We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kamaole Sands is Super for Most”
Review of Kamaole Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kamaole Sands
Ranked #13 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
GRANITE BAY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Kamaole Sands is Super for Most”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I am an owner at Kamaole Sands and it is disappointing that a few can make trouble for most. There are 440 condos at Kam Sands; all are individually owned; 95% are upgraded. I really appreciate when someone identifies the exact condo they were unhappy with because there are so many really nice condos. We have everything here a vacationer could want...a great pool area, four tennis courts, a large central courtyard with flowers and trees, across the street from Kamaole Beach 3, super TV access, free WiFI at the pool and reception (and in every unit by May 2013). There is a free MaiTai party at the pool with Hawaiian music and hula dancers most Wednesdays. My suggestion for the vacationer is that they ask for pictures of the condo they are considering. Ask about the things which concern you such as view or A/C or the upgrading. Prices at Kam Sands are reasonable when compared with close by Wailea prices. I am very sorry for the few who had a bad experience, but most vacationers have a terrific time here at Kam Sands.

Room Tip: Ask if the condo has been upgraded; ask for pictures; Buildings 1-3, 5-7, and 10 are on the inner co...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank LOIS K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    343
    130
    78
    63
See reviews for
393
264
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We booked through VRBO. luxury condo turned out to be dull and dreary...no sun. Mold in bathroom, shower door coming off and toilet seat broken. Yes, there were nice granite counter tops but already the kitchen cabinets were stained.
Would never stay here again. We also never used the pool, spa etc and felt that a resort fee was a rip off.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, Manager at Kamaole Sands, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to offer your review. We appreciate it.
Please let me know what the unit number was so that we can alert the owner of the unit of their mold issues.
Kamaole Sands has 440 units, numerous management companies, and more than half of the units are in some sort of VRBO situation.
Thanks & regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our family of four (kids 8 and 10) stayed here in Early December and had a fantastic time! We found the condo very clean and equipped with all the amenities to make our stay feel at home. There were plenty of beach toys for the kids and the boogie boards were in great shape. The kids slept of the pullout in the living room with the best view by far. Alarm clocks weren’t needed as they awoke to the sounds of the tropical birds at sunrise.
The condo sits at the back end of the complex so is far from the busy traffic and noise from S. Kihei Road. This makes for a bit of a longer walk to the beach, but easy none the less. The grounds for Kamaole Sands are beautiful and the pool is located right below the condo for easy access. The bbq’s on the grounds were in excellent condition, with at least one always open, and a great social atmosphere amongst all the guests.
The location of Kamaole Sands is across from one of the nicest of the Kamaole beaches and easy access to the others. The owners were very easy to seal with and accommodating with all our needs. A great vacation getaway for the family.
The VRBO listing for the condo we stayed at is VRBO Listing #275710

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batman3287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had our first vacation in Maui at Christmas 2012. Upon arriving at Kamaole Sands on Christmas Eve at approx. 9 pm we were told that we had to lug our suitcases and groceries by foot from the reception area to the condo located at the very back of the 15 acre property. Not amused. The condo was clean and spacious upon arrival and all amenities were as described. The condo unit had a large lanai (ground floor), but we were facing north -- no morning or afternoon sun. As a result, we found the unit to be very dreary and dark. We needed the lights on all day. Disappointing. Our "garden view' turned out to be looking at the grass beside the road. When we booked through Expedia, we were told that we were getting the room for 50% off
at $205 per night. When we looked at the room rates on the door of the unit, the top rate was posted at $275! Furthermore, when we contacted the resort to find out which building we were going to be assigned to, the person there said that for the rate we paid we couldn't expect one of the better buildings. Not impressed with this reception - and that was before we got there.
Each condo in the complex is owner operated and as a result has different levels of amenities. Ours had wi-fi, flat screen TV, comfortable couch/chairs, and a very well equipped kitchen. A mid stay cleaning was included in our fee.
The grounds at Kamaole Sands were spacious and very well kept. The pool area was very clean with plentiful chairs / loungers. For a mandatory $25 resort fee we were provided with wireless internet at the pool area, daily newspapers, introductory familiarization session conducted by Expedia, and a weekly Manager's Mai Tai reception on Wednesdays.
There are numerous eating establishments within a 15 minute walk of Kamaole Sands with prices ranging from budget to high. Our favourite was the 808 Bistro behind Freds Mexican Restaurant. Both worth going to again.
The complex is right across from Kamaole Sands Beach III which has lovely sand and great coral reefs ideal for snorkeling right off the beach.

Room Tip: Avoid buildings 4, 8 and 9 as they have horrible views from the lanai / balcony of the streets adjac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank semiquavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Our room was beautiful, check in was quick and informative, all the staff was friendly. We were told there were 15 different management companies for the condos and they are the only one on site. We had a 1 bedroom 2 bath condo (building 8, room 8-207) the kitchen and bathrooms were gorgeous and appeared to be recently updated. The rest of the furniture was wicker, not beautiful but comfortable and served its purpose. Our "lanai" aka deck with patio furniture had a partial ocean view. We would definitely stay here again and would encourage friends and family to stay here (or buy here I they wanted!). We used the pool/hot tub once since the ocean was so close but the hot tub and pool area were clean and pretty. I recommend if you are a light sleeper, like I am, bring an eye mask. It was kinda bright in the bedroom. I picked up one for $3 at Kmart and slept well. Also, the washer and dryer worked well we used them several times. The dishwasher, stove, fridge,and microwave worked perfectly also. We really enjoyed this condo! (I stayed here for 7 days with my grandmother who's in her mid 60's and I'm 27, we both loved it!)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kgraves2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here over a year ago. The grounds were very well kept and the beach in front of the complex was very nice. But, we were not careful about which unit we booked, we got a condo that was in the very back, facing a fence and near the parking lot on the bottom floor. The unit was pretty run down. I think we payed top dollar for this too, so we probably wouldn't go back to this place unless we got something facing the ocean. Also, for a complex this size there is only one pool.

Room Tip: Be careful to check where the unit is located, the unit we had was in the back, ground floor; no vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank theo01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed in building 5-415 in December. We had a late check in and in the morning were pleasantly surprised to discover that our lanai overlooked the beautiful grounds and had a full ocean view. This complex is well located with walkable beaches right across the street and some good eateries are also in easy walking distance. The large flat screen TV in the loft was great as was free internet connection. On the negative side, the furnishings were old and worn and the unit was poorly equipped. There were no cleaning supplies provided at all; not even dishsoap. The kitchen was adequate and was completely devoid of any supplies, eg: salt and pepper. The beds were reasonably comfy with good quality bedding save for the pillows which were flat as pancakes. Really. Had to stuff 2 into a pillowcase. Beach towels and chairs would've been a nice-to-have. There were no bugs and our building and unit was sprayed while we were there. To sum up, the view and stunning sunsets made up for all of the deficiencies. I would rate this complex as very good but this particular unit average.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manypots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
0.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
21.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,938 reviews
22.8 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
2.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.2 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamaole Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamaole Sands

Property: Kamaole Sands
Address: 2695 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8678
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kamaole Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamaole Sands is set amid tropical gardens with waterfalls and ponds, across from a scenic Maui beack park. One-, two-, and three-bedroom suites have full-kitchens and washer/dryers. Amenities include tennis courts, a swimming pool and kids wading pool, jet spas, barbecue grills, and a weekly Mai Tai party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kamaole Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamaole Sands Hotel Kihei
Kamaole Sands Maui/Kihei
Castle Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing