We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hale Kai O'kihei #314”
Review of Hale Kai O'kihei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hale Kai O'kihei
Ranked #30 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

As of Dec 9,2013 Listen carefully! The hot water tank has a defect. Sometime you don't get hot water. The appliances could qualify for museum pieces. For example the owner is so cheap the blender lid doesn't fit and sounds like a 747 is landing in your unit. I have stayed at Hale Kai O'Kihei 3 times and the place has great ocean views from Lanai but couldn't sit at Lanai. Chairs kill your back. So disappointing to have such cheap cheap stuff when I paid $4000 to rent this unit. Great location. Lousy swimming beach. Highly recommend these condos but not this unit. #314 feels like it hasn't had money spent on it since the 60's when it was built. If you rent #314 watch the glass table its not connected. I am amazed I never broke it. By the way I hate complainers! Signing out from FRANK FRANK

Room Tip: Check out #203 or #208 and look at pics on VRBO
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy unit 314, which our vacation rental company manages. We have not received any complaints in the past for this unit and when we went and tested the blender and hot water after you left, everything seemed to work correctly for us. There are four chairs on the lanai. Two are iron decorative chairs and two are adjustable fabric chairs that seem to be a great option for our guests. We did not hear of any issues while you were in the condo, so we wish you would have contacted our management office during your stay and we could have quickly sent someone out to correct any concerns.
We hope you give the Hale Kai O Kihei another try on any return trips to Maui.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 100 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

Oh my gosh! The new resident manager is Fabulous, she has done more in 7 days here than the Previous manager did in 5 years!! She has instituted an Aloha Friday coffee meet and greet! The yard,building,parking lot, so much Cleaner! We have stayed here for the past 5 Christmas's and are enjoying it tremendously.Pete14921

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank petey14921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Aloha,
I am glad to hear you are enjoying your stay at the Hale Kai O Kihei. I am not sure if you are staying at one of the condos our vacation rental company manages there, but glad to hear you are enjoying yourself! We are not affiliated with the onsite resident manager (Francine), but we will make sure to pass on your kind review to her.
Happy holidays,

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We're staying here now in Hale Kai O Kihei, unit 209, arrived 5 days ago. We weren't quite sure what to expect as not many reviews & especially as each unit is individually owned. It is an older building, & is certainly not like the fancy resorts. Don't worry, the location, the views, the sunsets, & the price, more than make up for the lack of any fancy amenities. Our unit is a bit dated & gently worn but it's clean & comfortable.  We had a couple of concerns that were promptly taken care of by the owners.  It looks like there is  some new furniture, a couple of recliners & a dresser for the bedroom. The bed is comfortable, especially for my husband who has a bad back. The kitchen has all the equipment/supplies that you might need for cooking those meals when you want to stay in, there's even a BBQ for grilling.  We found a small cooler to take our picnic lunches in plus a couple of beach chairs & beach mats, so no need to buy those items.  There are ceiling fans in the livingroom & bedroom plus an aiconditioning unit in the front which so far we haven't turned on. The natural breeze with the sound of the ocean waves is more than adequate. Has good free wifi.  There is a small pool, as well, lots of lawn chaises for sunbathing on the lawn.  Location is great, walking distance to a grocery store (with decent prices). & a great starting point for most driving tours of the island. I have to repeat that you don't get any better place for views of a Maui sunset! We'll be back, & in the meantime intend to enjoy the rest of our stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank virgilgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Unit #101 for a week this March. Wish we could of stayed longer! We were very impressed. It was equipped with everything we needed- fully stocked kitchen, towels, beach equipment, cooler etc. The location was very quiet and off the main road so hardly no traffic! The views from the lanai were amazing! Beach wasn't super great but good beaches a short drive away! The only complaint we would have was, the bed was very uncomfortable! I was looking forward to sleeping well (as I was away from our 2 young kids) and wasn't able to as the mattress was old and worn out! Could use a new one! We definitely would recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice quiet, reasonable place. We are already saving up to come visit again in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MDThrelfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for your glowing review of Hale Kai O Kihei and condo 101, which we manage. We are glad you enjoyed the oceanfront location and sunset views. I am glad the condo had everything you needed, and will be sure to pass on your comments about the mattress to the owners. We hope to see you again when you return!

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I had a great time there in March 2012, and for a second time June 2012. I loved the beach and warm shallow water in the ocean. Walking distance to a store. In the condos we had everything we needed to cook or relax on the beach. Priceless ocean view.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Atunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for your review of Hale Kai O Kihei. I am not sure if you stayed at one of the condos we manage there, but maybe we will see you for a return visit in 2013! We agree that the ocean/sunset views are priceless.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great location, off the main road (S. Kihei) so it's quiet and all units are oceanfront! Depends on the unit, but it looks like most are fairly basic, so don't expect a luxury resort (but how much time are you really gonna spend in the unit?).
Our unit was a 2 bedroom, was stocked with clean towels, portable beach chairs and umbrella. There is also lounge chairs in the back by the pool where you can further enjoy your oceanfront experience. I was debating maybe giving it a 3 stars because the apparent "wifi access" was a bit of an overstatement...pretty sure the router is located on the main floor by the laundry, so getting access from the 3rd floor unit was next to impossible (weak reception if sitting on the balcony, basically go sit by the pool if you need internet).

Room Tip: Top floor (3rd) is your best bet unless you don't like climbing stairs (no elevator)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We spent the first week of Nov here in unit 207. Great condo with everything we needed---beach towels, beach chairs, snorkel gear and a full kitchen. The unit was updated and very, very nice. We had a great ocean view with and our balcony was the best place for a magnificent Maui sunset---we were treated to 7 of them! Great location with most major sights--Haleakala and the road to Hana---about 30-45 mins away. Great local beaches at the hotel, as well as a quick drive down the road. Grocery stores , shopping and restaurants were all very close by. The only drawback at all, and it's minor, is that all the other residents sit directly in front of the unit all afternoon and to watch sunset, so it's not always as private as I would have liked. Mahalo

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Holley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you for your kind review of Hale Kai O Kihei. We manage condo # 207, along with about 15 other units at the property. We are glad you enjoyed the condo and will be sure to pass on your kind words to the owner.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
3.1 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 61 in Kihei
538 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kihei Akahi
Kihei Akahi
#28 of 61 in Kihei
315 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nona Lani Cottages
Nona Lani Cottages
#14 of 61 in Kihei
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hale Kamaole
Hale Kamaole
#22 of 61 in Kihei
194 reviews
2.8 mi away
Maui Kamaole
Maui Kamaole
#11 of 61 in Kihei
696 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#6 of 61 in Kihei
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Kai O'kihei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kai O'kihei

Address: 1310 Uluniu Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8259
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: $192 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Kai O'kihei 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hale Kai O Kihei is a great three-story condominium complex located in the heart of Kihei, walking distance to shops, restaurants, and Azeka Mall. Each condo has ocean and sunset views.The property has recently been updated with all new sliding windows, front doors, re-paved parking lot, and fresh exterior painting. Hale Kai O Kihei is also under new on-site management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hale Kai O'kihei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Kai o`Kihei Hotel Kihei
Hale Kai O'Kihei Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing