We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice condo”
Review of Hale Kamaole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hale Kamaole
Ranked #22 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed in a ground floor condo. No view of the ocean and wasn't remodeled. The condos are older so I would try to get a remodeled one if possible. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. No problems with noise. Lots of Canadians there, we are from the states. Made many nice aquaintances. Fun meeting everyone at the BBQ's at night. These condos are right across the street from a nice beach. Good restaurants within walking distance. We would stay here again as the price was right.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank DaBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Hale Kamaole, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of Hale Kamaole. I am not sure if you stayed in one of the condos we manage, but we appreciate your feedback about the grounds, BBQ area, and close proximity to restaurants like Fred’s Mexican Cantina and Moose McGillycuddy’s. We hope you also got to participate in the sunset conch blowing celebration that the property hosts every night!

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 194 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just back from another Christmas stay at Hale Kamaole.
The grounds are beautiful and the staff all do an outstanding job.
Our unit was one of the best we have stayed in.
Close to the pool and bbq's and a great view of the ocean.
We saw whales on numerous occasions.
We wathed the "Hale Kamaole Conch Band" every evening as the sun was setting.
It is a great spot for all travellers of all ages.
We will be back again next year!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanislanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Just left after a week long visit and would definitely return. I don't think we could have been in a better spot in Kihei. It's on the south end of town so out of the immediate chaos but still walking distance if you want to have dinner and drinks out and avoid the car. Very family friendly. Beach is across the street. Our unit was tucked in and in the back and we still had a view of the ocean from our lanai. Prices were fantastic and unit met all of our needs.

Only issue we had was the neighbors above us. It seemed most folks were low key but this group was loud and rude when I ask them to be quiet (well after suggested quiet time). But, this happens at everywhere so I just hoped for the best. Luckily they checked out the next day so I just forgot about it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shannybannany007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just finished my 12th (I think, but have lost count) stay at Hale Kamaole - in my fourth different unit, this one (341) with a spectacular ocean view. Once again, the barbecue pit camaraderie with (mostly Canadian) other visitors was a highlight. The location is sensational, the price right for a nice but not upscale 2-bedroom condo. The staff is always quick to resolve any issues. Full of happy kids, as always is the case over the holidays, but this senior citizen was every bit as happy. As a diver, I love the 3-minute walk to the Kihei boat ramp; as a beach lover, how can you beat being across the street from one of the nicest beaches on Maui? As a road cyclist, I was in a great starting point for several routes.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We love the Hale Kamaole, and have stayed here several times over the past 3o years (!) It has a large property, creating a feeling of spaciousness away from the hustle-bustle of the busy season in Kihei. The location is second to none, across from Kamaole III beach, so lovely beaches and a large park are close to hand. The 4-way barbeques are a great place to meet people, and they have two pools and a tennis court. It's very family-friendly, but usually quiet place: (one caveat: if you want quiet, don't come between Christmas and New Year's.... there are some large family gatherings that tend to take over the grounds.) Other than that, it feels like a home away from home, with usually well-equipped condos at reasonable prices. The Owner's Coop is very helpful, and things are generally very well kept up. We stayed in unit#119, and were very happy with everything. Hope this helps... we don't hesitate to reccommend it.

Room Tip: If you are able to book through an owner, it may save you some $$ but the Co-op are very helpful and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoomersComoxBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We have stayed at Hale Kamaole on two different trips and we were completely satisfied with our unit. (We rented from the owner.) The grounds are extremely well kept, pools and outdoor grills are cleaned daily, and all staff we met were helpful and friendly. We would definately stay there again. Beach across the street is good swimming and snorkeling and other beaches are a short drive (or walk). A quiet,and well-run condo complex with lots of green space make this a highy recommended lodging choice in Kehei.

Room Tip: We like the 3rd floor (top) for the view. If you have children the first floor might be a better opt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebR_AK89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Hale Kamaole, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Mahalo for your review of the Hale Kamaole. Although you did not rent one of the condos we manage, we still appreciate your kind words about the grounds, staff, and rooms. Kamaole Beach Park III across the street is indeed a very popular family beach here on Maui that guests at the Hale Kamaole love to walk over to.

Happy travels,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have stayed at the Hale Kamaole in 3 different units on 3 different trips. While I like the grounds and the bbq pits and the close proximity to the beach I am disappointed in our unit this year. I wouldn't stay in unit 275 again..it is dirty/dark and dated and poorly equipped. The kitchen is terrible..the appliances and cookware are old and very shabby...if u are not into cooking this won't be a problem. It is also very close to the main road so it is noisy all the time..even at night.
Overall i like staying at the Hale Kamaole but I would stay away from this unit.

Room Tip: Try and find out which units have been updated and well cared for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keeviok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Hale Kamaole, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you for your review of Hale Kamaole. We agree that the location and grounds are great. We manage about 30 condos at Hale Kamaole, but #275 is not one of our units. Sorry you did not find the quality as adequate as your previous visits. You bring up a great point to look at photos of your exact condo before visiting, just to assure certain preferences are met (some prefer hardwood floor, tile floors, carpet, television in bedroom, etc.). We post detailed photos on our site of each condo for this reason. We hope to see you again at Hale Kamaole in the future!

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.1 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#15 of 61 in Kihei
966 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kihei Akahi
Kihei Akahi
#28 of 61 in Kihei
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maui Kamaole
Maui Kamaole
#10 of 61 in Kihei
696 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 61 in Kihei
538 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#4 of 61 in Kihei
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Kamaole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kamaole

Address: 2737 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: $199 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Kamaole 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hale Kamaole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Kamaole Hotel Kihei
Hale Kamaole Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing