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8678
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: $146 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kamaole Sands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamaole Sands is set amid tropical gardens with waterfalls and ponds, across from a scenic Maui beack park. One-, two-, and three-bedroom suites have full-kitchens and washer/dryers. Amenities include tennis courts, a swimming pool and kids wading pool, jet spas, barbecue grills, and a weekly Mai Tai party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kamaole Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamaole Sands Hotel Kihei
Kamaole Sands Maui/Kihei
Castle Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing