We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation”
Review of Kamaole Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kamaole Sands
Ranked #12 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I took my two kids (10 and 11 yr old), mom and nephew to Maui and we stayed here!! It was a very nice place. We enjoyed how spacious it was and having a kitchen was the best because we were able to save a lot of money. The price for 3 nights 4 days was very reasonable too. We would definitely stay here again!!

This was our first time to Maui also so the place made for a great first impression!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanigyrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (972)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 972 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

nothing fancy but this unit had everything needed for a comfortable and enjoyable stay. beautiful lanai, close to beach and very spacious. would recommend some upgrades. as others have mentioned, the carpets need to go as do the curtains. But it was clean and homey. The resort was beautiful. Great pool and well kept grounds. lots of beautiful trees, flowers, birds etc. I was here with my 10month old and it was perfect. very family friendly. everyone was up early and things quieted down early at night as well. Front desk staff were pleasant with the exception of the man who was working the night we arrived. he was rude and unhelpful, luckily never saw him again! would definitely come back to kam sands again!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noahsmama711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Let me say this right off...all the units vary depending on owner. The one we rented was fine, but not luxurious. Think old pillows and cheap sheets, but the kitchen is well stocked and the grounds are gorgeous. Some peeling paint on the doors but the kitchen was fairly new in remodeling. One bathroom was newer, the other in the master bedroom in need of an update. If you plan on spending alot of time in your condo, go to Wailea and spend more money but if you're on a budget like us, this unit will be fine... Just have reasonable expectations. Check in was efficient... Lots of stuff close by.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobbymcsnoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Family with 2 kids (3 and 7). We booked through expedia and stayed here 3 nights before heading to Kaanapali. For a short stay, rates on through the online services can be a great deal (no cleaning fee).

Unit – We’ve stayed at this complex before booking direct through an owner. At that time, we knew exactly which unit we would get so everything worked out great. I was a little concerned booking through Castle since you don’t know what unit you’ll get until you arrive. We were pleasantly surprised with the unit – it was nice, clean with a brand new kitchen (granite counters, stainless appliances) and great huge deck with partial ocean view (even from back of complex). Air con and washer/dryer also worked great. Our only concern was the tiny bugs that we saw crawling on the kitchen counter - they looked like baby spiders. Every time we looked carefully, we could see a few of them. There were signs posted outside indicating they were going to spray all the units for “pests” so I assumed it was not just our unit and that the management was aware.

Resort – Property has some nice pathways through lawns and gardens. There is a small round kids pool and larger pool – water is a bit cold. The complex is huge and our unit was at the back farthest from the beach. It’s a 3-4 block walk when you include walking across the grassy park so we drove to the beaches – our kids are young and we had to carry a lot “stuff”.

Service – front desk folks were nice. From there, you’re pretty much on your own.

Location – This area is one of the best locations in Kihei. Kamaole III and II beaches are great – there is lots of space, the entry into the water is gradual (no strong shore breaks which makes for better boogie boarding than in Kaanapali) and the rock formations between beaches are a fun place to explore for sea life. There are little shops and restaurants within walking distance but you are far enough from the bigger shopping busier plazas.

This is our second time in Kihei and at this resort and we would definitely come back – great value, well managed property and great location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MekkTekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Our condo was in great condition. We had all the cookware we needed. The place was clean and tranquil. We loved having our breakfast on the patio. The condo also provided beach chairs, mats and boogie boards for our use. We didn't have an iron or ironing board at first, but the staff got right on it and brought it to our room. I'm really surprised by some of the reviews about this resort. I guess some owners don't care as much about their condo as others. Anyway, we had a great time and would go there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

great location but we had to endure 6 nights of stay without air-conditioning. wished they would had offer to give us another condo to stay.
Perhaps next time they should check if all systems are working. Maintenance people were nice. WE have always stayed at Maui Banyan but we thought to try this property , wrong move.. We will not stay there again.
Also, we I called about the air-con not working, whoever came in to clean the air-fliters.. they got washed in the hall way bathroom and left a mess!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Beautiful grounds but... 7am recycling of trash wakes us up every day with the wonderful sound of breaking glass ,not to be outdone by the raking of the parking lot! The main attraction is the street directly behind us which is used very frequently by large trucks making tons of noise as they cross the speed bumps. Right now I am listening to the relaxing melody of a concrete saw. ahhh soothing! When I took my concerns to the staff at the front desk a "gentleman" informed me that the grounds people were a separate company and he had no control even though quiet hours are clearly marked as 10 pm to 8 am. His non caring attitude and lack of sympathy will stay with me for a lifetime.I have been to Maui many times and stayed all over Kihei but have never experienced this level of fun . I guess it is not always this way but this is my review of MY stay. Update 10:30 the jackhammer has started now I can relax!!!

Room Tip: go to Maui Hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
0.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,185 reviews
22.8 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,637 reviews
21.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn Maui Wailea
0.6 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#4 of 60 in Kihei
543 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamaole Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamaole Sands

Address: 2695 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8678
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: $155 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kamaole Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamaole Sands is set amid tropical gardens with waterfalls and ponds, across from a scenic Maui beack park. One-, two-, and three-bedroom suites have full-kitchens and washer/dryers. Amenities include tennis courts, a swimming pool and kids wading pool, jet spas, barbecue grills, and a weekly Mai Tai party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kamaole Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamaole Sands Hotel Kihei
Kamaole Sands Maui/Kihei
Castle Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing