We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good as the truck”

Jawz Fish Tacos Is Style Grill
Ranked #83 of 177 Restaurants in Kihei
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: JAWZ Fish Tacos Restaurant is in Kihei, Maui, located at 1279 South Kihei Road in the Azeka Plaza. We're open daily from 11am - 9pm. Kick back and chill with an endless display of surf videos while enjoying a fish taco or something else from our tasty selection of Mexican food with a Hawaiian twist to keep your JAWZ happy after a great day in the sun. Going surfing? Stop by our roadside JAWZ Fish Tacos Truck on your way to Big Beach or Little Beach, Makena, Maui, for your beach snacks & drinks. Try our famous fish tacos with mouthwatering salsa or cool down with a sweet shaved ice or fruit smoothies. Not to mention our Giant Burritos and Killer Hot Sauces and Hot Dogs too! Surf's Up!
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Just as good as the truck”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Couldn't get over to Makena in time to get tacos from the truck (they leave at five o'clock) as I have in the past so I decided to try the restaurant. It's just a little counter service place in Kihei in a shopping center. A few tables with plastic table cloths but the tacos were just as good as the truck. I told the waiter I wanted the same thing as I got from the truck and he said get the snapper. They have other choices but these were great. Try their secret salsa. If you can't make it to the truck try the restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank drmarkhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    45
    32
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good - Not the best”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

For a quick easy lunch at the Big Beach my family had Jawz from their truck. We enjoyed the nachos, burritos, and tacos, but they are not the best on the island, as claimed. All of the choices were skimpy with the fish/ shrimp. The flavours were spot on, but the tacos and nachos were lacking. The shave ice should be skipped unless you are particularly hot.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukalani, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Fish Tacos”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Jawz Fish Tacos mobile lunch wagon down by Big Beach in Makena. Just look for the lunch wagon with the big shark fin on top. The best fish tacos anywhere on the island- hands down. You basically eat out of the back of your car since it is a food truck. Or, you can take your food to the beach with you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AubreyHord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy road side food”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stopped at a roadside Jawz truck out by Big Beach! Very good food, and very good service. Highly recommend this one! PS, was so good that some of the family made the drive back out to eat there again the following day!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
208 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Roadside Truck near Big Beach”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed fish tacos, one of their signature dishes. They were outstanding in flavour and made fresh right after you ordered and paid at the truck window. Large was $7.50 and extra large was $10.00, so a little pricy. It was cute: as we ate our tacos, the small birds on the adjacent fence flew down beside our feet and fought for little bits of food falling from our feeding frenzy. Two suggested improvements: Use shredded lettuce instead of cabbage and increase the amount of fish. The experience of eating from a roadside truck was fun!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moochie-La-La
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jawz Fish Tacos Is Style Grill also viewed

 

Been to Jawz Fish Tacos Is Style Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing