We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very handy little cafe”
Review of Dina's Sandwitch

Dina's Sandwitch
Ranked #60 of 177 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
80 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very handy little cafe”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great location if you stay in north Kihei. It is right in front of the Sugar Beach Resort. Great place to meet locals, have yummy drinks, and a snack. The bartenders are wonderful and everyone was very friendly. Would return on our next trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Timothy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    60
    22
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
State of WA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Small, welcoming, a bit off the beaten tourist path, worth the effort to find. Appears to be a favorite of local population. Good pub type food, full bar. We had a Ruben sandwich and their slider special. Both were quite good. Prices reasonable, especially for Maui. Service very good, very friendly staff, did not experience the "local preferential" treatment others have mentioned. Don't expect a Four Seasons ambiance, just good food, good service, affordable pricing, nice people.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Winekatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have to agree with a couple of the other reviewers that have noticed that the locals get preferential treatment here. That is to be expected to a certain extent, but this was very different from that. We loved the décor of the place with all of the dollar bills posted on every conceivable space on the walls. We had quite a bit of time to admire it though, because even late at night when we went with hardly any customers at all we were made to wait until everyone at the bar was taken care of first. The food was satisfying, but the terrible service bothered me enough that I actually was biased against the food! I've never been to a place as a customer and made to feel unwelcomed. Truly a shame as the place could have been a nice little dive to hang out in.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheCarmacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
2 reviews
“Amazing atmosphere”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were on our honey moon looking for a quick place to eat and stumbled upon Dina's sandwitch. When we first walked in we noticed all the dollar bills hung on the walls. You can take a dollar bill and color on it and post it on the wall as your little gift to them. Although the service is slow the people that work there are some of the most generous people we have met on the island. The food was amazing. I am a healthy eater, so I got the salad with tuna which was amazing, and the second time we went I got the salad with avocado, which was really good but I liked the tuna better. Overall this was a great little spot to grab lunch. It reminded us of a Hawaii cheers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK if you don't want to drive off Sugar Beach”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Limited menu, however the food we tried was tasty. Cold sandwiches, hot dogs, and potato or pasta salads. There were many regulars in the bar area, and the staff absolutely preferred the regulars, giving them fast service while other customers waited, even for water. Dina's was ok if you don't want to leave the resort, you could call in your order and take it to go, which I would recommend.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dina's Sandwitch also viewed

 

Been to Dina's Sandwitch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing