We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy fish and chips”
Review of Eskimo Candy

Eskimo Candy
Ranked #12 of 177 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
505 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 669 helpful votes
“Yummy fish and chips”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had visited Eskimo Candy on a previous trip, so we knew it was off the beaten path, and kind of in a residential area. This time we decided to get take out and head to the beach for dinner. We easily found a parking spot, and went inside where it was packed with people. Seems like it is a very popular spot! There are tables inside or outside, if you want to eat there. But I would recommend that you head to the beach, which is only a few minutes away.

We ordered fish and chips (ono) and it was ready pretty quickly. Everything was delicious. The fish pieces were huge and the coleslaw was great. This is definitely a hidden gem.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KLM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    158
    60
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best food & great price”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We got lobster pasta, fried seafood plate and soft drinks for dinner and the bill came less than $30. That's the great value for Maui. The pasta was loaded with lobster bits and shrimps. Fried seafood included coconut shrimps, clams, mahimahi, mussels and fries. Service was casual but attentive and friendly. The restaurant also had fresh catch-of-the-day for sale to whoever likes to cook. My only complaint was they don't open on the weekend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Minhchau R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Went multiple times!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Fabulous, fresh fish. Get a poke bowl. Eat the tuna. So fresh. So delicious. Can't go wrong. Popular at lunch time so plan accordingly. The chowder soup was delicious also. Fish Tacos yummy. Great value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AshleyKGross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good service and even better food”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We found Eskimo Candy on Urban Spoon and decided to try it out. It was very busy but we only waited ten minutes and the food was well worth it! The crab cakes are delicious!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elva W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great food and friendly service”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Eskimo Candy was recommended to us by a local in Kihei. The food was amazing. I had the lobster pasta(the special for the day) and it was wonderful. It was loade with lobster,shrimp and clam in pasta with butter and garlic sauce. My husband had fish and chips and he thought it was the best he had. The restaurant itself is very small and with few tables but good atmosphere. Service was good and friendly. We will definitely return if we make it back to Maui.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Missyisreadytogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eskimo Candy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing