We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Kai O'kihei

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hale Kai O'kihei to your Saves list
Hale Kai O'kihei
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1310 Uluniu Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed at Hale Kai O'kihei over the holidays in unit #217 and had a fantastic time. We had all the comforts of home: fridge, stove, coffee maker, pots and pans. Plus, everything you could want at to bring to the beach. The building was three flights, and faced due west, we had a fantastic view of the sunset each night. The complex was very quiet, as it was mostly extended families hanging over Christmas. The location was fantastic, we were able to walk to Times (the local food mart) and it was a short drive (5 minutes) to many beaches and other restaurants/bars. The only downside, which for us was incredibly minor, is the beach in front of the complex isn't really a swimming beach. That being said, there are a ridiculous amount of beaches five minutes away.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank skatie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in unit 217! We will be sure to pass on your kind words to the owner. We look forward to hopefully hosting you again in the future.

Mahalo,
Allan
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed in Room 313 for 9 days in December and really enjoyed this place. The complex is three floors high and all rooms are ocean front. The views from the third floor where we stayed were breathtaking. This is not a luxury resort, however, with all the bad and good that comes from it. The complex is very quiet, and would be great for anyone who wants to enjoy spectacular views without crowds. On the other hand, the pool is tiny, and the beach was hardly suitable for swimming - it is very shallow, rocky and covered in seaweed. There is a grocery store right around the corner, which was very helpful, and some decent restaurants within 1 mile range. At the same time, all the fun places and activities and good beaches are not within walking distance - 1.5-3 miles away. Staying in this complex will only work if you rent a car or don't mind taking the bus. The bus stop is one block away from the condo complex, and the bus will take you anywhere (e.g. the airport, Wailea, etc.) but it takes a very long time.
I would recommend Room 313. The furnishings are somewhat old, but the place was spotless, and the owners have been renovating the condo throughout 2011. The kitchen has all the necessities, although anyone looking to cook a 5 course meal will certainly find something missing. The unit comes well stocked with sheets, towels, beach towels, beach chairs, cooler, etc. This unit would be perfect for people who are looking for a place with a "home" feeling rather than luxurious amenities.

Room Tip: The rooms on the third floor have fantastic views, but there is no elevator. Rooms on the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ezhik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury,
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

For the money we paid this was a really good value for Maui. The beach was OK but there was seaweed on the beach which we did not notice at any other beaches. Location was very good, close to shopping and walking distance to the grocery store. The unit was very well stocked with pots, pans, glassware, and other basic items. The pool was small and the water was quite cool, but why use a pool when the ocean is 50 feet away.

Again, good value for Maui.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edgar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed in unit 119 from October 14-29th. This is an older condo, built in 1969, each unit is individually owned, so units vary. Our unit was bright, fresh and clean. The first floor had pros & cons. The view was ok, but higher floors will have a better view. We loved being able to walk out the sliding door and be at the beach in seconds! The beach is not very deep in this area, but fine to set up a chair and enjoy the scenery! Sometimes you'll get a bit of seaweed washed up, but it comes and goes with the tide and size of waves. The beach here is very quiet. If you like a more lively beach, it's just a short distance away. There are a lot of great public beaches in Kihei. The location of the building can't be beat! You can walk to shopping and restaurants within 5-15 minutes. This is not a luxury building, I'd give the property a 3*, compared to some of the other properties in Kihei. But we gave up some of the "ritz" to be ocean front and not across the street. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Find a website to try and book directly from the owners, you'll get a better deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Paulin_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Stayed here with our two kids (9 and 7 years old) for 11 nights in August 2011. It was a beautiful view, right on the beach. Many restaurants within walking distance and short driving distance. The beach in front of the condo was not a good swimming place due to lots of seaweed but there are MANY good beaches within a short driving distance. The pool was on the small side, and we were paranoid because of all the signs to not splash, jump, be loud, etc. but we didn't come to Maui to stay in a pool so that didn't bother us too much. Only one air unit in living room of the condo but our kids (who slept in the bedroom in the back of the unit) complained they were "cold" so obviously it worked well. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliannaML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in 316 for 7 nights and had no complaints. The location was great, close to beaches, restaurants and grocery stores. The place is fully furnished with everything that you need! The interior of our unit could use some updates but that is probably my only complaint. We would definitely come back again!

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Spent four excellent days in unit 312 here, booked with Expedia. The complex is oceanfront but very low-key in a residential neighborhood just off the main drag. We were pleasantly surprised by the exterior, which looks dated in pictures but is actually kinda funky and really clean and well kept. The interior of our unit was superb, completely updated and high-end title treatments in the bathroom and kitchen. The view was amazing and the beach is great for walking. Our only complaint is the small AC unit did not reach to the bedroom, which is parking lot side, but we were able to sleep on the futon. Also there is not an elevator so it could be difficult climbing three flights of stairs for some people. We later spent a few days in a mega-resort on West Maui and regretted leaving this little hidden gem. Definitely recommend if you are into laid-back, quiet lodging instead of luxury resorts packed with 1,000 of your closest friends.

Room Tip: Ask for third floor unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 stars 1,774 reviews
5.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
2.5 mi away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#16 of 63 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
2.9 mi away
Maui Kamaole
Maui Kamaole
#10 of 63 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#24 of 63 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Kai O'kihei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kai O'kihei

Address: 1310 Uluniu Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hale Kai O'kihei 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hale Kai O Kihei is a great three-story condominium complex located in the heart of Kihei, walking distance to shops, restaurants, and Azeka Mall. Each condo has ocean and sunset views.The property has recently been updated with all new sliding windows, front doors, re-paved parking lot, and fresh exterior painting. Hale Kai O Kihei is also under new on-site management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hale Kai O'kihei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Kai o`Kihei Hotel Kihei
Hale Kai O'Kihei Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing