We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unit #A402”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haleakala Shores Condos
Ranked #34 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unit #A402”
Reviewed July 25, 2008

UNIT #A402 - as with many other reviews of this excellent property - we thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay from July 12th to July 19th. Everything in the unit is top quality - very clean - very comfortable King Bed. Directions to the condo provided by the owner were "right on" and easy to follow. Our day time to Hana was the highlight of our week there. KAM III beach in front of the condo is very nice with a lifeguard on duty. The Park has many people using it during the day which makes for interesting viewing while you're having breakfast or lunch on the lanai. Only negative which has been mentioned before and is out of control of the owner - is the very busy Kihei Rd. in front of the condo. At times it unfortunately drowns out the beautiful sound of the ocean during the day. For an excellent spot to watch a sunset - walk to "Fred's" Mexican Restaurant which is about one block from the condo. We had supper there three times around 6:30 and was able to get a table for 2 on their outside patio each time - what a great way to have a drink with supper and watch the sunset.

Overall - my wife & I would highly recommend this unit to anyone visiting Maui and we would certainly try to rent this unit again if returning to the island. MAHOLA!!!!

  • Liked — Location - very clean.
  • Disliked — Noisy Road at times in front of the Condo.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank CANADIANEH53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    26
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
55
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freeland Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2008

My wife & I celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary in Maui and it was a great trip. Unit A402 is an excellent value for those looking to stay in the Kiehi area. This unit is very clean, has both a washer/dryer, fully equipped kitchen (stove, refrig, ice maker, coffee maker, toaster, microwave, etc). It also has everything you could possibly need when going to the beaches (towels, chairs, portable ice chest, floaties, even a boggie board)!

What my wife & I liked most about the A402 was how CLEAN and WELL MAINTAINED it was. Everything in the condo A402 was A+ in excellent shape and WORKED.

The king size bed was wonderfully soft and had top quality linens on it. We didn't use the double beds in the other section of condo. Having two bathrooms in the A402 was also a huge plus nice large double sink counter in both (FYI the bathrooms are equipped with stand up showers, no tubs).

Now there are two things about the building that you need to be aware of so you have all sides of staying in Haleakala Shores Condos. One, the building is OLD (elevator needs renovation BIG TIME). TWO, the noise -- South Kiehi road is a MAJOR road for Kiehi and as a result the traffic can get LOUD, it really wasn't a huge deal as we would run the air conditioners at night and those would TOTALLY drown out any external noise.

Outside of those two issues (which btw are totally out of the A402 owner's control) I would DEFINTELY feel comfortable recommending A402 to anyone who is looking for an oceanside condo in maui at a very resonable price.

The last comment I want to make regarding A402 is that if my wife & I come back to MAUI again (probably with our children for trip #2). We would make every effort to try and get this condo again. It's that good!

Mahalo!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Views from the lanai, 18ft bamboo cealings
  • Disliked — Elevator, South Kihei Road Noise
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank THEBACKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2008

Please be careful when renting from this location and leaving a deposit, especially from Bryan Soloman of Century 21 Award. We gave more than two months notice of cancellation due to ATA airlines filing bankruptcy and cancelling all flights which left us stranded losing over $2800.

After pleading multiple times for a refund of our deposit and getting rejected. We finally ended up disputing through the credit card comapny, in which he emails a reply "Say goodbye to a resolution".

In other words, they have NO intentions of giving a refund even if they do rent the week to someone else.

  • Liked — zip
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
13 Thank NEVER_AGAIN_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2008

We have been vacationing in Hawaii since 1990. Early on we visited a few of the other islands and then agreed that Maui was our favorite. Snorkeling in Maui is the best.

While in Maui, we have always stayed in Kihei. Kihei offers affordable accomodations and allows us to return each year. The alternative would be to spend more on accomodations and then not be able to visit as often. The choice is clear to us! We can spend the day at Black Rock, Wailea, Honalua, or Kapalua and spend the night in Kihei.

This year we brought another couple with us and split the cost of the condo at Haleakala Shores. It was their first visit to Hawaii so we did all the "tourist" activities that we hadn't done for a few years. We left the condo early each morning and returned to watch the sunset from the lanai. The condo had an excellent ocean view. Other condos have claimed to have an ocean view, although you had to lean over the railing and peer through the trees to find it. This condo really does have an ocean view!

I never cook while in Maui, there are so many wonderful places to eat and vacation means NO COOKING. Fresh seafood is a real treat to someone from the Midwest. However, you couldn't ask for a better stocked kitchen than A402 provided. I can't imagine what the average person could have needed that wasn't available in this kitchen.

Overall this was a great place to stay,

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank SnorkelSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2008

Definitely should consider this condo for a wonderful trip.....fully furnished and well furnished......owner has thought out all needs including providing beach towels, chairs, mats, etc....Price is right as well

We had a family of four and it was perfect......right across from beach and park that has excellent snorkling and swimming and lifeguards...close to shopping for walking and very close to Wailea and makena for excellent golf and beaches and cuisine and shopping as well

We have been to south kihei 9 prior times in condos and this is best one to date and will return w/o hesitation. Street noise may affect some but listening to waves is what dominates and access and locale cannot be beaten.....building occupants were quiet and overall experience is excellent

  • Liked — location and improvements
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DMS56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donscan, Owner at Haleakala Shores Condos, responded to this review, April 1, 2008
Review written for unit A402
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2008

I just had the experience of renting both the highly-rated A402 unit, and its companion A401; I located them both via VRBO. These 2 are the only units on the top floor at the front of the complex, where they have windows completely across and get full views (unlike other units further back with just lanais which stick out the side). Their layouts are mirror-images of each other. As has been mentioned in other reviews, A402 is meticulously cared for by an owner who lives nearby and is on-site supervising cleaning and maintenance. Its interior finishing and decor is very pleasant and tasteful, and is fairly upscale without being flashy. A401 is not up to the same standards, particularly in the kitchen and living area; the landlord is not local, and the interior decor is surprisingly dark and very basic in comparison; however its bathrooms have been recently upgraded quite successfully and I liked them a lot. The kitchen is very basic and the supplies are rather haphazard. Its not bad; in general it just has a funkier "beach cottage" feel, unlike A402 where the owner is trying for luxury surroundings at mid-range prices. A401 does have a large flat-screen TV unlike A402; however it was accompanied by literally the cheesiest "home theater" system I have ever seen in my life and my brother (who is in the high-end audio business) and I got quite a chuckle out of it - luckily we're not on Maui to watch DVDs! Note that each unit has a covered reserved parking-space near the elevator.

The complex itself is old and rather dated; the pool is adequate and has 2 gas grills available. The elevator is in embarrassingly bad shape, like the aftermath of WW III. There was a notice posted in it regarding an upcoming meeting to decide what they were going to do to renovate it.

The HUGE downside is the occasionally horrendous noise-level in the area, mostly from traffic on the super-busy Kihei Road which the units front. Note that this is a big problem for thousands of Kihei condos and not unique to this complex; pretty much anybody who wants to be super-close to the beach in Kihei is stuck with this. At 7 AM there would be leaf-blowers roaring, mowers going, trucks rumbling by etc etc. The absolute worst was unbelievably loud motorcycles roaring around very late at night; at times their thundering quite literally shook the building, and they sometimes seemed to be having drag-races up the road. And naturally the cops completely ignore it; knowing Maui its probably their relatives...

  • Liked — A402 has wired Internet access!!
  • Disliked — A401's dark interior decor
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank notmicro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.1 mi away
Maui Parkshore
Maui Parkshore
#57 of 62 in Kihei
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hale Kamaole
Hale Kamaole
#24 of 62 in Kihei
188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hale Hui Kai Condominium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Aloha Aku Inn & Suites
Aloha Aku Inn & Suites
#28 of 62 in Kihei
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maui Banyan Condos
Maui Banyan Condos
#27 of 62 in Kihei
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maui Kamaole
Maui Kamaole
#3 of 62 in Kihei
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haleakala Shores Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haleakala Shores Condos

Property: Haleakala Shores Condos
Address: 2619 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9627
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Haleakala Shores Condos 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haleakala Shores is a small condo complex directly accross Kihei Rd from Kamaole III beach park. There are 30+ vacation rentals to chose from here. They are all large, bright 2br/2ba units with private lanais. Many offer great beach, ocean, or mountain views. Rare covered parking is also included. Many previous guests have reviewed specific units here and many return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Haleakala Shores Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haleakala Shores Condos Hotel Kihei
Haleakala Shores Condos Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing