We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worked out perfect for us...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maui Beach Vacation Club
Ranked #34 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Reviewed September 30, 2010

After reading some of the reviews, I was a bit worried but it was all good. The place was clean, had everything we needed (corkscrew and pizza cutter:) and staff were helpful and friendly. Beach was great for early morning walks and sunset cocktails. Place was not crowded (therefore quiet) while we were there. We were on the first floor and enjoyed the easy access to pool and hot tub. I can see that during peak, crowded season the place could be noisy (especially with inconsiderate neighbors) but what condo unit in Hawaii wouldn't be? Yes, there are no stores, etc. within walking distance but that was fine with us.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oma2three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 143 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2010

North Kihei is condo city. Not many real hotels, except the Aston Maui Lu which is 1-star. This is across from a great walking beach (4miles long!!), You will find most swimming
beaches in central/south Kihei or in Wailea.. All beaches in the Hawaiian Islands must have public access (you will see signs everywhere!). Some even have full facilities and lifeguards!

For the MBVC, ask for a room on an upper floor so as to get the trade winds, and if possible, an oceanview or poolview. Either are very nice. Keep your louvers open and the overhead fan on and you'll be comfortable if not downright chilly. The 1 bedroom unit we got seems to have been renovated recently. We were thrilled. We were on the 4th floor of building C. and had pool/oceanview. Have only two complaints about the MBVC; no shade around the pool and the restaurant is a japanese one...yuck. I'd rather have a small hotel restaurant or poolbar that serves food. They really should get some pool umbrellas.......The afternoon sun really can scorch you!

This is not the Hilton or Marriott. If that is what you want, go elsewhere. It is nowhere NEAR that fancy nor expensive. BUT it is a very nice condo.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

This was our first trip to Hawaii, and we loved the location of the Maui Vacation Beach Club. The beach is right across the street with a 4 mile beach walk....great for a morning walk. The trees and dunes, on the other side of the road, block out the view of much of the buildings which makes the beach even more beautiful. If you walk early, you might meet a really nice local man with his little white dog, "Wiggles." If you see him, tell him his friends from NC say hello. There is a great farmer's market just up the road on 31 that has fresh organic fruit, amazing banana bread, and great guacamole. You can even walk up the beach, cross the road to the farmer's market, and they will cut a fresh coconut for you to drink. Pretty cool. The staff were great (Diane will help you plan awesome activities), our unit was clean, and we had a view of the ocean from the fourth floor. Great pool, but we spent more time on the beach. Use lots of sun screen!! Yes, there is no air conditioning, but we were never hot with the screen door and windows open...and the ceiling fans. We are from the south east so the weather was a nice break from our heat wave. It does get a little hot in the unit in the late afternoon, but we just planned our day around this. If you are not used to warm weather or being outside alot, it might be harder for you. But always a nice breeze. It does get much windier in the afternoon in Kihei, but the beaches near Paia (on the east side of the island on Highway 36) were much calmer later in the day, and you can watch a georgeous sunset. Here is a tip for those of you using the pull out couch. We were in a one bedroom unit with a pull out couch for our two teenagers. Most pull out couches are a little lumpy, so we just used the blankets (which you won't need) below the sheets to make an extra cushion. Worked like a charm and our kids slept well. On Tuesdays, the Mauii Vacation Beach Club lets you make a laie (with beautiful orchids) and jewelry in the morning and has a great BBQ at lunch time that are free. We loved Makena Beach...also called Big Beach (on Highway 31 south of Kihei) with the huge waves. It is a State Park and was fabulous. All the state parks on Maui are free. We went snorkelling (our first time) to Molokini which was beyond words. We saw many giant turtles....up close. We are big hikers and went to Haleakala National Park for an amazing 5 mile hike down to the rim. Don't be fooled, this is a very rigorous hike and requires lots of water....but the views are amazing. Even if you don't hike, you can drive to the top just for the views. It is cold at the top....so bring a jacket!! Get there early as the clouds come in after lunch time. Loved the town of Paia which is only 7 miles away (near airport) with great restaurants. The Paia Fish Market is wonderful, and it was featured on the food channel in June of 2010. A big local place where everyone sits together, and you will meet some interesting people!! For a splurge ($38-$50 a meal), try Mama's Fish House near Paia on Hana Highway that is worth the price. Don't miss the Aquarium...it's amazing. Listen to 93.5 FM for local Hawaiian music.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissingMauiNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

My wife and I are experienced travelers to Hawaii. This is by far the worst accomodations in the worst location that we have ever experienced. I am writing this as I sit in a unit on the second floor of the hotel-style large-block condos. There is no air-conditioning and many nights are just miserable. I can here a TV blaring from one of the other units, because everyone has their windows open. Each time someone heads into the pool area, the gate crashes loudly closed.

In the morning, don't even think about sleeping in, because the help starts arriving around 7am and they run their little carts around on the concrete, which makes an incredible racket. The pool is large (and unheated - not a problem in June, but could be in February) but littered with trash on the bottom. The cleaning employees take their smoke breaks in the parking lot so you get to mingle with them on the way into and out of your unit. One night, one of the employees was inexplicably hosing the pavement off until 10pm. No one from the staff polices any of this, so you are on your own to deal with the extremely frustrating circumstances.

Since there is no air conditioning, you are forced to leave your windows open all evening because of the heat. Most nights things don't quiet down until 11pm or midnight. The birds start up at 4:30am, which usually will wake you up as well.

The unit is old but reasonably clean, except for the carpets. Our feet and/or socks quickly become disgustingly dirty just from moving about.

The "resort" sits squeezed into a property right on Kihei road that it shares with a sushi restuarant, and other than the pool, there are NO amenities. Kihei road is a congested thoroughfare and the shops and restaurants in this section of Maui are second-rate at best. You will be travelling to other areas such as Wilea, Lahaina, and Kaanapali for a decent meal.

We traded our timeshare week on Kauai for this unit, and have never been more disappointed with a vacation property in the last 20 years.

Do yourself a favor and RUN AWAY and don't even think about booking here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeachCruiser62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

We stayed 2 weeks in the "B" unit. We were not satisfied with the 1st room as the ceiling in the bedroom & livingroom were filthy with drark fuzz; the kitchen cupboards looked like a dog chewed on the bottom. The dishwasher flooded when we 1st went to use it; the toilet continued to flush & we had to have the plunger replaced. We love the location (right across the street from a beautiful 4 mile one way walking beach, which we did walk everyday. Awesome sunsets. Great hamburger lunch every week. We will keep coming back as we have owned since 1998.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaskatoonHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

The buildings are all original, there have been no upgrades done, everything is very old. The beach across the street is not a swimming or snorkelling beach, but nice to watch the sunsets. I enjoyed the pool and the cooking area, but did not at all like the fact there was no air conditioning. It was unbearable, no matter what we did, the unit would not cool off. If we left all the windows open to attempt a cross breeze, the noise was so loud from the street and neighbors you couldn't sleep anyway... We left our windows open as did everyone else, the snoring of our neighbour was difficult to ignore, and anyone that walks by you can hear them talking or the sound of their footsteps. I'd pass on this place.. There were just too many things that were not good..

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank surfrgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

MBVC is a nice condo, small and nothing fancy, but a good place for oceanside rest. We own at 2 nice 5 star timeshares and often exchange for Marriot – if you are looking for 5 stars, this is not it, nothing like those fancy places (if that’s what you are looking for try Marriot’s Ocean Club in Lahaina or the Grand Hotel in Wailea). But if you are looking for a good place to hang out morning and evening while you explore Maui during the day, this place is just fine. I would recommend it in winter/spring – you can look out and see whales from the upper floor balconies in winter. You can also sit (on the lanai or beach) to watch windsurfers and kite boarders navigate the bluegreen water. It is truly beautiful and restful. Staff is nice, place is clean. Internet available for 40/week.

We had a 4th floor 2BR unit (#406) in building C (the only six story building) and it had a wonderful view of the ocean – can even watch a sunset (but over the volcano). Because it is an end unit, our room boasted two extra windows on the side to let in lots of light and allows nice views from the smallish dining area. Note that any lower floor would be pretty much unacceptable - so that should be a big consideration if you are exchanging here. The beach is very close and it has fine, soft sand that is firmly packed down - perfect for walking or jogging, which we did every morning and evening. We drove to the Ulua Beach in Makena (15 minutes south and with public beach access and typical dirty restrooms) on several days we wanted to get in the ocean to swim and snorkel on our own. We did a snorkel boat trip also. The pool at MBVC is cold enough to cool off when sunning and they clean the pool often.

Our stay was in April so I cannot “fully” speak to the lack of air conditioning in the summer – but we found it refreshing to leave the windows open all the time. It added to the tropical paradise feel. I personally hate the heat and I really don’t sleep unless it is under 70 degrees – that was not a problem in April (temps in upper 60s at night and upper 70s during the day), but I don’t think the fan and ocean breeze would be adequate at night on a summer night – because one night I had to turn the fan on high to get it cooled off enough to sleep. That would be my biggest hesitation to staying here again if it were warmer. What I can tell you about sleeping with open windows is that you hear others talking, sometimes loudly, and you can get a whiff of cigarette smoke from neighbors on rare occasion.

We stayed a second week in Lahaina at a sister resort that was a better facility but we liked Kihei better.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slc37918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
3.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,184 reviews
3.9 mi away
Maui Banyan Vacation Club
4.1 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#12 of 60 in Kihei
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#4 of 60 in Kihei
543 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
19.8 mi away
Kahana Villa Resort
Kahana Villa Resort
#22 of 43 in Lahaina
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Beach Vacation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Beach Vacation Club

Address: 515 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-7585
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: $235 - $577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Beach Vacation Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Otel, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Maui Beach Vacation Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Beach Vacation Club Hotel Kihei
Maui Beach Vacation Club Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing