We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough but..”
Review of Kamaole Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kamaole Sands
Ranked #13 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Nice enough but..”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We rented a very nice unit with a decent view. Our first disappointment was with the office staff...rude and unhelpful. Fortunately, we only had to deal with them one other time.

Ingress and egress into the property is not easy and parking is tight; especially if there is a full-size vehicle next to you. Even if everyone parks dead center, not much room to get in and out of your car.

The poperty is directly accross the street from a popular park. Convenient for those who have kids with them.

Our unit, and several we considered, only had A/C in the living room. This turned out to be a MAJOR problem. We had an ocean view which meant the setting sun shined directly into the unit; including the master bedroom. The bedroom traped the heat from the sun. Even with the ceiling fan and three other fans going, the bedroom did not cool off enough for a comfortable nights sleep. One us had to sleep on the couch under the only A/C and the other had to tough it out. Opening the windows did not help. Leaving the air and fans on all day did not either. It is just uncomfortable in the bedroom....period.

Also, we had construction next door for one day. Very annoying. Also, we learned management changed something with the plumbing about a year ago which has caused toilets to stop up. Also, annoying.

If I could find a unit with full A/C, I might consider staying here again but given everything, I recommend staying elsewhere.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Phun-seekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Kamaole Sands, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to write a response. I'm not sure you stayed in a unit that we manage, but we do manage the front desk staff and we will address your rudeness comments with them. We apologize if you felt slighted in anyway. It is your comments that help improve our service. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    343
    130
    78
    63
See reviews for
393
264
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was our first stay at Kam Sands and we were very excited to be just across the road from one our favorite beaches Kam Beach 3. The unit we stayed in was very close to the pool and also just a short walk to the beach. It was nicely updated and had great decor throughout. However, the property management and staff were a constant nag and seemed to be right there when we were above a whisper be it in the pool or in our own condo. I have a 10mo old and 2 & 1/2 yr old and on our 2nd night the kids still hadnt adjusted to the time change and so we were up very early and decided to go for a walk instead of making noise while everyone else slept. On our return we were harrased by managment above our unit and then she proceeded to call our condo 2min later. I was trying to be respectful of others and be as quiet as possible by leaving with my two little ones, yet still managed to make too much noise in doing so. So I guess if you are retired or are traveling with no kids this spot will work just fine. But still keep in mind the staff will be on you for any loud noise at all...that goes for enjoying the pool. We were in the baby pool with just my husband and 10mo old and no others around and they still had to tell us to be quiet. (I dont consider us to be a rowdy bunch...really!) In talking with others at the pool I found out we were not the only ones who had "been in trouble" with the staff. So in the future we will be staying at a different place that is more kid friendly and not so stringent with their noise level. It is a vacation after all and we should be able to enjoy ourselves and not have to walk on eggshells the entire time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kcsapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Kamaole Sands, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to write your comments. We do understand your concerns re: noise. I will ask the staff to be more understanding/considerate when approaching guests with young children. We are a wonderful complex and do not want guests to feel uncomfortable at any time. We do, however, let guests know at check in that quiet hours begin at 10 pm for the comfort of all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

In general, the Kam Sands is fine in that it does the trick for thise in need of a resort-lite experience near the beach. Some dos and don'ts:
Do: expect your mixed grill of vacationers, time sharers and locals of all ages.
Do: buy some ant traps while you're making your grocery run.
Do: head to the pool, especially on windy days. There's a little reception on Wednesdays, and the pool is large and clean.
Don't: Take a unit near the stairs or elevators, unless you want to hear foot traffic outside your bedroom as if it's IN your bedroom. (Due to the way the bedroom is vented.)
Don't: expect repair issues to get fixed right away--or ever.
Don't: play Marco polo at the pool. No joke; pool security shuts down any attempt at this game, no matter how nicely or quietly your children may play it.

Nice grounds, so-so units that are badly formatted for the flow of cool air. One bedroom units are fine for a family of 3, considering there's little closet space. Front desk staff are on the off-putting side; you might find the gated parking lot a comfort or a pain, depending on your temprament for such things. Not too close nor too far from S Kihei Road and Kam 3 beach, but not as close as stumbling distance to restaurants and bars as some other offerings.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiCondoMarina, Manager at Kamaole Sands, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank you very much) for your helpful review of Kamaole Sands. You did not specify who you booked through, but we are Maui Condo and Home, a vacation rental management company who manages many units at Kamaole Sands. Thank you for sharing your do’s and Don’ts as I know many readers appreciate it. Kamaole Sands has always been a Family Friendly property and it may have been that in the past the noise complaints have been very strong from other guests, so games such as Marco –polo are now frowned upon. I do agree that this property is in great proximity to Kamaole 3 Beach, which is a favorite beach for many. As a property management company we do try our best to make our guests feel welcome and feel as though they are at their home away from Home. We thank you for staying at Kamaole Sands and we hope that you return on your next Maui Vacation. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us.
Mahalo, Marina, Maui Condo and Home, LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The grounds are very nice. Can't complain about access to a great beach right across the street. The units are spacious and almost all of them fact the garden or partial ocean view. Problem is having the bedroom in the back with no air conditioning can make for a warm or noisy night. Other minor complaints, no wireless access in the units and poolside tile becomes scorching hot during the day. Otherwise a decent place to stay.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are great for kids to play on the grass and access the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Kamaole Sands, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your response. Kamaole Sands does have great and spacious units with the 1 bedroom being the smallest at 818 sq. ft. which includes 2 bathrooms, full kitchen,spacious livimng room, and washer/dryer. WIFI property wide is coming soon. WIFI is currently available at the pool and the registration lobby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was a wonderful place to stay within walking distance to great beaches and restaurants. This was a mom and daughter trip that was packed with activities.Our unit was ground level with a partial ocean view. We sat outside in the afternoon and read while having cocktails. We walked right across the street to sun and swim at the beach. There were many snorkelers that saw turtles too. It does get very windy around 1 o'clock in the afternoon, so we walked back to the pool or went shopping. The condos are individually owned and so we had very nice furnishings. Our unit had boogie boards, two sizes of ice chests, rattan beach mats, noodles and beach umbrellas. The only thing we missed were beach towels which we ended up buying. The staff was very attentive and we did have housekeeping once as we stayed for 7 nights. If you are planning to do alot up in Lahaina or Kaanapali it is quite a drive, about 35 minutes.

Room Tip: Pay more for the garden or partial ocean view it would be well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiCondoMarina, Manager at Kamaole Sands, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Aloha! Thank you for your review and for sharing your mom and daughter trip to Kamaole Sands. I agree that the Kamaole Sands is in a Great location and is within walking distance of restaurants and kamaole III beach, located across the street. It is very exciting that you got to see Honu’s (Sea Turtles) while snorkeling. I still get excited each time I see them while snorkeling. I am not sure if we were your rental agent, but we are happy that you and your daughter had a great trip to Maui and that you enjoyed Kamaole Sands. Please consider Kamaole Sands on your next relaxing trip to Maui.
Mahalo, Marina, Maui Condo and Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

It was the perfect place for visitors on vacation. Right across the street was the beach! Close to shops and restaurants along with the nightlife. There was also a grocery store not to far away and there was a discounted price for those staying in the condos. This is perfect if you don't like eating out every night. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shanice_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Kamaole Sands, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind responses and happy to hear that we are the perfect place. You are correct the Kamaole Sands is within walking distance to beach, restaurants, and shopping. Everyone that checks in to the Kamaole Sands receives our Foodland discount card offered to all Kamaole Sands guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had a great stay at Kamaole Sands! We stayed on the ground floor so our two kids could run around on the grass. The beach across the street is perfect for playing with kids and boogie boarding on small waves. We stayed right above the pool which was great to swim in also. The staff was courteous and very attentive! We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kailuakona96740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Kamaole Sands, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
We appreciate your kind remarks and thank you for taking the time to comment about our staff and location.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
0.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
21.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,938 reviews
22.8 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
2.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.2 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamaole Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamaole Sands

Property: Kamaole Sands
Address: 2695 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8678
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kamaole Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamaole Sands is set amid tropical gardens with waterfalls and ponds, across from a scenic Maui beack park. One-, two-, and three-bedroom suites have full-kitchens and washer/dryers. Amenities include tennis courts, a swimming pool and kids wading pool, jet spas, barbecue grills, and a weekly Mai Tai party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Kamaole Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamaole Sands Hotel Kihei
Kamaole Sands Maui/Kihei
Castle Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing