We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch out for "taxes and fees" on all CRC properties”
Review of Hale Kai O'kihei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hale Kai O'kihei
Ranked #31 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Kailua, HI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Watch out for "taxes and fees" on all CRC properties”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I was going to stay here and started the booking process - $105 a night, how cool is that! Then I just happened to notice "taxes and fees" were $147!!! Yes, more than the cost of the room. I thought it was the website so I went to another website, same result. I called a booking agent, same result. Then the woman told me that CRC properties all charge this. She put me in the Aston at the Banyan for $117, plus $40 for taxes and the inevitable resort fee, but hey, I just saved $100 a night. BEWARE

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank kailuagrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
The majority of the visitors to Hale Kai O Kihei stay for extended periods of time. Usually a week or more.
In the past we had a 4 night minimum, however due to demand we will accept bookings for less than this amount. As is common in most condominiums, the cost of the cleaning is added to the folio. With a longer stay this amount spread out over a number of days is fairly inconsequential. When it is for a stay of only one night, it does greatly increase the nightly cost. This is a real expense to the condo owner and without collecting this the owner is better off having the room sit empty. As for taxes.....what can I say, that one is out of our control.
Mahalo for your feedback. It is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    35
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
20
44
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We really enjoyed our 7 days stay in Room 313 at Hale Kai O'Kihei. The location is great, the sea view from the third floor is perfect, and the condo had everything we needed.
We were spending most of the day outside surfing, kite surfing or visiting but when we were in the room it was quiet around.
Well furnished unit with everything you need in the kitchen/living room. Great terrace in front of the sea with table and chairs for the breakfasts.
The bedroom (parking side) gets noisy after 8.00 am to very noisy after 9.30 but we woke up almost every day far earlier than that.
We didn't use the air conditioning as you can leave windows and doors open to ventilate the place.
We would go back to this place if we plan another trip to Maui - Kihei side one day.

Room Tip: ask for the third floor = the best ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank ER_BL_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Staying at HKOK right now and lovin it!! We're staying in Unit 307, yes some of the stuff in here is outdated, but extremely clean and well taken care of. For the price and location you can't beat it. Read a lot of other reviews and all I have to say is, are you staying in your unit 24-7? Because when I'm on vacation I sleep in my unit and thats it! I could be spending thousands of more dollars for my overpriced hotel room and food. The units do have airconditioners but who needs them when you have the island tradewinds blowing through your unit. This is all part of the Aloha experience. Enjoy.

Room Tip: AA Oceanfront Rentals, something for everyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lfinsterwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We've stayed at this property before, different unit. Excellent property, location etc. This unit is not in the best condition - very (out)dated fixtures, hasn't been updated ever that we could tell. Not well stocked with linens either. If there were a price adjustment, it's acceptable. But knowing that the other 1 bedrooms are the same price and are in much better condition makes this less attractive. We like the bottom floor (tsunami and all!), there is quite a bit of foot traffic, this unit in particular with the BBQ being moved to the end of the building.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank suzycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Stayed there for 8 days early March, 2011. Second time staying there. Originally reserved Unit #201 but moved shortly before arrival to #108 due to "claimed" noise from new building next door. Would not stay on ground floor again. We looked out onto a line-up of pool reclining chairs that were often full of people so instead of see the ocean, as claimed, we saw the back of peoples heads. Also, too many folks walking by right in front of our unit. Talked to couple staying in #201 and they said they heard no noise same as others staying in complex. Very convenient (walkable) to grocery store and assorted shops. Bed was against parking lot wall and residential street but we heard no noise at night. We will return there again if we can stay on 2nd or preferably the 3rd floor. No elevator but good exercise if using the stairs. Coin operated laundry. Resident manager/caretaker. Lots of long term renters coming back for years. Unit #108 could use some minor remodeling.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AlohaCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

We stayed in #211 and had no problems with the unit, except the sheets were too well-worn. However, I gave feedback about this and perhaps the owners will do the right thing. I wanted ocean front and that's what we got. Really close, great sunsets. The clientele of this small building is mostly retirees, so it is quiet and we liked that. The beach is a walk over a lawn and is walkable for quite a ways. The location for travel to all other parts of the island is great! A grocery store is within walking distance. The one bad thing is that the water is not a good swimming experience - it is a cloudy brownish color at all times. Forget snorkelling. Oh well, go to all the great beaches on Maui and come back in the evening to enjoy your Pina colada and watch the sunset.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdxspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

We had unit 216 and enjoyed the condo very much. It was really comfortable and well stocked. The view from the lanai is wonderful and we enjoyed listening to the the sound of the ocean every night. The location was convenient, with a ton of restaurants and shops in walking distance. The beach was fine for a nice walk and a quick swim but all the amazing beaches are south. If you stay here, you really have to have a car to be able to get to these beaches. That said, it was nice to play all day among the crowds and then go back to our nice quiet condo for some down time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank starfishsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.1 mi away
Aloha Aku Inn & Suites
Aloha Aku Inn & Suites
#26 of 62 in Kihei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.9 mi away
Koa Lagoon
Koa Lagoon
#17 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#7 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea
2.2 mi away
The Hale Pau Hana
The Hale Pau Hana
#1 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Kai O'kihei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kai O'kihei

Property: Hale Kai O'kihei
Address: 1310 Uluniu Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8259
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Kai O'kihei 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hale Kai O Kihei is a great three-story condominium complex located in the heart of Kihei, walking distance to shops, restaurants, and Azeka Mall. Each condo has ocean and sunset views.The property has recently been updated with all new sliding windows, front doors, re-paved parking lot, and fresh exterior painting. Hale Kai O Kihei is also under new on-site management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Hale Kai O'kihei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Kai o`Kihei Hotel Kihei
Hale Kai O'Kihei Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing