We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sushi on Maui”

Sansei Seafood Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Sansei Seafood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 179 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best sushi on Maui”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Although I like the atmosphere at the kaanapali location better, this place has "broke da mouf" good sushi. We had all kinds of rolls and our "desert" was the lobster ravioli appetizer. It was so good we ordered a 2nd helping. We sat at the sushi bar so service was great. The kids next to us ordered the fried ice cream & it looked awesome!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Benizziranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    613
    345
    171
    47
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of the Best Restaurants In Kihei”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Happened to be in a Lahaina pharmacy, and mentioned we were moving to a condo in Kehei. The pharmacist told us he used to live there, and make sure we went to Sensei...... we did. Very nice restaurant with excellent food and exceptional service. To make this an additional value, arrive early and get a significant discount!!! This restaurant is best known for their sushi, but there are plenty of "non-sushi" options that are very good..... especially the chicken!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good sushi”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Nice little restaurant with good sushi and alternative foods. Dishes were skillfully plated and tasted as good as they looked. A very large and confusing menu. Go for the sashimi (sushi without rice) you wont fill up as fast and can try more varieties of fish.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caleb42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good food, but terrible service”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Had an ok time. I ordered the calamari and udon soup. The sushi was pretty good, especially the butterfish roll. my husband had the lobster and crab cake pasta. it was yummy! The waitress was very unfriendly, and didn't even offer us dessert, she just gave us the check, so we left.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kdooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“OH YUM !!!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Think I may have found a little piece of Sushi / Saki heaven at the bar of this must do out of the way spot. I had done a little research and knew that this was to be my first dinner stop on a two week tour of the islands. It was not my last! The restaurant was bustling and I lucked into two choice bar seats for my husband and myself. The waitress/bartender had been there a while and her recommendations by our request were superb. We hung with the appetizer menu for the most part. Many of the selections have been awarded accolades by locals and the press and they are spot on. The waitress...gosh I wish I could remember her name,,,paired our selections with Saki suggestions that were perfection and convinced us to return for the half price night later in the week. The bar was full but the Sushi Bar provided another delectable dining adventure. We were so sold on this place that I bought a gift card for a client planning a Maui vacation and made my way to another of their locations on the Big Island. if I didn't have to fly half way around the world to get there, I'd go tonight.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRH1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sansei Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sansei Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing