We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great value for your dollar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sansei Seafood Restaurant

Sansei Seafood Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Sansei Seafood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 166 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian, Pacific Rim, Gluten Free Options
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great value for your dollar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

One of the best places I can recommend to eat on Maui. I ate at both locations and the food was fresh, service was excellent, and the prices very reasonable. Highly recommend trying Sansei.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Xallygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    532
    302
    151
    44
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Really good sushi - so fresh!! Reasonably priced. Decent service. Some very interesting items on the specials menu. The rolls, especially with tuna, were the best things we had.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Taxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Happy hour = half price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went for half price happy hour. Most menu items are half price, Very good food, but not the best I've had. The star of the show is the Tuna. The 17% automatic gratuity is a bit of a turn off - I am a good tipper, but I like to determine the level of service. Some of the items are overpriced for what you get.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thundanutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent sushi but not wowed by dining experience..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We heard great things about this place and were excited to try it out. Menu had lots of options- though a little confusing you can get pork chops in a sushi / seafood restaurant. We ordered some edamame as a starter. It was cold; typically this is served warm so a bit of a disappointment but we ate it nonetheless. Our server was really nice and made good suggestions. Sushi bar was really backed up and took forever. My husband loved the special Kona roll, and I loved the Sansei special roll with shrimp tempura (can't recall the specific names here). Spicy tuna also a hit. We also got the Mango Crab Salad hand roll, which would have been much better if the mango was ripe vs. being hard chunks. Overall, decent sushi but we've definitely had better..

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We tried Sansei because of the consistently good reviews on Trip Advisor. Service was efficient and helpful. Food was very good - snow crab crusted Mahi Mahi and a sushi selection. Recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sansei Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing