We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good service and even better food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eskimo Candy

Eskimo Candy
Ranked #10 of 166 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Seafood, Soups, Hawaiian, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good service and even better food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We found Eskimo Candy on Urban Spoon and decided to try it out. It was very busy but we only waited ten minutes and the food was well worth it! The crab cakes are delicious!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elva W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    132
    53
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Eskimo Candy was recommended to us by a local in Kihei. The food was amazing. I had the lobster pasta(the special for the day) and it was wonderful. It was loade with lobster,shrimp and clam in pasta with butter and garlic sauce. My husband had fish and chips and he thought it was the best he had. The restaurant itself is very small and with few tables but good atmosphere. Service was good and friendly. We will definitely return if we make it back to Maui.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Missyisreadytogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Chowder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Eskimo Candy holds the place for best seafood chower in my opinion! It was so incredibly good. Me and my girlfriend both got the Fish and Chips (Fresh Ono, grilled) and shared a bowl of seafood chowder. Very very good. My girlfriend said they were the best Fish and Chips she's had. The fries were really good and the tartar sauce was a great compliment to the fish and chips.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“yum-yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Love this little out-of-the-way place. Their seafood chowder is out of this world and there cannot be any better fish and chips or coconut shrimp. Off the beaten path and well worth finding.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful little place, do go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Eskimo Candy has a very informal atmosphere and a small amount of seating. The food is very fresh, they have some just-caught local fish, and you get quite a lot for your money's worth. The cole slaw is excellent, the fries are delicious and we found that as soon as we left the place we were talking about how we would like to go back soon. Big Bonus: If you are staying somewhere that has an outdoor grill, you can go to Eskimo Candy and get fresh fish to take home and grill yourself. They do also have meat items like french dip sandwich. HIghly suggest checking them out if you are in the Kihei area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eskimo Candy also viewed

 

Been to Eskimo Candy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing