We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice beachfront with lots of shopping close by” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hale Kai O'kihei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hale Kai O'kihei
Ranked #31 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice beachfront with lots of shopping close by”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

#302 This is a nice 3rd floor condo...the good is perfect location and it has a private beach for the building that wasn't very busy and there is a grocery store, 2 gyms lots of restaurants, couple bars and there are other beaches all down the street. The condo is fully stocked with everything u need...towels, dishes, blender, beach chairs, cable tv, The bad is the half wall for the shower which makes u climb into the shower to turn it on and get a blast of cold water, the bed was compfy if u each stay on your own side but since it is 2 separate twin mattress' the middle has a big lump but neither of this is a deal breaker and we will stay here again next year

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scortese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your review of Hale Kai O Kihei. Our vacation rental company does not manage the exact condo you stayed in, but we are glad you enjoyed the beachfront location and nearby shops, restaurants, and grocery store. We hope you also got to experience whale watching from your private lanai or the beachfront lawn.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    34
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
18
43
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We just returned from a wonderful time. The new grounds keeper/resident manager is doing an amazing job of taking care of the property! The outside grounds were so nicely maintained, I'm sure the units are owned individually and could vary. Our stay had a peaceful feeling about it. We spent much of the time laying looking up at the palm trees, napping during the day with walks during the morning and sunset. I'd recommend the place to couples or older folk (lower floors) looking for a quiet stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Hale Kai O Kihei. I am glad you found the oceanfront grounds relaxing. Hopefully you were able to see some whales out in front of the property while you were visiting as well!

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

As of Dec 9,2013 Listen carefully! The hot water tank has a defect. Sometime you don't get hot water. The appliances could qualify for museum pieces. For example the owner is so cheap the blender lid doesn't fit and sounds like a 747 is landing in your unit. I have stayed at Hale Kai O'Kihei 3 times and the place has great ocean views from Lanai but couldn't sit at Lanai. Chairs kill your back. So disappointing to have such cheap cheap stuff when I paid $4000 to rent this unit. Great location. Lousy swimming beach. Highly recommend these condos but not this unit. #314 feels like it hasn't had money spent on it since the 60's when it was built. If you rent #314 watch the glass table its not connected. I am amazed I never broke it. By the way I hate complainers! Signing out from FRANK FRANK

Room Tip: Check out #203 or #208 and look at pics on VRBO
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy unit 314, which our vacation rental company manages. We have not received any complaints in the past for this unit and when we went and tested the blender and hot water after you left, everything seemed to work correctly for us. There are four chairs on the lanai. Two are iron decorative chairs and two are adjustable fabric chairs that seem to be a great option for our guests. We did not hear of any issues while you were in the condo, so we wish you would have contacted our management office during your stay and we could have quickly sent someone out to correct any concerns.
We hope you give the Hale Kai O Kihei another try on any return trips to Maui.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Oh my gosh! The new resident manager is Fabulous, she has done more in 7 days here than the Previous manager did in 5 years!! She has instituted an Aloha Friday coffee meet and greet! The yard,building,parking lot, so much Cleaner! We have stayed here for the past 5 Christmas's and are enjoying it tremendously.Pete14921

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petey14921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Aloha,
I am glad to hear you are enjoying your stay at the Hale Kai O Kihei. I am not sure if you are staying at one of the condos our vacation rental company manages there, but glad to hear you are enjoying yourself! We are not affiliated with the onsite resident manager (Francine), but we will make sure to pass on your kind review to her.
Happy holidays,

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We're staying here now in Hale Kai O Kihei, unit 209, arrived 5 days ago. We weren't quite sure what to expect as not many reviews & especially as each unit is individually owned. It is an older building, & is certainly not like the fancy resorts. Don't worry, the location, the views, the sunsets, & the price, more than make up for the lack of any fancy amenities. Our unit is a bit dated & gently worn but it's clean & comfortable.  We had a couple of concerns that were promptly taken care of by the owners.  It looks like there is  some new furniture, a couple of recliners & a dresser for the bedroom. The bed is comfortable, especially for my husband who has a bad back. The kitchen has all the equipment/supplies that you might need for cooking those meals when you want to stay in, there's even a BBQ for grilling.  We found a small cooler to take our picnic lunches in plus a couple of beach chairs & beach mats, so no need to buy those items.  There are ceiling fans in the livingroom & bedroom plus an aiconditioning unit in the front which so far we haven't turned on. The natural breeze with the sound of the ocean waves is more than adequate. Has good free wifi.  There is a small pool, as well, lots of lawn chaises for sunbathing on the lawn.  Location is great, walking distance to a grocery store (with decent prices). & a great starting point for most driving tours of the island. I have to repeat that you don't get any better place for views of a Maui sunset! We'll be back, & in the meantime intend to enjoy the rest of our stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virgilgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Unit #101 for a week this March. Wish we could of stayed longer! We were very impressed. It was equipped with everything we needed- fully stocked kitchen, towels, beach equipment, cooler etc. The location was very quiet and off the main road so hardly no traffic! The views from the lanai were amazing! Beach wasn't super great but good beaches a short drive away! The only complaint we would have was, the bed was very uncomfortable! I was looking forward to sleeping well (as I was away from our 2 young kids) and wasn't able to as the mattress was old and worn out! Could use a new one! We definitely would recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice quiet, reasonable place. We are already saving up to come visit again in the future!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MDThrelfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of Hale Kai O Kihei and condo 101, which we manage. We are glad you enjoyed the oceanfront location and sunset views. I am glad the condo had everything you needed, and will be sure to pass on your comments about the mattress to the owners. We hope to see you again when you return!

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I had a great time there in March 2012, and for a second time June 2012. I loved the beach and warm shallow water in the ocean. Walking distance to a store. In the condos we had everything we needed to cook or relax on the beach. Priceless ocean view.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of Hale Kai O Kihei. I am not sure if you stayed at one of the condos we manage there, but maybe we will see you for a return visit in 2013! We agree that the ocean/sunset views are priceless.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.1 mi away
Aloha Aku Inn & Suites
Aloha Aku Inn & Suites
#24 of 62 in Kihei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
1.0 mi away
Koa Lagoon
Koa Lagoon
#23 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#5 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luana Kai Resort
Luana Kai Resort
#22 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Hale Pau Hana
The Hale Pau Hana
#2 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Kai O'kihei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kai O'kihei

Property: Hale Kai O'kihei
Address: 1310 Uluniu Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8259
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Kai O'kihei 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hale Kai O Kihei is a great three-story condominium complex located in the heart of Kihei, walking distance to shops, restaurants, and Azeka Mall. Each condo has ocean and sunset views.The property has recently been updated with all new sliding windows, front doors, re-paved parking lot, and fresh exterior painting. Hale Kai O Kihei is also under new on-site management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hale Kai O'kihei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Kai o`Kihei Hotel Kihei
Hale Kai O'Kihei Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing