We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mom's 75th Birthday Present”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maui Beach Vacation Club
Ranked #38 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Reviewed May 13, 2008

This was my mother's first trip to Hawaii and she started planning "HER NEXT TRIP" even before we reached the resort. We stayed in room C301 which is a two bedroom/ two bath and needless to say, upon opening the door, my mother's mouth dropped open in awe as she was sooooo impressed with the quality of the unit; master bedroom with a king size bed and private bath and the second bedroom consisted of two twin beds. A fully equipped kitchen consisting of refrigerator, stove, microwave,coffee maker, blender and all the dishes and utensils that you would need. Also a mini washer/dryer in a secluded closet in the unit with detergent provided. Our lanai had a great view of the pool and jacuzzi area and was high enough to have a gorgeous view of the ocean. We checked in on a Sunday and on Tuesday the resort had a no cost barbeque for all the tenants to give us an opportunity to meet one another. The two extra-large barbeque grills were available for use and there never seemed to be a waiting line.
Most of our activities were booked in advance on hawaiiactivityworld.com ( you can really find some good deals there, especially if you want to avoid the constant offers of time-share presentations around the island). Here's a heads-up; the resort has time-share presentations six days a week.
Overall, our week long stay at the Maui Beach Vacation Club was very, very pleasant and my Mom or I wouldn't think twice about residing there once again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TRULYBLESSEDAT60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 147 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2008

We stayed for a week at the Maui Beach Vacation Club with our friends who own it as a time-share. The overall grounds are nice and well kept. The common areas - pool, hot tub, gas grills were clean and nice although the pool is unheated so it was cold. Parking was very plentiful.

Some Cons were that due to open windows and breezes, doors often slammed shut. The unit was not air conditioned, but with the windows open and the breezes, it was comfortable at all times.

This unit had a fully equipped kitchen, which was nice. We never had to do without. It also had a washer/dryer, which was nice, and they supplied dishwasher and laundry detergent. The one bedroom had twin beds and no TV. The master had a king, TV and it's own bath. The unit had two baths, which was nice.

The living room furniture wasn't the most comfortable, but you're in Hawaii, what are you doing sitting around in your room anyway?

Kihei is more of a working class city, which means that prices were a little less than in other cities on Maui. Also, the location was very good. We were 40 mins from Lahaina during the busy traffic time.

When we checked in the elevator was broken so carrying luggage up 5 floors wasn't too much fun. I didn't expect it to be fixed for several days, however, they had the elevator fixed the next day and this was Saturday of Easter Weekend. Good job!

The staff was very helpful and friendly. They booked our adventures without any problem and even got us a refund when one of us wasn't able to participate. This was very good. They give you further ticket discounts if you sit through their timeshare sales pitch, but they really moved the pitch along and even let us leave early, still giving us the discount. It was nice that the sales pitch wasn't high pressure.

For the price, we'd stay there again. It was clean, convenient and a nice value. It isn't a Hilton, but it isn't priced like one either.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2008

The Maui Beach Vacation Club is a timeshare property so instead of just a room you get a condo with all of the amenities, including a full kitchen. While you can own a timeshare here, we just rented a condo for the week. You can get discounted tickets to area attractions if you sit through a timeshare presentation. We opted not to do that and there was no pressure to participate. It is located in South Kihei on the beach. The unit was clean and the grounds were kept neat. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The pool is small but refreshing. There are two stainless steel BBQ's that work well. It has a jacuzzi that will hold about 8 people comfortably. The property is centrally located on Maui so that all places of interest are readily accessible. I love to snorkel and the beach across the street isn't the place to go for that. However, 10 minutes away are several good areas to swim, snorkel or just lay on the beach soaking up rays. The beaches on the Kihei side are less crowded than Kaanapali and are a bit more accessible. Restaurants are plentiful in Kihei and are cheaper than in Lahaina or Kaanapali. We opted for fixing most of our meals in our condo and saved a ton of money as costs in Hawaii are quite high. Gas, for instance, was $3.92 for regular. Still, even with the high cost of gas, it was cheaper to rent a car than book travel through booking agents. We made the trek to Hana (a not-to-be-missed beautiful drive) for about $24 as opposed to the $75 + per person charged for traveling with a group. Hint: get the $20 Hana CD guide sold at the Shell station in Kahului. It gives a great running commentary of the Hana road, history of the area and all of the places to see. It comes with a 60 minute DVD of Maui, a full-size map and a cooler complete with ice. Another not-to-missed event is the sunrise on Haleakala. It is a sight you will remember forever.

While the Maui Beach Vacation Club isn't a high end hotel with huge grounds and a roaring night life, it is a great place to stay for a comfortable, reasonably priced vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Suico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2007

I got to stay here because of a Disney timeshare. If you are looking for a swanky resort this is not it. But I thought it was great for many reasons. Firstly, it is centrally located. You can reach the road to Hana and Lahaina in about a half hour. We stayed in a 1 bedroom condo. The kitchen was clean and fully equipped with everything you would need. Coffee maker, microwave, dishes, blender pots and pans.. etc. The living room was a good size and had a tv with a dvd player. You can connect to the internet through cable modem for about $10/day. The bedroom had an awesome ceiling fan and we were never hot at night.

As you can see from the pictures you have a fantastic view of the sunsets. The one downfall is you really can't use the beach in front of the hotel. We didn't find this to be a problem though because some of the best snorkeling on the Island is only about a 15 minute drive south on Kihei Rd.

Overall, I thought this was a perfect place to stay. Clean, convenient and not crazy expensive. If you are a high maintenance traveler who wants to be pampered. I would book one of the larger resorts.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank annetteboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
Thank Mingdong H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpe94430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank niko2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
3.9 mi away
Maui Banyan Vacation Club
3.9 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
19.8 mi away
Kahana Villa Resort
Kahana Villa Resort
#21 of 43 in Lahaina
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Hono Koa
Hono Koa
#34 of 43 in Lahaina
101 reviews
19.9 mi away
Sands of Kahana
Sands of Kahana
#9 of 43 in Lahaina
732 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 60 in Kihei
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Beach Vacation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Beach Vacation Club

Address: 515 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-7585
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: $204 - $526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Beach Vacation Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Maui Beach Vacation Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Beach Vacation Club Hotel Kihei
Maui Beach Vacation Club Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing